CFC vs RiskCube D&O Insurance

CFC’s D&O package declines California-domiciled and US public risks; RiskCube compares D&O across unnamed carriers and reviews AI-company policies for AI exclusions.

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

What Is RiskCube Insurance?

RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 8,9,10

Read the RiskCube profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Package Wording Versus Multi-Carrier Comparison

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package. RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers as an independent brokerage; its disclosures say it is not a carrier and that D&O is issued by unnamed third-party insurers. 5 11 10

AI Exclusion Check Versus CFC Declines

RiskCube targets startups raising institutional rounds or adding board members, and regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space; it says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, and lists common exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit. CFC’s brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among declined package risks; its reviewed materials do not describe an AI-exclusion review. 11 6

Digital Intake Versus Dedicated Adjuster

RiskCube describes about a 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes; its reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling. CFC lists an additional insured-persons limit without a dollar amount, separately sells Side A DIC, and provides a US dedicated-adjuster claims path. 11 6 5 7

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask RiskCube which carrier would issue the compared quote and whether an AI exclusion appears. 11
  • Ask CFC whether California domicile or US-public status blocks the package. 6
  • Ask CFC for the additional insured-persons amount and Side A DIC. 6 5
  • Ask RiskCube how a claim would be handled, which its D&O page does not describe. 11

Offering Details

CFC vs RiskCube D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Directors & Officers LiabilityRiskCube Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 5,6Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it.

RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 11Company-reported. D&O product page footer and general framing of the coverage as "tailored D&O coverage" it provides access to, not a self-underwritten product.

Issuing Insurer

CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 4,6Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including D&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the D&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 10,11Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business.

RiskCube targets D&O at startups raising institutional funding rounds or adding board members, and at regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors and boards increasingly require D&O as a closing condition. 11Company-reported. D&O product page "Who needs D&O insurance" section.

Coverage Features

CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms.

CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages.

CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 5Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here.

RiskCube describes a typical private-company D&O program as combining Side A coverage (individual directors and officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B coverage (reimbursing the company after it indemnifies leadership) and Side C coverage (protecting the company itself). 11Company-reported. D&O product page coverage explanation.

RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier and policy wording. 11Company-reported. D&O product page "Common Exclusions" section.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 6Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

RiskCube says needed D&O limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 11Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page "How much D&O insurance do startups need" FAQ.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 11Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ.

How to Apply

Not described in the reviewed sources.

RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically returning D&O quotes within one to two business days and proof of coverage in about 24 hours after a policy is selected. 11Company-reported. D&O product page process steps and "How fast can we get D and O insurance quotes" FAQ.

Claims Support

CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 7Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing.

The reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 11Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Full Comparison

More CFC vs RiskCube Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

RiskCube

  1. Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs D&O; Side A/B/C coverage explanation; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot