What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2
What Is Counterpart Insurance?
Counterpart describes a broker-focused platform for small businesses and lists management and professional liability programs. Buyers should compare the named profession, carrier, state, policy wording and any package component on the actual quote. 4,5
Read the Counterpart Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 11,12,13,14
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Form and Coverage Scope
Aon says it tailors professional-liability structures to professional-services firms’ needs and names law, accounting and consulting as its audience. Counterpart separates its offering into programs for miscellaneous professionals, architects/engineers/contractors, allied healthcare and lawyers. Its lawyers page addresses claims from legal services, while its miscellaneous-professional page gives service-negligence and client financial-loss examples. Buyers should route themselves to the occupation-specific Counterpart form and ask Aon which form covers their actual work. 3 9
Buyer Fit and Policy Terms
Counterpart says professional pages support modular limits and show sample limits and retentions for selected professions. Aon’s reviewed overview does not publish figures and does not name a carrier for an account. Counterpart distributes through its insurance-services entity and wholesale brokers. These distinctions make Counterpart’s public product map more specific, but do not establish the terms for a given applicant. Request the form, insurer and limit structure from both. 3 9
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsCounterpart
Review Score
No reviews found
We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.[7][10]
Read Counterpart reviewsOffering Details
Aon vs Counterpart: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Aon Professional Liability / E&O brokerage and risk-advisory offering | Counterpart Professional Liability |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement. | Counterpart describes its product distribution through Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc. and wholesale brokers. 4,10Company-reported. The cited marketing pages do not identify the insurer for a particular professional-liability risk or state. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement. | Counterpart lists distinct professional-liability programs for miscellaneous professionals, architects/engineers/contractors, allied healthcare and lawyers. 6,7,8,9Company-reported. Each page has its own occupation scope; no single eligibility rule applies across all four products. |
| Coverage Features | Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage. | The Lawyers Professional Liability page describes claims arising from lawyers’ professional services; the MPL page gives service-related negligence and financial-loss examples. 9,6Company-reported. These are distinct program summaries and do not establish identical policy triggers or coverages. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed. | Counterpart says its professional pages support modular limits and presents sample limits and retentions for selected professions. 6,9Company-reported. Published examples are illustrative, not terms available to a particular applicant. |
| Risk Services | Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More Aon vs Counterpart Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Counterpart
- Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional & General Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Reopened 2026-09-30: page lines 4–8 says MPL may be purchased alone or packaged with GL; lines 208–245 describe industries and coverage examples; lines 251–283 describe risk assessment, quoting channels and underwriter access. Marketing page, not binding terms. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Architects, Engineers, & Contractors Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Retained provider source: A&E/contractor class examples, services, enhancements and illustrative limits; prior access 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Allied Medical & Healthcare Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Retained provider source: names allied healthcare classes, combined coverage/enhancements and illustrative limits/examples; does not establish conventional malpractice for every medical profession or standalone general liability. Prior access 2026-09-28; direct reopen failed in this session. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Lawyers Professional Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Reopened 2026-09-30: page lines 4–8 names lawyer-focused product; lines 236–272 company-stated geographic reach, modular liability limit examples, professional services, technology/media extensions and GL alongside professional cover. Product terms remain policy-specific. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Retained source: article describes wholesale-broker referral route; prior access 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.






