What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2
What Is Gallagher?
Gallagher’s technology specialists serve startups through global enterprises, while its executive-risk team supports IPO and M&A needs; small firms seeking one simple digital quote should compare online agencies. 4,5,6,7,8
What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?
Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 9,10,11
Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance
Aon professional-services brokerage and Gallagher’s executive-risk placement
Aon includes K&R in its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting, and consulting firms. Gallagher places the coverage through its Executive and Financial Risk practice with outside carriers. Both are brokerage routes, so the buyer should compare the actual proposed insurers and policy terms, while checking which practice has experience with the organization’s locations, executives, and travel patterns. 3 6
Response team review and advisory fit
Aon describes broad risk and human-capital advice but does not state a K&R response team. Gallagher says its placement work assesses both policy terms and the carrier’s response-team capability, and may include rescue and security personnel. That gives buyers a specific service question for Gallagher and Aon: request the consultant’s identity, availability, and role before relying on a general advisory description. 3 6
What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsGallagher
Review Score
3 rated sources
Gallagher has strong Trustpilot feedback and a favorable historical large-commercial survey result. Neither directly measures today’s US small-business service.[2][4][6]
Read Gallagher reviewsOffering Details
Aon vs Gallagher: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Aon Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Gallagher Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement. | Gallagher's Executive and Financial Risk practice places kidnap, ransom and extortion coverage with outside carriers; it does not underwrite the policy. 6Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement. | The executive-and-financial-risk page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's kidnap and ransom policy. 6Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
| Who It’s For | Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement. | Gallagher describes kidnap, ransom and extortion coverage as relevant to companies whose executives, employees or families travel or work in higher-risk settings, and separately says it is "a must for all companies," without naming a specific industry or size limit. 6Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
| Coverage Features | Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within its professional-services property-and-casualty coverage areas. The page does not describe covered events, response services, limits or policy terms. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage. | Gallagher describes this coverage as protecting executives, employees and their families whose work and travel expose them to kidnapping and extortion risk, and says it can also secure ransomware coverage. 6Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page; a service description, not a specific policy's insuring agreement or exclusions. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed. | The page does not publish specific kidnap and ransom limits or premium ranges. 6Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
| Risk Services | Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated. | Gallagher says the coverage it arranges includes access to highly trained rescue and security personnel, and that it analyzes both the policy terms and a carrier's response-team capability when placing this line. 6Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. |
Full Comparison
More Aon vs Gallagher Comparisons
Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Gallagher
- Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion Liability insurance section. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide
- Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.





