Chubb vs Newfront D&O Insurance

Chubb underwrites ForeFront D&O for smaller private companies; Newfront brokers private-to-public D&O including Side A DIC.

What Is Chubb?

Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 1,2,3

Read the Chubb profile

What Is Newfront?

Newfront is a business-insurance and employee-benefits brokerage that combines specialist teams with online policy-management tools. It is now part of WTW. 6,7,8,9

Read the Newfront profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Who Puts the Policy on Risk

Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability on ForeFront Portfolio 3.0. 4 Newfront’s Executive Risk practice brokers D&O, with Deirdre Finn as practice leader over D&O, employment-practices and fiduciary, and does not name the issuing insurer. 10 A ForeFront quote is Chubb paper; a Newfront quote is whichever carrier Newfront binds.

Private, Public or Excess Side A

Newfront lists private and public D&O and Side A DIC among key coverages. 10 Chubb’s reviewed module is the smaller-private ForeFront form with an optional extra $500,000 Side A dedicated limit rather than a separately labeled DIC product. 4 Newfront’s practice is described across private, public and DIC; this Chubb module is one ForeFront private form.

How You Start

Agents quote and issue ForeFront through Chubb Marketplace. 5 Newfront starts a placement with a consultation request. 10 One path is Marketplace; the other is a Newfront consultation.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Newfront whether the quote is private D&O, public D&O or Side A DIC, and which carrier issues it. 10
  • If you are approaching an IPO, deSPAC or listing, ask how Newfront structures the transition versus Chubb’s failed-IPO and road-show terms. 10 4
  • Compare Newfront’s placed limit with Chubb’s $500,000 sublimits. 4
  • Confirm the Chubb product is ForeFront 3.0 for smaller private companies. 4

Offering Details

Chubb vs Newfront D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaChubb ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 Directors & Officers and Entity Liability InsuranceNewfront Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability directly through ForeFront Portfolio 3.0, describing this specific version as designed for directors and officers of smaller, privately held companies. 4Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O and Entity Liability product page.

Newfront's Executive Risk practice brokers D&O coverage, negotiating placement for management-liability lines. Deirdre Finn, the Executive Risk Solutions Practice Leader, oversees this D&O, employment-practices and fiduciary book of business. 10Company-reported. Executive Risk offering page and Leadership section.

Issuing Insurer

Not described in the reviewed sources.

The reviewed Executive Risk page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a D&O policy placed through Newfront. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23; carrier depends on the specific placement.

Who It’s For

Chubb aims this D&O product at smaller private companies and offers separate versions for not-for-profit and healthcare organizations in its ForeFront Portfolio. 4,5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O page opening description; ForeFront Portfolio page coverage list.

Newfront says it services private companies "from seed round through every series of capital funding," including over 120 unicorn companies, and has worked with over 500 publicly traded companies on D&O-relevant matters such as M&A and IPOs. 10Company-reported. Here for the Long Run section; company-reported client counts, not independently verified.

Coverage Features

Chubb lists a broad definition of Insured covering the parent organization, subsidiaries, directors or officers (including foreign equivalents), advisory board members and volunteers worldwide; automatic not-for-profit outside-directorship coverage; a broad definition of Claim including written demands, civil and criminal proceedings, and extradition requests; and civil fines and penalties coverage where insurable, including FCPA civil penalties. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list; subject to the policy as issued.

Chubb says the policy uses a streamlined insured-versus-insured exclusion with exceptions (including financial impairment, former executives after one year, and whistleblower and employment claims) and conduct exclusions that require final non-appealable adjudication before they apply. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list, exclusion-related bullets.

Chubb says the policy provides private-placement and failed-IPO coverage, a full Side A carve-back to the pollution exclusion, and a guaranteed IPO quotation including coverage for road-show presentations. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

Newfront lists "Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies" and "Side A DIC D&O" among its Executive Risk Key Coverages, and says its D&O work includes protection against securities-related litigation and regulatory investigations. 10Company-reported. Key Coverages list and Committed to Client Advocacy section; Side A DIC is a difference-in-conditions option, and actual trigger and exclusions require the proposed wording.

Limits and Retentions

Chubb publishes two specific sublimits: a $500,000 sublimit for security-holder derivative-demand evaluation costs, and an optional additional $500,000 Side A dedicated limit for executives. Overall policy limits are not published and depend on the issued policy. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

The reviewed Executive Risk page does not publish D&O limits or retentions. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Newfront says clients get 24/7 access to their D&O program through its connected dashboard, and that renewals use automated, pre-populated historical data for faster submissions and approvals. 10Company-reported. Industry-Leading Technology section of the Executive Risk page.

How to Apply

Agents and brokers can quote and issue the ForeFront Portfolio, including its D&O and Entity Liability coverage, through Chubb Marketplace. 5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio page quoting section.

Newfront describes a process for private companies transitioning to public status through an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing, and you start a D&O placement by requesting a consultation through the Executive Risk page. 10Company-reported. Committed to Client Advocacy section and page call-to-action; no online quoting or binding described.

Claims Support

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Newfront says it provides "integrated claims and coverage negotiation" for its Executive Risk lines, which would apply to a D&O claim. 10Company-reported. The Newfront Difference section; described across Executive Risk lines, not a D&O-specific claims workflow.

Full Comparison

More Chubb vs Newfront Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0: Directors & Officers and Entity Liability Insurance. Chubb; Coverage Highlights: Directors & Officers (D&O) and Entity Liability list, including Insured definition, sublimits, Side A coverage, Claim definitions, conduct and insured-v-insured exclusions, IPO coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; ForeFront Portfolio's seven coverages; Directors & Officers and Entity Liability listed for private companies, not-for-profit and healthcare organizations; Chubb Marketplace quoting. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Newfront

  1. Business Insurance. Newfront; Purpose-Built Team; Full Transparency; Streamlined Program Management. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Employee Benefits. Newfront; Employee Benefits heading; Tailored Solutions; Comprehensive Expertise: Benefits, Global Benefits, Compensation and Retirement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Newfront Navigator. Newfront; Total Access. Real Confidence; Explore What You Can Do in Navigator; product demonstration image. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. WTW Completes Acquisition Of Newfront. WTW; 27 January 2026 release; completion announcement and allocation of Business Insurance and Total Rewards to WTW segments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Executive Risk. Newfront; Key Coverages to Protect Your Business: Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies, Side A DIC D&O; Here for the Long Run: Private Companies, IPOs, Public; Leadership: Deirdre Finn; Industry-Leading Technology. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot