At-Bay vs
Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
At-Bay submits MPL through licensed producers for underwriting; Coverdash runs a fully digital broker quote-to-purchase flow.
What Is At-Bay Insurance?
At-Bay offers Cyber, Tech E&O, and miscellaneous professional liability insurance through its disclosed insurance agency and surplus lines broker. Its Stance security services have policy eligibility conditions, with managed detection and response sold separately. 1,2
What Is Coverdash Insurance?
Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 7,8,9
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 12,13,14,15
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Who Places the Business
At-Bay distributes MPL through its own disclosed producer, At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, so a buyer's path runs through a submitting agent rather than a direct purchase. 3 4 Coverdash arranges professional liability as a broker under its own standard brokerage terms, placing coverage with a carrier while the buyer interacts with Coverdash directly. 9 10
How the Buying Process Differs
At-Bay's workflow runs through email submissions or its Broker Platform, described as creating a quote, customizing it, and binding the policy. 6 Coverdash describes a fully digital, self-serve quote-to-purchase process, with the option to add coverages like general liability or cyber alongside professional liability at the same time.
Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. 10Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.
Scope of Published Coverage Terms
At-Bay lists specific insuring-agreement features for MPL, including a duty-to-defend contract, personal-injury coverage, and an 80/20 hammer clause. 3 Coverdash describes coverage in broader categories — negligent advice, mistakes, and missed deadlines — without naming a hammer clause, duty-to-defend structure, or similar policy-level mechanics. 10
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Ask whether your business can quote At-Bay's MPL directly or only through a licensed broker. 3
- Neither company names the insurer that would issue your policy; ask both directly. 3 10
- Confirm whether Coverdash's professional liability policy includes a duty-to-defend provision like At-Bay's advertised structure. 10
- Ask At-Bay for its published $5 million limit ceiling and applicable state restrictions. 3
- Ask Coverdash for specific limit, retention, or deductible figures, since its page does not publish them. 10
Offering Details
At-Bay vs Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | At-Bay Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) Insurance | Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | At-Bay markets MPL as one of its own named insurance products, sold through its disclosed producer, At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, with the product page directed at "properly licensed insurance professionals" submitting business rather than at direct retail buyers. 3,4Company-reported. Current MPL product page and license disclosures; this describes the distribution channel, not who bears the underwriting risk. | Coverdash arranges professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 9,10Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the professional liability page; not specific to any one carrier or state. |
| Issuing Insurer | The current MPL product page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. A September 2023 press release named United Specialty Company in connection with MPL, but that historical reference does not establish the current issuing insurer for a new MPL quote. 3,5Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed MPL page as of 2026-09-23 and the September 2023 press release; restates the existing provider fact that MPL's current issuer is unresolved, distinct from the August 2023 Cyber/Tech E&O transition to At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper. | The professional liability page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 10Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier. |
| Who It’s For | At-Bay says it provides primary MPL for businesses of all revenue sizes with limits up to $5 million, subject to state restrictions and eligibility requirements detailed in a separate MPL appetite guide. 3Company-reported. Current MPL appetite paragraph; the linked appetite guide's specific eligibility requirements were not independently opened for this record. | Coverdash markets professional liability to any small business, startup or e-commerce seller that gives advice, provides a service or delivers work for clients, citing examples including architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies. 10Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and profession-specific appetite. |
| Coverage Features | At-Bay lists MPL coverage highlights including automatic coverage for acquired subsidiaries, claims-made-and-reported coverage, coverage for independent contractors, disciplinary-proceedings defense, a duty-to-defend contract, personal-injury coverage (including emotional distress), punitive damages where insurable, a professional-services definition written for each insured, and an 80/20 hammer clause. 3Company-reported. Product-page coverage-highlights list; an 80/20 hammer clause is a settlement provision where the insurer pays 80% and the insured pays 20% of costs after the insured declines a recommended settlement. The issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions. | Coverdash describes professional liability as covering claims that a client's financial harm came from the business's negligent advice or service, mistakes made by the business or an employee, or a missed deadline or undelivered work, and pays legal defense costs even for a baseless claim. 10Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits, exclusions and whether the policy is claims-made. Coverdash's coverage hub lists this general professional liability product separately from Tech E&O (for technology companies) and Lawyers Professional Liability, so a technology or legal business would typically be pointed to the more specific product instead. 11Company-reported. Coverage hub category structure; does not establish which product a given underwriter would actually issue. |
| Limits and Retentions | At-Bay publishes an MPL limit ceiling of up to $5 million, with state restrictions that are not detailed on the product page itself. 3Company-reported. Current appetite paragraph; this is an advertised ceiling, not a guaranteed available limit for any specific applicant. | The professional liability page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 10Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page. |
| How to Apply | At-Bay directs MPL submissions to underwriting by email or through automatic quotes on its Broker Platform, which At-Bay describes as a workflow of creating a quote, customizing limits and retentions, and binding the policy. 3,6Company-reported. Current submission instructions and the general broker-platform workflow description; MPL-specific automation details were not separately confirmed. | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. 10Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section. |
Full Comparison
More At-Bay vs Coverdash Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
At-Bay
- Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite. At-Bay; MPL Coverage Highlights list; MPL Appetite paragraph; Send us your submissions; "material on this page is intended for use solely by properly licensed insurance professionals". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Licenses. At-Bay; Producer introduction; agency and surplus-lines footer naming At-Bay Insurance Services LLC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite. At-Bay; September 28, 2023 release: final paragraph before Media Contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Broker Platform. At-Bay; How it works: Create a quote, Customize your quote, Bind your policy, Manage renewals; FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Coverdash
- Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Professional Liability Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Negligence, Mistakes and errors, Missed deadlines, Legal defense; Who It's For industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Professional Liability separately from Tech E&O and Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.




