Aon vs
Coverdash: How Do They Compare for Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?
Aon presents K&R as a brokered line within its Professional Services Practice, with no insurer named for an individual placement, while Coverdash also acts as a broker, but describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase route and markets K&R to businesses with international travelers, higher-risk operations, or high-profile leaders. 3,6,7
What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2
What Is Coverdash Insurance?
Coverdash suits small businesses that want online shopping or an embedded partner purchase with one account for policies and billing; firms needing specialized complex-risk advice should compare broker-led programs. 4,5,6
What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?
Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 9,10,11
Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance
Broker placement beside Coverdash’s digital quote route
Aon presents K&R as a brokered line within its Professional Services Practice, with no insurer named for an individual placement. Coverdash also acts as a broker, but describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase route and markets K&R to businesses with international travelers, higher-risk operations, or high-profile leaders. Buyers can compare the access routes, then request the same specifics from each: carrier, territorial scope, and the response provider. 3 6
Coverage detail and access to response consultants
Aon’s published page does not detail covered incidents or response services. Coverdash says its K&R coverage can reimburse ransom or extortion payments and related medical, legal, and lost-income costs, with expert negotiators and security consultants available. Those stated features give a buyer concrete items to verify in Coverdash’s form; ask Aon to show the equivalent terms in any carrier proposal. 3 7
What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsCoverdash
Review Score
2 rated sources
Coverdash offers convenient quote comparison, but public customer feedback is sparse. A BBB unanswered-complaint record makes responsiveness worth checking before purchase.[1][4][6]
Read Coverdash reviewsOffering Details
Aon vs Coverdash: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Aon Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Coverdash Kidnap & Ransom Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement. | Coverdash arranges kidnap and ransom (K&R) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 6,7Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the K&R page; not specific to any one carrier or state. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement. | The kidnap and ransom page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 7Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed kidnap and ransom page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier. |
| Who It’s For | Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement. | Coverdash markets K&R to businesses with employees who travel internationally, operate in higher-risk regions, or have high-profile leadership. 7Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific countries or operations involved. |
| Coverage Features | Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within its professional-services property-and-casualty coverage areas. The page does not describe covered events, response services, limits or policy terms. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage. | Coverdash describes K&R as reimbursing ransom or extortion payments made in response to a covered incident, covering the cost of expert negotiators and crisis-management consultants, protecting against extortion threats to people, property or reputation, and covering related medical care, legal expenses and lost income. 7Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed. | The kidnap and ransom page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 7Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed kidnap and ransom page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page. |
| Risk Services | Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated. | Coverdash says its K&R coverage includes access to expert negotiators and security consultants as part of crisis response, rather than as a separate purchased service. 7Company-reported. Product-page description; availability and quality of any named response vendor were not independently checked. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for K&R coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 7Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section. |
Full Comparison
More Aon vs Coverdash Comparisons
Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Coverdash
- Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Kidnap & Ransom Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Ransom payments, Crisis response, Extortion, Medical and legal costs; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Cyber & Crime category listing Cyber Insurance, Crime Coverage and Kidnap & Ransom. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide
- Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.




