What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2
What Is Relm Insurance?
Relm suits AI developers distinguishing liability and cyber/Tech E&O through Nova AI from first-party losses caused by third-party AI failures through Resca AI; businesses seeking standard small-business coverage should compare generalist providers. 4,5
What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?
Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 7,8,9
Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance
What the Published Program Says
Aon names law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global professional-services practice, which includes K&R and broader risk advice. Relm designed its K&R product for people and organizations in digital assets and cannabis, citing doxxing and public token holdings as well as cash exposure among cannabis operators. Those stated audiences point to different underwriting conversations: ask Relm about its sector fit, and ask Aon whether its professional-services placement serves your specific operation. 3 6
Placement and Buyer Questions
Relm gives concrete pre-incident and crisis details that Aon’s reviewed page does not: a 24/7 operations center, Security Response Directors and a 10% Risk Mitigation Allowance for training, briefings and exposure reviews. Aon describes advisors using data and tools for risk-management decisions, not a named K&R hotline or allowance. If response access matters, compare the service agreement and policy language, not just the product overview. 3 6
What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsRelm Insurance
Review Score
We couldn't find any public customer reviews or ratings for Relm Insurance. Its Trustpilot page exists but has no reviews yet.[9]
Read Relm Insurance reviewsOffering Details
Aon vs Relm Insurance: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Aon Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Relm Kidnap and Ransom (K&R) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement. | Relm announced its own Kidnap and Ransom (K&R) insurance product, built in partnership with an unnamed third-party industry leader in personnel security and crisis response for the incident-response side of the offering. 6Company-reported. Company launch announcement; not a statement identifying the specific issuing insurer for a K&R placement. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement. | The reviewed announcement does not name the specific issuing insurer for K&R policies, only describing Relm as the specialty insurer launching the product and a named third-party partner for security response services. 6Not publicly disclosed. Launch announcement as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement. | Relm designed the K&R product specifically for individuals and organizations in the digital asset and cannabis sectors, citing crypto leaders being doxxed or publicly linked to token holdings, and cannabis operators handling large amounts of physical cash due to banking constraints, as the targeted exposures. 6Company-reported. Launch announcement 'Addressing a New Class of Risk' section; not a guarantee of eligibility for a particular individual or organization. |
| Coverage Features | Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within its professional-services property-and-casualty coverage areas. The page does not describe covered events, response services, limits or policy terms. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage. | Relm says the K&R product covers kidnap, extortion, threats, disappearance, express or virtual kidnap, malicious detention, hijack and hostage crises, and evacuation due to a credible threat. 6Company-reported. Launch announcement coverage list; the issued policy and declarations control. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Risk Services | Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated. | Relm says the product gives clients immediate access to a 24/7 operations center and a team of Security Response Directors with over 200 years of combined crisis experience across more than 1,600 incidents, strategically located in the US, Colombia, Mexico, the UK, France, Portugal, Nigeria and Spain. 6Company-reported. Launch announcement crisis-response description; provided through the named third-party security partner, not Relm directly. Relm says the policy includes a 10% Risk Mitigation Allowance for pre-incident support such as training, security-awareness sessions, threat briefings and optional exposure reviews, plus 24/7 hotline access. 6Company-reported. Launch announcement 'Ensuring Pre-incident Readiness' section. |
Full Comparison
More Aon vs Relm Insurance Comparisons
Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Relm Insurance
- Relm Launches US MGA. Relm Insurance; Opening paragraphs describing US MGA and distribution partners. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Relm Launches AI Liability Solutions. Relm Insurance; NOVAAI, PONTAAI and RESCAAI: Applicable Users and Coverage Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Relm Launches Kidnap and Ransom Insurance for Digital Asset and Cannabis Execs Amid Surge in Physical Threats. Relm Insurance; Launch announcement; Powered by Proven Security Response Capabilities; Comprehensive Protection with Immediate Response; Ensuring Pre-incident Readiness With a 10% Risk Mitigation Allowance; Addressing a New Class of Risk. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide
- Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.





