Introduction
biBerk focuses on small businesses and describes online quotes for lines such as general liability, BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto and professional liability. Corgi markets startup packages that can combine D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment-practices and other lines, with options organized by startup stage. If you are buying common small-business coverage, begin with the line and state you need; if you need a coordinated startup package, ask Corgi which modules fit your current stage and risk. 3 16
Corgi’s package design does not mean every listed line is included or that a startup qualifies. biBerk’s catalogue also does not establish a quote or eligibility for each business. Compare a written schedule of policies and endorsements, not the names of package options. 16 3
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | biBerk | Corgi |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 6 | Listed 16Corgi lists a business owner’s policy in its coverage catalog. |
| Cargo and transit | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists a cargo contractual liability product in its transportation offering. |
| Commercial auto | Listed 8 | Listed 16Corgi links to trucking auto-liability coverage from its transportation menu. |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists crime insurance among its main policies. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 5 | Listed 16Corgi lists cyber insurance among its business insurance offerings. |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists directors and officers insurance among its business insurance offerings. |
| Employment practices liability | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists employment practices liability among its business-insurance offerings. |
| Fiduciary liability | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists fiduciary liability in its coverage catalog and package options. |
| General liability | Listed 11 | Listed 16Corgi lists commercial general liability among its business insurance offerings. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists hired and non-owned auto liability for employees using rented or personal vehicles for company business. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists kidnap and ransom among its specialized business-insurance offerings. |
| Liquor liability | Not listed | Listed Corgi markets liquor liability for eligible veterans’ and fraternal lodges with licensed on-premises bars. |
| Media liability | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists media liability insurance among its coverage offerings. |
| Medical malpractice | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi markets medical malpractice insurance for health care professionals and organizations. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 13 | Listed 16Corgi lists miscellaneous errors and omissions coverage for service-based businesses. |
| Representations and warranties | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists representations and warranties insurance for M&A buyers and sellers. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 16Corgi lists technology errors and omissions insurance for technology products and services. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 7 | Listed 16Corgi lists commercial umbrella liability insurance. |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 12 | Listed 16Corgi lists workers’ compensation insurance. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
biBerk
CarrierCarrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Corgi
Hybrid providerBroker
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Carrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
biBerk
Review Score
3 rated sources
Customers rate biBerk well: Trustpilot shows 4.5 out of 5 from 2,620 reviews, and NerdWallet gives it 4.0. The complaints are about slow service after you buy, billing and audits, and slow refunds.[4][1]
Read biBerk reviewsCorgi
Review Score
The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.[4][8]
Read Corgi reviewsProperty and the Named Insurer
Corgi says a policy may use affiliated or partner insurers and that Technology Risk Retention Group may be its primary underwriting entity. A risk retention group can write liability coverage but not property coverage, so a package needing property may require another insurer. biBerk describes a BOP combining general liability and commercial property, but its site disclosure does not identify the issuing insurer for a particular quote. Ask for each insurer by policy and confirm which policy covers the building, contents and business income you need. 15 33 6 2
Eligibility Before You Apply
Corgi publishes a state license list for its agency but notes that product and state availability differ; that list is not a coverage map. biBerk likewise says availability depends on state and insurance type. Ask both providers to confirm eligibility for your business location, class and selected lines before relying on a package description. 23 3
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | biBerk | Corgi |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | biBerk says it sells small-business insurance directly without an insurance broker. This is its company-reported channel description. Its California/Massachusetts notice names four insurers collectively as issuing most policies and lists each insurer’s licensed jurisdictions, but does not identify the insurer for a particular transaction, product, or policy or guarantee product availability in a jurisdiction. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported description of biBerk’s U.S. small-business sales channel on its About page; not a claim about every transaction, product route, producer role, or policy issuer. | Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 15,16,18Company-reported. Distribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy. |
| Customer focus | biBerk targets small businesses across varied industries and lists examples such as accounting, food service, retail, and transportation. The homepage FAQ says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; the industry list is illustrative, not an eligibility guarantee. 3,1Company-reported. U.S. small-business audience and examples on biBerk’s national site; examples are illustrative. The homepage says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; listed categories do not establish individual eligibility. | Technology startups can compare Corgi packages for pre-seed/seed, Series A and growth stages, or ask about a custom option. 16,17,20,29Company-reported. Company website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business. Small businesses in offices, retail, restaurants, personal services, self-storage, wholesale, community associations or rental properties may have a new Corgi option; its August 2026 filing announcement says state and product availability differ. 23Company-reported. Company-announced admitted-carrier appetite. Filing a product is not the same as confirmed availability in a given state. |
| Coverage lines | biBerk offers cyber and data-breach protection as an add-on to General Liability, Professional Liability, or a Business Owners Policy (BOP); the page does not present this as a stand-alone product. The types of response expenses and affected-person services depend on the selected base policy and terms. 5Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: small-business cyber add-on. Jurisdiction and availability depend on state and underwriting. Company-reported page description; the issued policy and endorsement control coverage. biBerk describes its small-business BOP as combining General Liability and commercial property in one policy. Its page gives examples of third-party injury/property-damage liability and protection for buildings or leased space, contents, inventory, tools, and business income after covered property damage; the issued policy controls. 6Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: small-business Business Owners Policy. State availability and exact terms depend on underwriting and the issued policy. Company-reported coverage description, not a policy-form determination. biBerk says its umbrella coverage applies only when the claim concerns coverage included in an appropriate underlying liability policy and that policy’s limits have been reached. An umbrella does not add a line such as commercial auto when the required underlying auto coverage is absent; the issued terms control. 7Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: small-business umbrella/commercial excess. In New York, biBerk calls it commercial excess. Underlying coverage and exhaustion conditions are company-described; confirm the scheduled underlying policies and issued terms. biBerk’s commercial-auto page lists bodily-injury and property-damage liability, medical-payments/no-fault, uninsured-motorist, comprehensive, and collision coverage examples for business vehicles. Which options apply depends on the policy selected and issued. 8Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: small-business commercial auto. Vehicle eligibility and availability depend on underwriting and state; page examples do not establish coverage under an individual policy. biBerk markets General Liability insurance for small businesses and says it is offered in many states. The page does not establish availability or eligibility for a particular business or state. 11Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: marketed small-business General Liability line. This is a catalogue-membership claim only, not a reviewed detailed-offering conclusion or coverage determination. biBerk markets Professional Liability insurance, also called Errors and Omissions (E&O), for businesses seeking protection over alleged errors or omissions in professional services. This is a catalogue-membership statement, not a determination of terms or eligibility. 13Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: marketed small-business Professional Liability/E&O line. This is a catalogue-membership claim only; the page reviewed does not establish individual eligibility or policy terms. biBerk markets Workers’ Compensation insurance for small businesses and describes quotes and policy purchases online or with an insurance expert. State rules and underwriting determine whether it can quote a particular employer. 12Company-reported. Entity: biBerk brand. Product: marketed small-business Workers’ Compensation line. This is a catalogue-membership claim only, not a reviewed detailed-offering conclusion or coverage determination. | Startup packages can combine general liability, D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto; Corgi also offers a Tech & AI Liability module. 16,22,24Company-reported. Website product labels and package descriptions. Labels are not equivalent coverage, and website summaries are not policy wording. If you need D&O, Corgi’s example shows claims-made protection for directors, officers and the company under form CORG-DO-0100, issued by Technology Risk Retention Group. The example puts defense costs inside the limit and has a $25,000 per-claim retention; your policy controls. 19Company-reported. Public product-page summary last reviewed 24 April 2026 on the page itself; illustrative limits and retentions may differ from a buyer’s policy. A package that includes property needs another insurer if its liability policy uses a risk retention group, because such groups can write business liability but not property coverage. 33,35Verified. Statutory limit on what an RRG may write. It does not by itself prove which Corgi product sits on which paper. |
| Application process | biBerk describes an online path in which a business answers questions, chooses coverage, and pays online; it also says applicants can speak with an insurance expert. Its homepage says availability depends on the state and type of insurance; the description does not establish that every applicant can complete or bind online. 3,1Company-reported. Company-described online quote and purchase route and expert assistance for U.S. small-business applicants. The homepage states that availability depends on state and type of insurance; this is not a claim that every applicant can complete an online purchase or bind coverage. | You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 16,15Company-reported. Company website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees. |
| Access to insurers | biBerk says the four insurers it names—Wellfleet Insurance Company, Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, National Liability & Fire Insurance Company, and Wellfleet New York Insurance Company—collectively issue most policies sold by biBerk. Its California/Massachusetts notice separately lists each insurer’s domicile and licensed jurisdictions, but does not identify which insurer issues a particular product or policy or guarantee that a particular product is available in any jurisdiction. Check the insurer named in the issued policy. 2Company-reported. Company disclosure provided to California and Massachusetts applicants and insureds; it describes the four named insurers collectively as issuing most policies sold by biBerk and separately lists each insurer’s domicile and licensed jurisdictions. It does not identify which insurer issues a particular product or policy or guarantee that a particular product is available in any jurisdiction. | Check your policy declarations for the insurer and claims administrator because Corgi may use affiliated or partner insurers. 15Company-reported. Company disclosure of variable issuing paper. Do not treat the Corgi brand, the producer, or any one carrier as the insurer on every policy. If your quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group, check the insurer’s financial and regulatory information directly: NAIC lists it as Arizona-domiciled P&C company 17763 (TECHNOLOGY RRG INC). Corgi calls it its primary underwriting entity and an RRG under the Liability Risk Retention Act; its description of federal charter and oversight is company language, not an independent legal conclusion. 31,15,17,16,32,33Company-reported. Entity identity and Arizona domicile are supported by the NAIC listing. Which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper is company-described and can vary by account. NAIC and the Liability Risk Retention Act describe RRGs as state-chartered or state-licensed liability insurers with domiciliary-state regulation of formation and operation. If a quote uses a risk retention group, remember it is a member-owned liability insurer licensed in its home state and registered elsewhere under federal law; members have similar or related risks. 32,33,35Verified. General RRG charter, membership, and oversight from current NAIC topic material last updated 13 October 2025 and the cited statutes. This is not a statement of TRRG’s surplus, a federal charter, or of which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper. The reviewed sources do not describe voting, dividend, or assessment rights for a Corgi policyholder in practice. If admitted coverage or guaranty-association protection matters to you, ask Corgi about affiliated or partner carriers it says are rated A- or better; eligibility depends on state, line and business, and state protection has limits. 15,17,16,23Company-reported. Company description of an alternative placement path. It is not a guarantee that a given account will receive A- admitted paper, not an AM Best rating of TRRG or of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc., and not a blanket guarantee of guaranty-association payment. Guaranty-association language does not apply to risk retention group policies. Ask how you assess the insurer’s financial strength if the quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group: Corgi says it has no AM Best rating, which is separate from admitted status. 15,19Company-reported. Company statement about TRRG. Admitted status, an AM Best rating, and financial condition are separate facts. This profile does not assign a financial-strength grade to TRRG. If a financial-strength rating or specific state authority is a requirement, request it for Corgi Insurance Company; its August 2026 launch announcement provided neither a rating nor a complete state-license list. 23,36Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed public sources as of 15 September 2026. Not finding a published rating is not a finding that the company has no rating, no capital, or no authorization. If your Corgi policy is issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, state insurance guaranty funds do not cover it; this is a material difference to weigh against an admitted option. 34,16,15Verified. RRG policies. This is a statutory qualification, not a prediction of insolvency, and it is not a statement about admitted policies. The insurer named on your policy remains responsible for claims even if it shares risk with reinsurers; Corgi does not name current reinsurers or contract terms publicly. 15,28Not publicly disclosed. Public disclosures as of 15 September 2026. Not identifying a named panel is not a finding that there is no reinsurance. |
Sources
biBerk Official Website
- About biBerk | Making Small Business Insurance Simple. biBerk; Making small business insurance simple and direct sales without an insurance broker, lines 72–89; online assistance, lines 76–78. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Insurance From biBerk | Read Disclosures. biBerk; California/Massachusetts applicants and insureds notice: collective insurer statement and no-guarantee qualification, lines 73–75; each insurer’s NAIC code, domicile, and licensed jurisdictions, lines 76–88. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Insurance From biBerk | Get A Quote Online. biBerk; Online purchase steps, lines 183–197; small-business audience and industries, lines 231–238; state/type availability, lines 290–295. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- biBerk Support | Small Business Insurance. biBerk; Common Support Requests, My Policy and Start a Claim routes, lines 47–75. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Cyber Insurance & Data Breach Coverage for Business | biBerk. biBerk; “What is data breach insurance and Cyber insurance add-on coverage?” (lines 76–78); “Cyber Insurance Add-on Coverage” (lines 103–107); attach options reiterated at lines 160–162. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Get A biBerk Business Owners Policy | Fast Online Quote. biBerk; “What is a Business Owners Policy?” (lines 77–80); liability and property examples (lines 104–146); endorsements (lines 182–205). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Umbrella Insurance From biBerk | Get Coverage Today. biBerk; “How does Umbrella insurance work?” (lines 87–96): appropriate underlying liability policy and its limits must be reached; example at lines 97–99. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance From biBerk | Get Coverage Online. biBerk; “What does Commercial Auto insurance cover?”: bodily injury, property damage, medical payments/no-fault, uninsured motorist, comprehensive and collision examples (lines 116–148). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Small Business Insurance From biBerk | Read Disclosures. biBerk; Notice to California and Massachusetts Applicants and Insureds: four insurers collectively issue most policies, no-guarantee limitation, company codes, domicile and licensed jurisdictions, lines 73–88. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About biBerk | Making Small Business Insurance Simple. biBerk; Official page title and body identify the biBerk brand and link to biBerk.com; accessed for brand capitalization and site identity only. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- General Liability Insurance From biBerk | Get A Quote Today. biBerk; Small-business General Liability product and online/phone quote route (lines 73–79); state availability FAQ (lines 231–233). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance From biBerk | Get A Quote. biBerk; Workers’ Compensation product, quote and purchase routes (lines 73–81, 93–100); work-injury coverage description (lines 102–104). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance | Talk To biBerk. biBerk; Professional Liability/E&O product and online/phone quote and purchase route (lines 73–88). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- biBerk Insurance Review 2026: Berkshire Hathaway’s Basic Online Storefront. NerdWallet; “BiBerk pros and cons” (lines 337–343) and “Lots of complaints filed with state regulators” (lines 355–360); rating-factor methodology, including the 2022–2024 commercial general liability/property complaint finding and lowest possible complaint-factor score (lines 376–383); review updated February 13, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Corgi Official Website
- Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages: Cyber and Directors & Officers; Growth Stage and Custom Package; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; Explore Our Main Policies: Commercial General Liability, Crime Insurance, Fiduciary Liability, Hired and Non-Owned Auto (HNOA), Worker’s Compensation; Specialized coverages: Employment Practices Liability (EPLI), K&R (Kidnap & Ransom), Representations and Warranties; Commercial Umbrella Liability; Business Owners Policy (BOP); Coverage sales cards: Media Liability, Medical Malpractice, Miscellaneous E&O; Core Operations: Tech E&O Insurance; Tech & AI Liability product module; Transportation menu: Auto Liability, Contractual Liability Insurance - Cargo; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity, program-administrator and issuing-carrier notices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Corgi. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Company description; Federally Regulated, A-Rated Admitted Access, and Licensed Nationwide sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Producer Licenses. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. state-by-state producer license table. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Form CORG-DO-0100 coverage summary; policy notes stating TRRG underwrites the D&O coverage part; footer identifying Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. NAIC 17989. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Customer Success Stories. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Page heading and named technology-company testimonials; cost FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partnerships. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Direct Underwriting savings claim; partner-page process; onboarding-to-claims handling claim. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance for AI, Built for Model Risk. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Tech & AI Liability product description and related AI-risk FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Raises $108 Million, Receives Regulatory Approval to Launch the First Full-Stack Insurance Carrier for Startups. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 9 January 2026 funding announcement; listed startup coverage lines; ARR figure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Reaches $2.6B Valuation With $106M Series B1 Three Weeks After $160M Unicorn Round. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 28 May 2026 company statement of $378 million total funding and planned vertical expansion. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Launches Corgi Claims, the AI-Native TPA. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 29 June 2026 launch of Corgi Claims as a TPA; disclaimer that claims services are provided through licensed subsidiaries and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance and Silicon Valley Bank Partner to Connect Clients to Preferred Coverage Solutions. PR Newswire (Corgi and Silicon Valley Bank press release); 17 June 2026 partnership announcement for SVB client access to Corgi products. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi: Rebuilding Insurance with AI. Kindred Ventures; 8 January 2026 investor announcement describing Corgi as a full-stack carrier with a captive reinsurer; 40,000+ policyholders across 49 states. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance company profile. Y Combinator; Summer 2024 batch; San Francisco location; 2024 founding; team size 250; description as a full-stack insurance carrier for startups. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Registered Federal Risk Retention Groups. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation; Report date 23 June 2026; registration entry for Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., NAIC 17763, 425 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- 15 U.S.C. § 3901 — Definitions. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Liability Risk Retention Act definitions of liability and risk retention group, including state charter, member-ownership, and liability-only activity limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- 15 U.S.C. § 3902 — Risk retention groups. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Non-domicile state registration and policy notice requirements; exemption from state insurance insolvency guaranty associations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Arizona Revised Statutes § 20-2402. Arizona Legislature; Risk retention groups chartered and licensed in Arizona may write only liability insurance under that chapter. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi built its name insuring AI startups. Its new carrier targets dry cleaners, salons and more. Insurance Business; 27 August 2026 report identifying Technology Risk Retention Group as an Arizona-chartered RRG and noting that the admitted-carrier announcement does not specify domicile, licensed states, or rating status. Accessed 2026-09-15.




