Chubb vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Chubb says Pro ERM combines professional liability, media and cyber exposures and includes worldwide defense costs for covered claims. THREE lists E&O in its combined Business Owners Policy, while the quote-specific summary supplies its limit and deductible. 3,7,6

What Is Chubb?

Chubb fits technology firms seeking DigiTech ERM or small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue seeking a BOP; buyers wanting an instant direct purchase should compare online carriers. Agents can quote eligible small accounts, with a faster cyber route. 1,2,3

Read the Chubb profile

Read the Chubb Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes

THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 5,6

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

How E&O Sits With Other Coverage

Chubb describes Pro ERM as one policy combining professional liability with media and cyber exposures for non-licensed professional-services firms. THREE instead lists Errors & Omissions among the coverage categories in a combined Business Owners Policy. Buyers seeking E&O alongside cyber and media can compare Chubb's named combination with THREE's broader package, but should check which categories appear on the actual quote. 3 7

Defense and the Limit Shown

Chubb says Pro ERM covers 100% of defense costs for covered claims worldwide, although its reviewed page gives no separate liability limit or retention. THREE's public E&O page likewise does not publish a separate E&O limit or deductible; it says those figures appear in the quote-specific summary. A buyer can compare defense-cost treatment only after seeing the proposed forms and figures together. 3 6

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Chubb which liability limit and retention apply to Pro ERM and whether worldwide defense costs are inside or outside that limit. 3
  • Ask THREE for the quote summary showing E&O's separate limit and deductible, and verify E&O is selected in the BOP. 6 7
  • Compare the specific cyber and media protections in Chubb's combined policy with the coverage categories and forms THREE proposes. 3 7
  • Confirm which Pro ERM applicant profile fits your business: Chubb describes it for non-licensed professional-services firms, while THREE does not publish separate E&O eligibility rules. 3 7

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Chubb

6.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

Chubb earns 5/5 from NerdWallet, which reports fewer-than-expected commercial property and liability complaints. Customer ratings are mixed across products and locations.[1][4][7][8][9]

Read Chubb reviews

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

7.3/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]

Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviews

Offering Details

Chubb vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaChubb Pro ERM (Professional Enterprise Risk Management)THREE Business Owners Policy
Role in This Line

Chubb underwrites professional errors and omissions coverage through Pro ERM, a single policy combining professional liability, media and cyber exposures for non-licensed professional-services firms. 3Company-reported. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page, Professional Enterprise Risk Management section.

THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 7Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 6Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.

Who It’s For

Chubb says Pro ERM is available to non-licensed professional-services firms of all sizes, naming examples including associations, consultants, business process administrators, event planners, interior and graphic design firms, marketing and PR firms, printers, staffing firms, travel agents and trustees. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Target Clients list.

The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 7,5Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.

Coverage Features

Beyond the Cyber ERM base, Chubb says Pro ERM adds E&O coverage including personal injury from professional services, a broadened definition of professional services that expressly includes professional technology services, coverage for independent contractors performing duties on the insured's behalf, automatic additional-insured status for clients when required by contract, and coverage for professional disciplinary proceedings. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Product Features list; subject to the policy as issued.

THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 7,6Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

Chubb says Pro ERM includes coverage for 100% of defense costs for covered claims worldwide, but the reviewed page does not publish a separate liability limit or retention. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Product Features list.

The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 7,6Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.

Risk Services

Chubb says Pro ERM policyholders get access to legal counsel with extensive professional-liability experience, in addition to the general cyber-incident-response services shared with Cyber ERM. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Product Features list.

Confirm in your quote.

How to Apply

Agents and brokers can quote Pro ERM through Chubb's Cyber Central or Marketplace quoting platforms. 3Company-reported. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page quoting section.

THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 5Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.

Full Comparison

More Chubb vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Professional Enterprise Risk Management section: target clients and product features beyond Cyber ERM. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Insurance for Software Product & System Developers. Chubb; Financial-lines coverage solutions list for software and systems developers. Accessed 2026-09-23.

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  1. Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  2. The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  3. Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot