The Baldwin Group vs Nationwide: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Baldwin describes Coverage A, B and C and benchmarking as a broker; Nationwide's page describes D&O for alleged wrongful acts and directs buyers to an agent. 3,4,8

What Is the Baldwin Group?

Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,2

Read the The Baldwin Group profile

Read the The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance page

What Is Nationwide?

Nationwide’s commercial catalogue includes common small-business policies and separate specialty products. A catalogue listing does not establish eligibility or policy terms; confirm the issuing company and coverage for your state and business. 5,6,7

Read the Nationwide profile

Read the Nationwide D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Role in the placement

Baldwin describes a brokerage or advisory role and does not identify itself as the risk-bearing insurer for a placement 3. Nationwide describes offering D&O itself for the audience on its product page 8.

How coverage is described

Baldwin discusses protection for individual directors, officers and the entity, including Coverage A, B and C as common grants 3 4. Nationwide describes cover for claims tied to alleged decisions or wrongful acts, subject to policy terms 8.

Services and limits

Baldwin adds benchmarking and program guidance for public-company and pre-IPO contexts 4. Nationwide directs prospects to an agent or quote request. Neither publishes a limit, retention or deductible 3 8.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Which insurer issues the Baldwin-placed policy? 3
  • What limits, retentions and exclusions does Nationwide propose? 8
  • Does Side C entity coverage apply to your company type? 4

The Baldwin Group and Nationwide Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

The Baldwin Group Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]

Read The Baldwin Group reviews

Nationwide Review Score

7.8/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Experts like Nationwide more than customers do. NerdWallet gives it 4.5 out of 5 for business insurance, while small-business customers on ConsumerAffairs give it 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews.[1][10]

Read Nationwide reviews

The Baldwin Group vs Nationwide D&O Insurance Compared

The Baldwin Group vs Nationwide: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaBaldwin Directors and Officers Liability Brokerage and AdvisoryNationwide directors officers (official overview)
Role in This Line

The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Directors and Officers Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 3,4Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement.

Nationwide describes offering directors officers for the audience stated on the cited product page. 8Company-reported. directors officers marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

Who It’s For

Baldwin’s management-liability practice discusses public-company, IPO and SPAC D&O programs; its real-estate practice names owners, managers, REITs, lenders and associations. These contexts do not guarantee placement eligibility. 3,4Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability.

Businesses and directors/officers described by Nationwide; page does not establish universal limits or terms. 8Company-reported. directors officers marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

Coverage Features

Baldwin describes D&O insurance as protecting individual directors/officers and the entity against certain alleged management-related losses, and discusses Coverage A, B and C as common policy grants. This is general product education, not a buyer’s policy wording. 3,4Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown.

The cited product page describes D&O insurance for claims tied to alleged decisions or wrongful acts by company directors and officers, subject to policy terms. Marketing description only; actual coverage, exclusions, conditions, limits, and availability depend on the issued policy and jurisdiction. 8Company-reported. directors officers marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources.

The cited overview does not set a universal limit or retention for this line. Ask for the proposed policy form, limits, retentions, exclusions, and conditions in the quote. 8Not publicly disclosed. Only the cited marketing page was reviewed for published limit and retention information; no policy-form entitlement is inferred.

Risk Services

Baldwin describes management-liability advice, D&O benchmarking and program guidance, including public-company and pre-IPO contexts. Benchmarking is not a coverage term or quote. 3,4Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established.

Confirm in your quote.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

The page directs prospective customers to contact an agent or request a quote. The page does not establish a quote, bind, or coverage-effective timeline. 8Company-reported. directors officers marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

Related Pages for The Baldwin Group vs Nationwide D&O Insurance

D&O Insurance Pages for The Baldwin Group and Nationwide

Other Coverage Lines Compared for The Baldwin Group vs Nationwide

Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for The Baldwin Group vs Nationwide D&O Insurance

Sources About The Baldwin Group

  1. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  4. Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. The Baldwin Group; D&O report and advisory team lines 23–32; Nasdaq collaboration with public-company/IPO/SPAC scope lines 38–44; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Sources About Nationwide

  1. Small Business Insurance. Nationwide; Small business products and solutions, lines 185–214: BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety; purchase guidance lines 235–247. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Small Business Insurance Solutions for Agents. Nationwide; Specialized small commercial solutions: BOP, auto, workers’ compensation, cyber, EPLI, umbrella, inland marine and professional liability; page states appetite varies by state, lines 129–163, 191–193. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Terms and Conditions for Nationwide.com. Nationwide; P&C products not offered by all companies/states; policy/declarations control; NMI and affiliates may underwrite; each underwriter responsible for own products, lines 358–368 and 391–394. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Directors and Officers Liability. Nationwide; D&O page; management-liability product and covered exposures. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot