Beazley vs Newfront D&O Insurance

Beazley underwrites private-company D&O; Newfront’s Executive Risk practice brokers private and public D&O plus Side A DIC, with a dashboard and IPO transition process.

What Is Beazley?

Beazley is a specialty insurance group whose MediaTech product combines technology and professional E&O, media and cyber coverage. Separate offerings address executive liability, digital health and other specialty risks. 1,2,3,4

Read the Beazley profile

What Is Newfront?

Newfront is a business-insurance and employee-benefits brokerage that combines specialist teams with online policy-management tools. It is now part of WTW. 6,7,8,9

Read the Newfront profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Who Underwrites Versus Who Negotiates Placement

Beazley underwrites private-company D&O. Newfront’s Executive Risk practice brokers D&O, with Deirdre Finn overseeing D&O, employment-practices and fiduciary as practice leader; the reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer. Beazley’s pages also omit the specific issuing entity. 5 10

Stage Range and Side A DIC

Newfront says it services private companies from seed through every series, including over 120 unicorn companies, and has worked with over 500 publicly traded companies on D&O-relevant matters; it lists private and public D&O and Side A DIC among Executive Risk key coverages, including securities-related litigation. Beazley’s D&O page is for privately held companies, offers dedicated Excess Side A rather than naming Side A DIC, and advertises up to US $20 million. Newfront’s page does not publish limits. 10 5

Tools Around the Policy

Newfront says clients get 24/7 dashboard access to the D&O program, renewals that reuse pre-populated historical data, integrated claims and coverage negotiation, and a defined process for private companies going public through an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing, started by requesting a consultation. Beazley lists pre-approved choice of counsel, a downloadable EPL renewal application, and regional underwriter contacts, without describing a client dashboard or IPO-transition workflow. 10 5

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Newfront whether the quote is private D&O, public D&O or Side A DIC, and which carrier would issue it. 10
  • Ask Beazley for Excess Side A and duty to defend versus pay on behalf. 5
  • If you expect an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing, ask Newfront how that transition process would change the tower relative to Beazley’s private-company form. 10 5
  • Compare Newfront’s unpublished limits on the proposal with Beazley’s advertised $20 million maximum. 10 5

Offering Details

Beazley vs Newfront D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaBeazley D&O – Private CompaniesNewfront Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

Beazley underwrites private-company directors and officers (D&O) liability itself, offered as a standalone product on its D&O - Private Companies page and bundled with employment practices and fiduciary liability coverage in its ExecuGuard package policy. 5,3Company-reported. US private-company D&O as described on the two reviewed product pages; does not establish which entity issues a particular policy.

Newfront's Executive Risk practice brokers D&O coverage, negotiating placement for management-liability lines. Deirdre Finn, the Executive Risk Solutions Practice Leader, oversees this D&O, employment-practices and fiduciary book of business. 10Company-reported. Executive Risk offering page and Leadership section.

Issuing Insurer

Neither the D&O - Private Companies page nor the ExecuGuard page names the specific Beazley insurance entity that issues the policy; ExecuGuard states both admitted and non-admitted versions are available, so the issuing carrier depends on the policy placed. 5,3Not found in reviewed sources. Both product pages as read on 2026-09-23; the issued policy's declarations control the actual insurer.

The reviewed Executive Risk page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a D&O policy placed through Newfront. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23; carrier depends on the specific placement.

Who It’s For

The D&O page targets privately held companies of all sizes facing litigation such as employment allegations, fraud and misrepresentation claims, without a stated employee-count or revenue threshold on that page. 5,3Company-reported. Private-company D&O only; ExecuGuard buyers can additionally choose to share limits across D&O, EPL and fiduciary coverages.

Newfront says it services private companies "from seed round through every series of capital funding," including over 120 unicorn companies, and has worked with over 500 publicly traded companies on D&O-relevant matters such as M&A and IPOs. 10Company-reported. Here for the Long Run section; company-reported client counts, not independently verified.

Coverage Features

The D&O product lets the policyholder choose between a "duty to defend" or "pay on behalf" claim-handling structure, and Beazley says it pays 100% of defense costs for covered loss. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; actual defense obligations and cost-sharing are set by the issued policy.

Beazley offers a dedicated additional Excess Side A limit that responds for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them or the underlying limit is exhausted, plus an optional employed-lawyers errors-and-omissions extension. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; availability and pricing of the extension depend on underwriting.

Newfront lists "Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies" and "Side A DIC D&O" among its Executive Risk Key Coverages, and says its D&O work includes protection against securities-related litigation and regulatory investigations. 10Company-reported. Key Coverages list and Committed to Client Advocacy section; Side A DIC is a difference-in-conditions option, and actual trigger and exclusions require the proposed wording.

Limits and Retentions

Beazley advertises private-company D&O limits up to US $20 million, on either an admitted or non-admitted (surplus lines) basis; actual limits and retentions are set by underwriting and appear on the declarations. 5,3Company-reported. Advertised maximum capacity, not a guaranteed quote amount.

The reviewed Executive Risk page does not publish D&O limits or retentions. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

D&O policyholders get pre-approved choice-of-counsel flexibility, and law-firm insureds can access a bespoke executive-risk wording through Beazley's related Practice Protect product. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; scope and terms of the Practice Protect wording were not independently reviewed.

Newfront says clients get 24/7 access to their D&O program through its connected dashboard, and that renewals use automated, pre-populated historical data for faster submissions and approvals. 10Company-reported. Industry-Leading Technology section of the Executive Risk page.

How to Apply

Beazley lists a downloadable EPL renewal application as a tool on the D&O page and names regional Executive Risk underwriters and brokers as contacts, but the reviewed page does not describe a self-service online quoting flow for new D&O business. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page as read on 2026-09-23; buyers typically work through a broker or underwriter contact.

Newfront describes a process for private companies transitioning to public status through an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing, and you start a D&O placement by requesting a consultation through the Executive Risk page. 10Company-reported. Committed to Client Advocacy section and page call-to-action; no online quoting or binding described.

Claims Support

Beazley illustrates its D&O claims approach with a securities class-action and shareholder derivative-action scenario in which its claims team worked with the insured's defense counsel toward a dismissal, avoiding a settlement; this is a single company-reported example, not audited claims-outcome data. 3Company-reported. ExecuGuard page scenario section; outcome statistics are not independently verified.

Newfront says it provides "integrated claims and coverage negotiation" for its Executive Risk lines, which would apply to a D&O claim. 10Company-reported. The Newfront Difference section; described across Executive Risk lines, not a D&O-specific claims workflow.

Full Comparison

More Beazley vs Newfront Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Beazley

  1. MediaTech for Small Businesses. Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; How can we help; SME placement paragraph; Tools & Resources. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary). Beazley; What we offer: separate or shared limits among EPL, D&O and fiduciary; Limits up to US $20,000,000, both admitted and non-admitted available; Examples or Scenarios: California securities class action/derivative action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Virtual Care. Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. D&O - Private Companies. Beazley; What we offer; How can we help: duty to defend/pay on behalf, 100% defense for covered loss, Excess Side A limit, private placement coverage, Practice Protect for lawyers; Up to US $20,000,000; Tools & Resources: EPL_RenewalApp. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Newfront

  1. Business Insurance. Newfront; Purpose-Built Team; Full Transparency; Streamlined Program Management. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Employee Benefits. Newfront; Employee Benefits heading; Tailored Solutions; Comprehensive Expertise: Benefits, Global Benefits, Compensation and Retirement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Newfront Navigator. Newfront; Total Access. Real Confidence; Explore What You Can Do in Navigator; product demonstration image. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. WTW Completes Acquisition Of Newfront. WTW; 27 January 2026 release; completion announcement and allocation of Business Insurance and Total Rewards to WTW segments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Executive Risk. Newfront; Key Coverages to Protect Your Business: Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies, Side A DIC D&O; Here for the Long Run: Private Companies, IPOs, Public; Leadership: Deirdre Finn; Industry-Leading Technology. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot