Chubb vs Coverdash D&O Insurance

Chubb underwrites ForeFront D&O with named $500,000 sublimits; Coverdash brokers a standalone D&O product through a digital purchase flow.

What Is Chubb?

Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 1,2,3

Read the Chubb profile

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 6,7,8

Read the Coverdash profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Underwriter Versus Brokered Standalone

Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability on ForeFront Portfolio 3.0, aimed at smaller privately held companies, with separate ForeFront versions for not-for-profit and healthcare organizations. 4 5 Coverdash does not underwrite; it arranges D&O as a broker. 8

Coverdash arranges standalone directors and officers coverage as a broker, placing it with a carrier under its brokerage terms, and sells that product separately from a bundled management-liability option that can add employment-practices, fiduciary and crime on top of D&O. 8 9 Chubb is the insurer on ForeFront; Coverdash is the producer, and the reviewed D&O materials do not name the carrier. 9

How You Buy

Agents and brokers quote and issue ForeFront, including D&O, through Chubb Marketplace. 5 Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it, and says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, often as a funding condition. 9 One path is an appointed agent on Marketplace; the other is Coverdash’s own digital purchase.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Coverdash which carrier issues the standalone D&O policy and whether you are buying standalone D&O or the management-liability bundle. 9

  • Ask whether the Chubb quote is ForeFront 3.0 for smaller private companies or a not-for-profit or healthcare version. 4 5

  • Compare quoted limits with Chubb’s $500,000 sublimits; Coverdash’s reviewed page does not publish amounts. 4 9

  • Confirm insured-versus-insured and conduct-exclusion wording on the Chubb form against the Coverdash carrier’s form. 4

Offering Details

Chubb vs Coverdash D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaChubb ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 Directors & Officers and Entity Liability InsuranceCoverdash Directors & Officers Insurance
Role in This Line

Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability directly through ForeFront Portfolio 3.0, describing this specific version as designed for directors and officers of smaller, privately held companies. 4Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O and Entity Liability product page.

Coverdash arranges standalone directors and officers coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 8,9Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the D&O page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

Issuing Insurer

Not described in the reviewed sources.

The directors and officers page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 9Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

Who It’s For

Chubb aims this D&O product at smaller private companies and offers separate versions for not-for-profit and healthcare organizations in its ForeFront Portfolio. 4,5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O page opening description; ForeFront Portfolio page coverage list.

Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, and that it is frequently required as a condition of funding. 9Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific funding or governance situation.

Coverage Features

Chubb lists a broad definition of Insured covering the parent organization, subsidiaries, directors or officers (including foreign equivalents), advisory board members and volunteers worldwide; automatic not-for-profit outside-directorship coverage; a broad definition of Claim including written demands, civil and criminal proceedings, and extradition requests; and civil fines and penalties coverage where insurable, including FCPA civil penalties. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list; subject to the policy as issued.

Chubb says the policy uses a streamlined insured-versus-insured exclusion with exceptions (including financial impairment, former executives after one year, and whistleblower and employment claims) and conduct exclusions that require final non-appealable adjudication before they apply. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list, exclusion-related bullets.

Chubb says the policy provides private-placement and failed-IPO coverage, a full Side A carve-back to the pollution exclusion, and a guaranteed IPO quotation including coverage for road-show presentations. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

Coverdash describes directors and officers coverage as protecting the company's directors, officers and the company itself against claims that a leadership decision caused financial harm, suits from investors or shareholders, and regulatory investigations, and pays defense costs and settlements for covered claims. 9Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions.

Coverdash sells this standalone Directors & Officers product separately from its bundled management liability product, which adds optional employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverage on top of the D&O core. 9Company-reported. Comparison of the directors-and-officers and management-liability product pages; does not establish which structure is cheaper or better suited to a given company.

Limits and Retentions

Chubb publishes two specific sublimits: a $500,000 sublimit for security-holder derivative-demand evaluation costs, and an optional additional $500,000 Side A dedicated limit for executives. Overall policy limits are not published and depend on the issued policy. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

The directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 9Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

How to Apply

Agents and brokers can quote and issue the ForeFront Portfolio, including its D&O and Entity Liability coverage, through Chubb Marketplace. 5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio page quoting section.

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 9Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

Full Comparison

More Chubb vs Coverdash Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0: Directors & Officers and Entity Liability Insurance. Chubb; Coverage Highlights: Directors & Officers (D&O) and Entity Liability list, including Insured definition, sublimits, Side A coverage, Claim definitions, conduct and insured-v-insured exclusions, IPO coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; ForeFront Portfolio's seven coverages; Directors & Officers and Entity Liability listed for private companies, not-for-profit and healthcare organizations; Chubb Marketplace quoting. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Management decisions, Investor and shareholder claims, Regulatory actions, Legal defense; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Directors & Officers separately from Management Liability, D&O Side A and the D&O + EPLI Bundle. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot