Aon vs CFC: How Do They Compare for Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Aon offers K&R through its Professional Services Practice as a brokered line for professional-service firms; its practice page does not identify the insurer for a specific placement, while CFC says it underwrites a land-based K&R policy for businesses and employees, paired with crisis-response services. 3,8

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 4,5,6,7

Read the CFC profile

Read the CFC Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 10,11,12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Brokerage advice or an underwritten land policy

Aon offers K&R through its Professional Services Practice as a brokered line for professional-service firms; its practice page does not identify the insurer for a specific placement. CFC says it underwrites a land-based K&R policy for businesses and employees, paired with crisis-response services. The buyer’s route is different: ask Aon which carrier and response team it would arrange, while CFC buyers can review the insurer and service terms in the proposed policy. 3 8

The insured events and response arrangement

Aon lists K&R among its professional-services coverages but does not explain covered events, response, or policy limits. CFC describes broad bodily-injury, legal, and expense cover with optional endorsements, and separately offers a marine policy for vessel hijacking and crew kidnapping. A company with maritime operations should distinguish that separate marine form from the land product rather than assuming one policy covers both. 3 8

What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Aon to identify the carrier, covered events, limits, and named crisis-response consultant. 3 8
  • Ask CFC which endorsements the land quote includes and whether maritime exposures need a separate policy. 3 8

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

CFC

-/ 10

Review Score

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]

Read CFC reviews

Offering Details

Aon vs CFC: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAon Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion brokerage and risk-advisory offeringCFC Kidnap & Ransom Insurance
Role in This Line

Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.

CFC underwrites a land-based kidnap and ransom (K&R) policy for businesses and their employees, paired with crisis response services, and separately sells a specialist marine K&R product for commercial and leisure maritime activities. 8Company-reported. K&R product page introduction, which explicitly distinguishes the land policy from the separate marine K&R product.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.

The reviewed K&R product page does not name the insurer or Lloyd's syndicate backing the policy. CFC's regulatory page lists CFC-affiliated underwriting vehicles, including its own Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, but does not tie one specifically to K&R. 8,7Not publicly disclosed. Checked the K&R and marine product pages plus CFC's regulatory information page; none names a K&R-specific carrier.

Who It’s For

Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.

Confirm in your quote.

Coverage Features

Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within its professional-services property-and-casualty coverage areas. The page does not describe covered events, response services, limits or policy terms. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.

CFC describes the land K&R policy as offering a broad definition of bodily injury, legal and expense cover, an extended personal accident benefit, and optional endorsements a broker can add for a specific business. 8Company-reported. Key features section of the K&R product page; exact terms are set by the policy as issued.

CFC's marine K&R product is a separate policy covering hijack and seizure of a vessel or kidnap of crew, with combined limits up to USD 25 million for kidnap and ransom and loss of hire, plus standalone loss-of-hire cover available on its own. 9Company-reported. Marine product page description of the marine kidnap and ransom line, distinct from the land K&R policy.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.

The land K&R product page does not publish specific limit amounts; only the marine K&R variant discloses a limit figure (USD 25 million combined for kidnap and ransom and loss of hire). 8,9Not found in reviewed sources. Land K&R page checked on 2026-09-23 does not list numeric limits; marine page separately does.

Risk Services

Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.

Policyholders on both the land and marine K&R products get 24/7 access to expert crisis response consultants through a global response team in the event of an incident. 8,9Company-reported. Key features on both the K&R and marine product pages.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

CFC publishes a downloadable K&R application form alongside the product brochure for brokers or businesses applying for the land K&R policy. 8Company-reported. Downloads section of the K&R product page.

Full Comparison

More Aon vs CFC Comparisons

Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Kidnap & ransom insurance | CFC. CFC; Kidnap & ransom key features; specialist marine K&R product; Downloads: Brochure, Application form. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Marine piracy insurance | CFC. CFC; Marine kidnap and ransom key features: limits up to USD25m, standalone loss of hire. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide

  1. Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot