At-Bay vs Hiscox: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Eligible small businesses can quote Hiscox policies online; software companies seeking broker-accessed technology E&O and cyber can consider At-Bay.

An Overview of At-Bay and Hiscox

A small business may need property and premises protection as well as professional liability: Hiscox quotes eligible BOP, cyber and professional-liability policies online, while At-Bay’s Tech E&O combines professional liability and cyber and charges separately for Stance services. 2 29 7 23 Choose Hiscox if you need an eligible BOP or small-business policy online; choose At-Bay if your software work needs combined Tech E&O/cyber and broker access.

What Stands Out About At-Bay and Hiscox?

At-Bay at a Glance

  • Combine technology E&O and cyber protection in one policy. 2Company-reportedProduct highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.
  • Eligible policyholders get monitoring, training and cyber-advisor access; managed detection and response costs extra. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

Hiscox at a Glance

  • You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and they’re usually issued by its own insurer rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 18,17Company-reportedLegal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.
  • Eligible buyers can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. 29,20,21,22,23,15Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

At-Bay vs Hiscox Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageAt-BayHiscox
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 23Hiscox offers business owner’s policies for small businesses.
Cyber liabilityListed 3At-Bay offers primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Listed 22,15Hiscox offers cyber insurance for small businesses.
General liabilityNot listedListed 20Hiscox offers general liability insurance for small businesses.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 4At-Bay offers primary miscellaneous professional liability insurance.Listed 21,15Hiscox offers professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2At-Bay offers primary and excess technology errors and omissions insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 24Hiscox provides access to workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company and requires a general liability policy.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

At-Bay and Hiscox Coverage, Line by Line

Open what At-Bay and Hiscox each publish for one coverage line.

At-Bay and Hiscox Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

At-Bay and Hiscox Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

At-Bay Review Score

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.

Read At-Bay reviews

Hiscox Review Score

6.3/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Hiscox’s review results are sharply divided: low Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs scores contrast with strong Feefo feedback. Service quality deserves closer scrutiny before purchase.

Read Hiscox reviews

Key Differences Between At-Bay and Hiscox

Specialist Paper Versus Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.

At-Bay’s August 2023 announcement said eligible new excess-and-surplus cyber and technology E&O business would be quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, but this historical statement does not identify the insurer on a current California quote. Current miscellaneous professional-liability materials do not name the issuer, while a September 2023 note named United Specialty. Hiscox identifies the insurer for its described online small-business products. 11 4 37 17 36

Combined Tech E&O and Stance Versus Hiscox Packaged Cyber

At-Bay describes Tech E&O as combining professional liability and cyber (coding errors, failed implementations). Stance vulnerability monitoring is tied to an Embedded Security Fee; MDR/MXDR is purchased separately. Hiscox markets professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy (BOP), which combines general liability with commercial property. These public descriptions do not establish equivalent forms or Hiscox security services. 2 7 29 23

How Quoting Works

At-Bay’s broker workflow is application, limits, documents, effective date. Hiscox accepts online applications from eligible small businesses. At-Bay markets miscellaneous professional liability (MPL) for professional-service claims, with limits up to $5 million on the reviewed page; that is not the same form as Hiscox’s BOP. Ask which professional-services wording and separate premises/property protection the business needs. 6 4 23

What Should You Confirm in At-Bay and Hiscox Quotes?

  • Issuing company for At-Bay cyber/Tech E&O and MPL, and Hiscox’s proposed policy. 11 4 17

  • Professional-services wording versus the Hiscox BOP: identify the work insured, premises/property protection, class and state eligibility, limits and exclusions. 4 23 36

  • Stance and MDR charges separate from premium and broker compensation. 7

  • California surplus-lines or admitted route and the written effective date for each proposal. 5

At-Bay vs Hiscox Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaAt-BayHiscox
Access to insurers

Do not assume a past carrier announcement identifies today’s insurer: At-Bay’s 2023 announcement said eligible new E&S Cyber and Tech E&O would use At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company, but it does not settle a current California quote or MPL issuer. 11Company-reportedHistorical announcement effective August 7, 2023; no buyer-specific policy reviewed.

Ask who will issue your MPL policy: the current product page names no insurer, and a 2023 announcement naming United Specialty Company does not establish the present carrier or California availability. 4,13Not found in reviewed sourcesCurrent issuer not established; preserve source spelling without converting historical brand wording into a verified legal-entity record.

Hiscox NOW appetite and About Hiscox US say admitted small-business products described there are underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., a Chicago-based insurer licensed in all 50 states and D.C. The California Department of Insurance independently identifies that company as an Illinois-domiciled property-and-casualty insurer, NAIC 10200, California Company ID 1439-9, authorized in California since 14 September 1953 with unlimited-normal status. Hiscox’s California marketing page also cites Illinois license number 8754, which is not the CDI company ID; reconcile names and numbers on the quote. 37,38,17,36,19VerifiedAdmitted Hiscox NOW GL, professional liability, cyber and BOP as described in 2026 appetite and About pages, plus CDI/Illinois regulator records for the named insurer. Regulator authorization is not proof that a given class is written in California today.

Hiscox describes several separate partner routes: workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble with Markel Insurance Company. Its other-insurance page currently directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. The reviewed commercial-auto destination does not identify the previously named referral partner. Confirm the current route and issuing insurer on the quote; do not assume the issuer is Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. 24,41,26,27,42Company-reportedProduct-specific partner routes in the retained September 29 review. The current reviewed commercial-auto destination does not establish a referral partner; confirm the quote route and issuer.

Hiscox Inc. says it is an approved Lloyd’s coverholder and underwrites surplus-lines business on behalf of Lloyd’s Syndicates 33 and 3624, with U.S. surplus-lines placements made by licensed surplus-lines brokers. Terms also say Hiscox Inc. may place admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates. That surplus-lines route is described as distinct from the online small-business catalogue. 17,18Company-reportedCompany disclosures on About Hiscox US and website terms. This does not establish that a California online small-business quote uses Lloyd’s paper.

Coverage lines

Technology companies can compare one Tech E&O product for professional and cyber exposures, including coding errors, failed implementations and customer contractual indemnity; service-credit damages remain subject to policy terms. 2Company-reportedProduct highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.

At-Bay’s cyber policy may address business interruption, system failure, extortion, privacy liability and financial fraud such as social engineering or invoice manipulation; your quote and policy set the actual limits and conditions. 3Company-reportedCurrent cyber product offering; components are not separate catalogue products.

Businesses needing miscellaneous professional liability can ask At-Bay about primary coverage with limits up to $5 million and a tailored definition of professional services; state restrictions apply, and the product is claims-made-and-reported with a duty to defend. 4Company-reportedCurrent MPL page; eligibility and policy wording remain underwriting-specific.

If you need limits above primary Cyber or Tech E&O, At-Bay lists excess options for those lines; this does not establish a general commercial umbrella policy. 3,2Company-reportedShared umbrella-excess key used only for explicitly marketed excess products.

Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. 29,20,21,22,23,15Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. 33,34,23Company-reportedCurrent HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide.

Hiscox describes partner routes for workers’ compensation through Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble/Markel. Its other-insurance page directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. Confirm the current commercial-auto route and issuing insurer on the quote. These partner access paths do not establish that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. 24,41,26,27,42,39Company-reportedProduct-specific partner access. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is separate from the other-insurance referral route.

Application process

An online quote is not bound coverage; At-Bay’s broker process still requires application review, chosen limits and retentions, documents, effective date, contingencies and signatures before binding. 6,4Company-reportedPublic broker workflow; no application submitted and no speed guarantee inferred.

Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 29,20,14Company-reportedPublic quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.

Claims assistance

After a cyber incident, At-Bay describes an in-house claims team, breach coach, response partners and incident-reporting routes; this describes its stated process, not claim payment or service quality. 8,9Company-reportedCyber incident process; confirm policy-specific notice obligations and consent requirements, including non-cyber E&O claims.

You can start a Hiscox claim online, by phone or mail, and Hiscox says it assigns a claims professional to review coverage; products placed with partners may have different notice instructions, so use the contacts in your policy. 30,40,20Company-reportedCompany-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy.

Fees and compensation

Add security charges separately when comparing total cost: Stance has an Embedded Security Fee and endorsement, while MDR is purchased separately from premium and broker charges. 7Company-reportedDoes not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount.

Ask for the full price and compensation disclosure because reviewed At-Bay pages do not publish commission rates, broker arrangements or complete placement fees; this gap does not mean those charges are absent. 2,6,10Not publicly disclosedScoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding.

Hiscox advertises annual or monthly payment without additional fees for certain general-liability policies, and up to 5% savings when bundling eligible products; illustrative prices are not quotes. 20,19,23Company-reportedCompany-stated payment options for described liability products. Partner policies may use different billing. No inference that every product or state has zero installment fees.

Ask for any producer fees or commissions on your quote because reviewed Hiscox small-business pages do not publish a buyer-facing schedule; actual cost can vary with underwriting. 36,18,20Not publicly disclosedPublic consumer and agent appetite materials reviewed 16 September 2026. Absence of a schedule is not a finding that no producer compensation exists.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to At-Bay vs Hiscox

  • At-Bay publishes cyber, technology E&O and professional-liability routes with security services; AIG lists broader commercial products and broker tools.

  • Hiscox offers online quotes for eligible small-business policies; AIG lists broker and agent tools, with claims access scoped by line and country.

  • At-Bay's technology E&O discusses service-credit claims and separate Stance security services; Alliance Risk reviews technology contracts and existing coverage.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot