Chubb vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Chubb bundles professional liability with media and cyber cover through brokers; Hiscox sells a standalone admitted policy directly online.

What Is Chubb?

Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 1,2,3

Read the Chubb profile

What Is Hiscox?

Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. 5,6,7

Read the Hiscox profile

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 11,12,13,14

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

One Bundled Policy or a Standalone Line

Chubb's Pro ERM combines professional liability with media and cyber exposures in a single underwritten policy for non-licensed professional-services firms. Hiscox sells professional liability as a standalone line, underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. and sold directly to small businesses through its online Hiscox NOW catalogue rather than bundled with other coverages by default. 3 10

How You Buy It

Chubb's Pro ERM is quoted by agents and brokers through Chubb's own Cyber Central or Marketplace platforms, not by the buyer directly. Hiscox lets eligible buyers quote and purchase professional liability online themselves, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours, and says a specialist broker can help where it doesn't sell the product online in a buyer's state. 3 8

Coverage Trigger and Claims Access

The reviewed Chubb page does not state whether Pro ERM is written on a claims-made or occurrence basis. Hiscox describes its professional liability policy explicitly as claims-made, covering a claim only if it is made and typically reported while the policy is active, and separately tells current customers its professional-liability claims line is staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 9

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Chubb for the Pro ERM liability limit and retention, since the reviewed page only states 100% worldwide defense-cost coverage without a separate limit figure. 3
  • Confirm whether your state is one where Hiscox sells professional liability online directly, or whether you'd need its specialist-broker path instead. 8
  • Ask Hiscox for its published limit and retention options, since the reviewed pages describe the claims-made trigger but not standard figures. 8
  • Ask Chubb whether Pro ERM's professional disciplinary proceedings coverage and broadened technology-services definition apply to your specific services. 3

Offering Details

Chubb vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaChubb Pro ERM (Professional Enterprise Risk Management)Hiscox Professional Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

Chubb underwrites professional errors and omissions coverage through Pro ERM, a single policy combining professional liability, media and cyber exposures for non-licensed professional-services firms. 3Company-reported. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page, Professional Enterprise Risk Management section.

Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. 7,8Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel.

Issuing Insurer

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 10,7Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.

Who It’s For

Chubb says Pro ERM is available to non-licensed professional-services firms of all sizes, naming examples including associations, consultants, business process administrators, event planners, interior and graphic design firms, marketing and PR firms, printers, staffing firms, travel agents and trustees. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Target Clients list.

Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. 8,10Company-reported. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant.

Coverage Features

Beyond the Cyber ERM base, Chubb says Pro ERM adds E&O coverage including personal injury from professional services, a broadened definition of professional services that expressly includes professional technology services, coverage for independent contractors performing duties on the insured's behalf, automatic additional-insured status for clients when required by contract, and coverage for professional disciplinary proceedings. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Product Features list; subject to the policy as issued.

Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. 9Company-reported. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

Chubb says Pro ERM includes coverage for 100% of defense costs for covered claims worldwide, but the reviewed page does not publish a separate liability limit or retention. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Product Features list.

The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. 8,9Not publicly disclosed. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed.

Risk Services

Chubb says Pro ERM policyholders get access to legal counsel with extensive professional-liability experience, in addition to the general cyber-incident-response services shared with Cyber ERM. 3Company-reported. Pro ERM Product Features list.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

Agents and brokers can quote Pro ERM through Chubb's Cyber Central or Marketplace quoting platforms. 3Company-reported. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page quoting section.

Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. 8Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application.

Claims Support

Not described in the reviewed sources.

A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. 9Company-reported. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time.

Full Comparison

More Chubb vs Hiscox Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Professional Enterprise Risk Management section: target clients and product features beyond Cyber ERM. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Insurance for Software Product & System Developers. Chubb; Financial-lines coverage solutions list for software and systems developers. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Hiscox

  1. Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot