Alliance Risk vs
USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
USI names CNA as the underwriter of its AICPA professional liability program for CPAs; Alliance Risk's page names no insurer for any profession.
What Is Alliance Risk?
Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 4,5,6
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 10,11,12,13
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Naming the Insurer
USI names the carrier behind its flagship CPA program directly:
USI's own page states that the AICPA Professional Liability Program is "underwritten by CNA," naming the carrier for that specific program. USI's general Business Services E&O placements do not name an insurer. 7Company-reported. Direct quote from the AICPA program page; CNA underwrites only this named program, not USI's other professional-liability placements.
Alliance Risk's page names no insurer for any of the professions it targets, describing only unnamed carrier partnerships. 3
A Long-Running Program Versus a General Practice
USI says it has offered CPA professional liability coverage since 1967 and has been the endorsed AICPA program provider since 1994. Alliance Risk's page describes a general professional liability practice across many professions, including accountants, without a comparable program history for any one profession. 7 3
A Named Risk-Management Tool
USI says AICPA program members get exclusive access to risk-management resources, including engagement-letter templates, alongside claims handling. Alliance Risk describes a broader service set instead: industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis and review of client contracts, without naming a specific template like USI's. 7 3
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- If you're a CPA, confirm your firm qualifies for USI's AICPA program versus its general Business Services E&O placement. 9
- Ask Alliance Risk which specific carrier it is placing your professional liability policy with. 3
- Ask USI for its actual limit options, since the AICPA program page describes customizable coverage without publishing standard limits. 7
- Get Alliance Risk's actual quoted limit, since its page only publishes cost ranges by firm size. 3
Offering Details
Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Alliance Risk Professional Liability Insurance | AICPA Professional Liability Program (USI Affinity) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk places professional liability (errors and omissions, or E&O) coverage as a broker, saying it backs placements with risk-specific underwriting input and carrier partnerships rather than underwriting the policy itself. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page. | For CPA firms, USI runs the AICPA Professional Liability Program through its USI Affinity division as the endorsed producer, rather than underwriting the policy itself. USI's general Business Services practice separately brokers errors and omissions/professional liability coverage for other business types. 7,9Company-reported. AICPA program page and Business Services practice page. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed professional liability page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it refers generally to 'strong carrier partnerships' without identifying a specific carrier. 3Not publicly disclosed. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI's own page states that the AICPA Professional Liability Program is "underwritten by CNA," naming the carrier for that specific program. USI's general Business Services E&O placements do not name an insurer. 7Company-reported. Direct quote from the AICPA program page; CNA underwrites only this named program, not USI's other professional-liability placements. |
| Who It’s For | Alliance Risk targets professional liability at consultants and advisory firms, accountants and tax professionals, architects and engineers, real estate and insurance agents and brokers, marketing and PR agencies, IT and technology consultants, healthcare providers, and financial planners and investment advisors. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting. | USI markets the AICPA program to sole practitioners and regional CPA firms. It has offered CPA coverage since 1967 and has been the endorsed AICPA Program provider since 1994. 7Company-reported. Program page description. |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk lists negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation, and missed deadlines as typically covered, and says bodily injury or property damage, intentional wrongdoing or fraud, employment disputes, cyber incidents, and prior known claims are excluded and belong to other lines such as general liability, EPLI or cyber liability. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page; coverage and exclusions described in general terms, subject to the policy as issued. | USI describes the policy as insuring a CPA and their practice against third-party claims that professional services caused financial harm, providing a defense and paying damages for covered claims arising from high-risk situations tied to new clients, changing business plans, or new laws and regulations. 7Company-reported. Program page description; actual insuring agreements, exclusions and conditions are set by the issued CNA policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed professional liability page gives cost ranges by firm size (for example, solo practitioners at $500-$3,000 a year up to mid-sized to large firms at $10,000-$50,000-plus) but does not publish specific coverage limits, retentions or deductible amounts for this line. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; cost figures are illustrative premium estimates, not published limits. | The AICPA program page does not publish limit, retention or premium figures; it says coverage plans allow a firm to tailor coverage to its risk profile. 7Not publicly disclosed. Page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk describes its approach to professional liability as including industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis, customized policy language, review of client contracts to limit personal exposure, and expertise structuring claims-made policies including tail coverage, prior acts and retroactive dates. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page, Our Approach to Professional Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections. | USI says firms enrolled in the program get supportive claims handling and exclusive access to risk-management resources, including engagement-letter templates, in addition to the coverage itself. 7Company-reported. Program page description. |
| How to Apply | The professional liability page's only application route is a generic 'Get a quote' request; it does not list the specific submission information Alliance Risk asks for on this line, unlike its D&O, EPLI and fiduciary product pages. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI directs CPA firms seeking a quote or renewal to contact USI Affinity, with a dedicated Affinity_APL@usi.com address for the AICPA program specifically. 7Company-reported. Contact instructions on the AICPA program page. |
| Claims Support | Alliance Risk says professional liability clients get access to a legal network and claims experts who understand the client's industry, providing a defense strategy if a claim arises. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Alliance Risk
- About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance. Alliance Risk; Professional Liability Insurance That Safeguards Your Expertise; Our Approach to Professional Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Is Professional Liability Insurance?; What Does/Doesn't Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; How Much Professional Liability Insurance Cost? Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; Technology practice client types, seed-to-IPO range, and listed insurance placement lines including PrivaSafe. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity. USI Insurance Services; Quality Professional Liability Insurance Exclusively for CPA Firms; "The AICPA Professional Liability Program, underwritten by CNA, has been offering coverage to CPAs since 1967 and has been the endorsed provider of the AICPA Program since 1994."; supportive claims handling and exclusive access to extensive risk management resources, including engagement letter templates; Email Affinity_APL@usi.com. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- USI Specialty Program Solutions. USI Insurance Services; USI Affinity delivers high-quality insurance and financial solutions to members of affinity organizations and targeted industry segments...for professional associations, law firms, alumni and collegiate organizations, travel groups, and insurance administrators. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Errors & Omissions/Professional Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.




