The Baldwin Group vs
USI Insurance Services: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?
What Is the Baldwin Group?
Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,2
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI suits software and hardware companies from seed stage through IPO seeking consultative broker support; buyers wanting a self-serve quote should compare digital agencies. Insurer commissions are typical and contingent compensation may also apply. 5,6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 10,11,12
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
A Named Endorsement Package
USI describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package applied to D&O policies placed with the market, and says it reviews existing management-liability policies for gaps. 8 Baldwin describes Coverage A, B and C as common grants and labels this education, not a policy wording. 3
USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 8Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section.
Who Each Targets
USI aims ExecuSafe at small and medium businesses that skip D&O or buy too little limit, and separately places D&O for technology clients from seed to IPO. 8 6 Baldwin ties D&O to public-company, IPO and SPAC programs and to real-estate organizations. 3
Benchmarking Evidence
USI cites one case where benchmarking showed a software company buying more limit than peers, saving over $100,000 a year in premium. 6 Baldwin mentions benchmarking but offers no outcome figure, and neither publishes placed limits. 4 8
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
The Baldwin Group Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]
Read The Baldwin Group reviewsUSI Insurance Services Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
USI’s public feedback is too sparse and office-specific for a firmwide verdict. Check the local team’s responsiveness and experience with your type of business.[4][6][8]
Read USI Insurance Services reviewsThe Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance Compared
The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Baldwin Directors and Officers Liability Brokerage and Advisory | USI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Directors and Officers Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 3,4Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement. | USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 8Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 8Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Baldwin’s management-liability practice discusses public-company, IPO and SPAC D&O programs; its real-estate practice names owners, managers, REITs, lenders and associations. These contexts do not guarantee placement eligibility. 3,4Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability. | USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 8,6Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description. |
| Coverage Features | Baldwin describes D&O insurance as protecting individual directors/officers and the entity against certain alleged management-related losses, and discusses Coverage A, B and C as common policy grants. This is general product education, not a buyer’s policy wording. 3,4Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown. | USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 8Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources. | USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 8Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data. |
| Risk Services | Baldwin describes management-liability advice, D&O benchmarking and program guidance, including public-company and pre-IPO contexts. Benchmarking is not a coverage term or quote. 3,4Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established. | USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 6Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 8,6,9Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages. |
Related Pages for The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services D&O
D&O Insurance Pages for The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services
Other Coverage Lines Compared for The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services
Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance
Sources About The Baldwin Group
- The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. The Baldwin Group; D&O report and advisory team lines 23–32; Nasdaq collaboration with public-company/IPO/SPAC scope lines 38–44; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources About USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.
Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.





