The Baldwin Group vs
RiskCube: How Do They Compare for Key Person Insurance?
RiskCube describes a death benefit during the policy term, paid as a lump sum to the company; it says disability, critical illness, resignation and a personal beneficiary are excluded or handled separately. Baldwin lists key-person insurance for M&A and portfolio companies but does not identify the insured person, benefit type or beneficiary. 3,7
What Is the Baldwin Group?
Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,2
What Is RiskCube Insurance?
RiskCube suits startups that want to compare available quotes from multiple insurers and manage certificates and renewals online; businesses needing a direct carrier relationship or confirmed California eligibility should compare alternatives. 4,5,6
What Is Key Person Insurance?
Key person insurance pays the business, not the person’s family, when a founder, partner or employee it relies on dies. Disability, overhead expense and buyout funding are separate products to discuss on their own. 9,10,11,12
Key Differences in Key Person Insurance
Coverage Detail in the Published Record
RiskCube describes a death benefit during the policy term, paid as a lump sum to the company; it says disability, critical illness, resignation and a personal beneficiary are excluded or handled separately. Baldwin lists key-person insurance for M&A and portfolio companies but does not identify the insured person, benefit type or beneficiary. A company facing a lender covenant should determine whether death-only protection satisfies the requirement and whether a separate disability policy is needed. 3 7
How the Other Record Changes the Comparison
RiskCube says common benefit structures are 5–10 times annual compensation, outstanding venture debt, or a term-sheet amount often between $1 million and $5 million; the lender or investor sets the actual amount. It also describes separate proposed-insured consent and carrier authorization steps. Baldwin does not publish benefit amounts or application requirements, so its proposal needs the same lender specification and consent check. 3 7 8
What to Confirm in Key Person Insurance Quotes
- Ask RiskCube to match the lender’s required amount and confirm separate written consent before submission. Ask Baldwin for the proposed amount, covered trigger, beneficiary and the carrier’s consent and application process. 3
- Confirm the quoted policy’s applicable terms, issuing carrier and any coverage-specific limits or exclusions before binding. 7
The Baldwin Group and RiskCube Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
The Baldwin Group Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]
Read The Baldwin Group reviewsRiskCube Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
RiskCube has no public customer reviews or ratings that we found, so there is no Review Score. That isn't a bad sign, just not enough to judge.[10][1][6]
Read RiskCube reviewsThe Baldwin Group vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance Compared
The Baldwin Group vs RiskCube: Key Person Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Baldwin Key Person Insurance Advisory for M&A and Portfolio Companies | RiskCube Key Person Life Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Key Person Insurance Advisory for M&A and Portfolio Companies. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 3Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement. | RiskCube places key person life insurance as a business-owned policy in which the company is both the policy owner and beneficiary; RiskCube acts as broker and does not itself carry the risk. 7Company-reported. Product page description of policy structure. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | RiskCube's key person page and notice do not name the issuing life insurer. Its licenses page lists only property-and-casualty producer/broker licenses for California and Delaware, and does not show a life-line license for RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC. 7,5Not publicly disclosed. Public pages checked on 2026-09-23; a life-line license or appointment could exist without being listed on this page. |
| Who It’s For | Baldwin’s M&A practice lists key-person insurance within employee-benefit solutions for financial sponsors and portfolio-company contexts. This does not establish eligibility for another business or individual. 3Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability. | RiskCube says key person coverage is most often driven by investor term-sheet closing conditions, venture-lender loan covenants (naming Hercules, Silicon Valley Bank and Western Technology Investment as examples), and is most commonly triggered for solo founders because there is no co-founder fallback. 7Company-reported. Product-page description of typical buyers; a specific investor or lender requirement still governs the required amount. |
| Coverage Features | Baldwin lists key-person insurance as an employee-benefit solution in its M&A practice. It does not identify a life or disability policy, insured person, beneficiary, benefit amount or insurer. 3Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown. | RiskCube lists the death of the insured person during the policy term as the covered event, paying the company a lump-sum benefit; disability, critical illness, voluntary departure or resignation, and a personal (non-company) beneficiary are excluded or handled separately, per the page's "What is not covered" section. 7Company-reported. Product-page summary of standard term life structure; the issued policy and any riders control. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 3Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources. | RiskCube says common key person benefit structures are 5-10x the key person's annual compensation, the outstanding venture-debt balance, or a fixed term-sheet amount commonly between $1 million and $5 million, with the exact amount set by the investor or lender rather than a RiskCube maximum. 7Company-reported. Illustrative structures from the FAQ; actual amount depends on underwriting and the specific investor or lender requirement. |
| Risk Services | Baldwin describes M&A risk and insurance advice, due diligence, portfolio insurance programs and claims advocacy for financial sponsors and portfolio companies. 3Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established. | RiskCube says it can replace a key person policy when the insured individual changes, such as a change in CEO, to help maintain compliance with a venture-debt covenant. 7Company-reported. Single example cited on the product page; not a documented standard servicing process. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | Applying involves two separate steps: a company-level digital intake describing the business and the proposed insured's role, and a separate proposed-insured process requiring the individual's own consent and, before medical or underwriting information is collected, carrier-specific authorization and application forms. 7,8Company-reported. Combines the product page's process description with the notice's proposed-insured participation section. |
| Claims Support | Confirm in your quote. | RiskCube's notice says a company or authorized party may require the proposed insured's separate written consent before any key person policy is submitted, issued, delivered or placed in force, and that the general notice does not itself substitute for that required consent. 8Company-reported. Placement/binding condition rather than a post-claim handling process; the notice does not describe claims filing or payout timelines. |
Related Pages for The Baldwin Group vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance
Key Person Insurance Pages for The Baldwin Group and RiskCube
Other Coverage Lines Compared for The Baldwin Group vs RiskCube
Other Key Person Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for The Baldwin Group vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance
Sources About The Baldwin Group
- The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- M&A, Private Equity & VC Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; Transactional-risk insurance and placement claims lines 72–80; P&C line list lines 101–116; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources About RiskCube
- Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses: California (resident, No. 6017028) and Delaware (No. 3004000392); no life-line license listed. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Sections 1–5; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Key Person Life Insurance for Startups. RiskCube; Key Person Life Insurance product introduction; Who needs it; What is key person life insurance; What's covered / What is not covered; benefit-amount and cost FAQ; replacement-of-insured example. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Key Person Life Insurance Notice. RiskCube; Sections 1-6, effective June 23, 2026: what key person life insurance is; company representative authority; proposed insured participation; employer-owned life insurance consent; information sharing; no tax/legal advice. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Sources for the Key Person Insurance Guide
- Small Business Insurance. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Key Person Life Insurance Q&A; Tips & Tools > Key Person Life Insurance; Tips & Tools > Disability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Life Insurance Buyer’s Guide. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Compare policy types p.5; premiums/beneficiary/application p.6; policy review pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Key person protection. Principal; Key person insurance > Key person replacement disability insurance; Key person life insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Specimen Application for Life Insurance. John Hancock Life Insurance Company of New York; filed with SEC; Insured p.1; owner/beneficiary and coverage details p.2; existing/pending pp.3–4; Business Insurance Q36 p.5; declarations p.6. Accessed 2026-09-16.






