Aon vs Coterie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Aon describes tailored professional-liability structures without public terms. Coterie’s MPL covers financial loss from wrongful professional acts on a claims-made basis, with limits from $25,000 to $1 million. 3,7

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Coterie Insurance?

Coterie suits small businesses buying through an agent who wants to quote and bind eligible policies from prefilled information; buyers seeking a direct-to-consumer carrier should look elsewhere. Policyholders can manage documents and changes online. 4,5,6

Read the Coterie Insurance profile

Read the Coterie Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Form and Coverage Scope

Aon says it tailors professional-liability structures to a firm’s needs but does not publish a limit schedule or claims trigger. Coterie’s small-business MPL covers economic or financial damages from wrongful professional acts, such as faulty reports or advice, and applies on a claims-made basis after the retroactive date. Its basic policy includes a 60-day extended reporting period, with optional longer extensions. Buyers can compare those timing terms directly with the wording Aon proposes. 3 7

Buyer Fit and Policy Terms

Coterie offers per-claim limits from $25,000 to $1 million; the aggregate is generally twice the per-claim limit, or three times at the $1 million option. It lists availability in most states but excludes DC, IL, MA, MT, ND and VA. Aon does not publish comparable limits or geography on its overview. Coterie also excludes bodily injury and property damage, among other items. Confirm profession-specific exclusions and state eligibility. 3 7

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Coterie which limit option, aggregate multiplier and retroactive date apply to your quote. 3 7
  • Ask Aon for state eligibility, claims-made reporting terms and a comparable limit schedule. 3 7

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

Coterie Insurance

7.0/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Coterie’s BBB complaint record is a concern; its single Trustpilot review is too small a sample to offset that. Ask how complaints and service problems are resolved.[1][5][6]

Read Coterie Insurance reviews

Offering Details

Aon vs Coterie Insurance: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAon Professional Liability / E&O brokerage and risk-advisory offeringCoterie Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL)
Role in This Line

Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.

Coterie writes Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) as a claims-made policy sold through agents and brokers to protect a small-business client against third-party claims for errors or omissions in their professional services. 7Company-reported. MPL brochure policy-overview paragraph.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.

The MPL brochure names the policy form 'Coterie Professional Liability Errors and Omissions Insurance Declarations' (form code CTPL CWW PL) but does not name the issuing insurer; that appears only on the policy declarations. 7Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms' table.

Who It’s For

Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.

Coterie lists dozens of eligible professions for MPL, including accounting services, architects and engineers, bookkeeping, human resources consulting, interior design, property management, real estate agents/brokers, and technology services/IT consulting, each with profession-specific exclusions in some cases (for example, barbers/beauticians exclude services like electrolysis and tattoo services). 7Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Eligible Professions' and 'Eligible Professions (Continued)' lists.

Coterie says MPL is available in most states but is currently unavailable in DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA. 7Company-reported. MPL brochure 'MPL unavailable' note.

Coverage Features

Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.

Coterie's MPL policy covers economic or financial (non-physical) damages arising from wrongful acts in professional services, such as faulty reports or verbal advice that cause a client financial loss; it is written on a claims-made basis covering incidents reported during the policy period or an extended reporting period, occurring after the policy's retroactive date. 7Company-reported. MPL brochure policy overview and 'Professional Liability Limits of Insurance' definitions.

Coterie's MPL base form excludes bodily injury or property damage claims, fraud or intentional wrongful acts, wrongful termination or discrimination claims, and claims based on contractual liability assumed beyond what would exist without the contract, among other listed exclusions. 7Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Professional Liability Policy Base Form Exclusions' list.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.

Coterie offers MPL each-claim limits of $25,000, $50,000, $250,000, $500,000, or $1,000,000, with the aggregate set at two times the each-claim limit (three times for the $1,000,000 option); the basic policy includes a 60-day extended reporting period, with optional purchased extensions of 1 to 6 years, and up to 6 years of prior-acts (retroactive) coverage. 7Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Available Limits' table and 'Extended Reporting Period'/'Retroactive Date' definitions.

Risk Services

Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.

Confirm in your quote.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

MPL is distributed only through agents and brokers using Coterie's quoting platform; the reviewed brochure does not describe a direct-to-business application path. 7Company-reported. MPL brochure framing as 'for Agents and Brokers'.

Full Comparison

More Aon vs Coterie Insurance Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Coterie Insurance

  1. Instant Bindable Small Business Insurance Quotes for Agents. Coterie Insurance; Built for Agents and Brokers; online workflow; core lines; endorsements; availability sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Allianz X Announces Strategic Investment in Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance and Allianz X; September 11, 2025 announcement; MGA role; Series C investment and reinsurance relationship. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Coterie Insurance small business products overview. Coterie Insurance; Product line overview page listing Professional Liability among Coterie's coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) Policy Overview & Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers. Coterie Insurance; Policy overview paragraph; Eligible Professions list; 'Currently unavailable in: DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA'; Professional Liability Limits of Insurance table; Claims-Made Policy Form / Retroactive Date / Extended Reporting Period definitions; Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms; Base Form Exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot