Chubb vs Gallagher Product Recall Insurance

Chubb underwrites Recall Plus with published limits; Gallagher’s team places recall, contamination and restaurant contamination.

What Is Chubb?

Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 1,2,3

Read the Chubb profile

What Is Gallagher?

Gallagher is a business-insurance broker and risk-management consultancy. Its technology practice serves startups through global enterprises, alongside a separate small-business offering for IT professionals and an executive-risk practice covering D&O and transaction-related coverages. Woodruff Sawyer is now part of Gallagher. 5,6,7,8,9

Read the Gallagher profile

What Is Product Recall Insurance?

Product recall insurance is a specialty coverage that can address first-party costs of withdrawing a product, costs that product-liability protection does not automatically pay. 11,12,13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Product Recall Insurance

Carrier Product Versus Specialist Placement

Chubb underwrites Recall Plus for Consumer Goods. Gallagher’s Product Recall team places Product Recall, Product Contamination and Restaurant Contamination with outside carriers and does not underwrite. Gallagher does not name those carriers on the reviewed page. 4 10

Limits and Retentions

Chubb publishes a $5,000 minimum self-insured retention ($2,500 for small businesses) and says its Product Recall unit has $5 million in limits available on a primary and excess basis, with additional capacity considered case by case. Gallagher’s product recall page does not publish limits, retentions or premium ranges. 4 10

Who Each Side Markets To

Chubb primarily targets companies with sales up to $1 billion and lists manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers and retailers of finished consumer products such as appliances, electronics, clothing, furniture, household goods, children’s products and sporting goods, while restricting drop-side cribs, e-cigarettes, fireworks, and products incorporated as a component of a third party’s goods. Gallagher markets to manufacturers and supply-chain participants across food and beverage, automotive, medical device, pharmaceutical, restaurant and consumer-goods segments. 4 10

Consultants Versus Practice Services

Chubb says businesses get 24/7 access to a network of specialized product-recall consultants on a post-incident basis. Gallagher lists claims advocacy, forensic accounting, contractual feedback on recall liability, regulatory consulting, coverage advisory, business-continuity planning and staff training tied to a recall event. 4 10

What to Confirm in Product Recall Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Gallagher whether Chubb is the market on the quote or a different carrier, and which of the three Gallagher products applies. 10
  • Ask Chubb whether your class is restricted and what retention applies. 4
  • Confirm which Gallagher services are in the brokerage fee. 10
  • If you need restaurant or pharmaceutical contamination cover, ask Gallagher how that maps to Chubb’s consumer-goods form. 10 4

Offering Details

Chubb vs Gallagher Product Recall Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaChubb Recall Plus for Consumer GoodsGallagher Product Recall Insurance
Role in This Line

Chubb underwrites product recall insurance directly through Recall Plus for Consumer Goods, aimed at both new and established business owners producing consumer goods. 4Company-reported. Recall Plus for Consumer Goods product page.

Gallagher's Product Recall team places Product Recall, Product Contamination and Restaurant Contamination insurance with outside carriers; Gallagher does not underwrite the policy. 10Company-reported. Group-level product recall practice page.

Issuing Insurer

Not described in the reviewed sources.

The product recall page says Gallagher works directly with leading carriers globally but does not name the specific insurer that would issue a given client's policy. 10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level product recall practice page.

Who It’s For

Chubb primarily targets companies with sales up to $1 billion; companies above $1 billion are considered with a high self-insured retention or on an excess basis. Target risks include manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers and retailers of finished consumer products such as appliances, electronics, clothing, furniture, household goods, children's products and sporting goods. 4Company-reported. Client Profile section.

Gallagher markets this coverage to manufacturers and supply-chain participants across food and beverage, automotive, medical device, pharmaceutical, restaurant and consumer-goods segments, citing 2023 US recall counts including 916 vehicle recall types, 975 medical device recalls, 517 pharmaceutical recalls and 322 consumer good recalls. 10Company-reported. Group-level product recall practice page; industry-wide statistics, not eligibility criteria for a specific applicant.

Coverage Features

Chubb says coverages are made-to-order, letting policyholders select add-on coverages based on need or budget, and offers crisis consultants available 24/7 via an emergency hotline. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights section; subject to the policy as issued.

Chubb restricts this product for drop-side cribs, e-cigarettes, fireworks, and products that are incorporated as a component of a third party's products or goods. 4Company-reported. Restricted Classes list.

Gallagher says product recall insurance is designed to fill a gap left by general liability and product liability policies: it cites USDA data that roughly 80% of food and agribusiness losses from a food-borne illness event fall outside a standard product liability policy's scope. 10Company-reported. Group-level product recall practice page; a general market statistic attributed to USDA, not specific to any client's policy.

Limits and Retentions

Chubb publishes a $5,000 minimum self-insured retention ($2,500 minimum for small businesses) and says its Product Recall unit has $5 million in limits available on a primary and excess basis, with additional capacity considered case by case. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights, Minimums and Limits sections.

The product recall page does not publish limits, retentions or premium ranges. 10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level product recall practice page.

Risk Services

Chubb says businesses get 24/7 access to a network of specialized product-recall consultants on a post-incident basis, described as leading industry professionals familiar with product-recall regulatory challenges. 4Company-reported. Specialized Consultants section.

Gallagher says its Product Recall team consists of specialists who spend all their time on this risk, and that it provides claims advocacy, forensic accounting, contractual feedback on recall liability, regulatory consulting, coverage advisory, business-continuity planning and staff training tied to a recall event. 10Company-reported. Group-level product recall practice page.

How to Apply

Chubb publishes a Recall Plus application for non-food products and provides an email address for product-recall insurance questions. 4Company-reported. Related Resources and Contact sections.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More Chubb vs Gallagher Comparisons

Other Product Recall Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Product Recall Insurance Consumer Goods (Chubb Recall Plus for Consumer Goods). Chubb; Coverage Highlights: Minimums, Limits, Restricted Classes; Client Profile section; Specialized Consultants section. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Gallagher

  1. Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Opening (insurance broking and placement); three key services; Directors and Officers; IPO and direct listings; Employment Practices; Fiduciary; Employee Dishonesty (Crime) and Fidelity Bond; Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion; M&A Transactional Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Product Recall Insurance. Gallagher; Opening on product defects and recall risk by industry; 2023 recall statistics; The Gallagher Product Recall team; Product recall insurance coverage; Understanding coverage gaps between product liability insurance and product recall insurance. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Product Recall Insurance Guide

  1. Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Commercial General Liability Coverage Form. ISO Properties, Inc.; specimen hosted by Hiscox; Recall exclusion p.5; Supplementary Payments pp.8–9; Section III limits p.10; V.16 and V.21 p.15, warnings/instructions continue p.16. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot