Alliance Risk vs HUB International Key Person Insurance

Alliance Risk frames key person as a named-employee lump sum; HUB places it inside executive-benefits packages.

What Is Alliance Risk?

Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2

Read the Alliance Risk profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 4,5,6

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Key Person Insurance?

Key person insurance pays the business, not the person’s family, when a founder, partner or employee it relies on dies. Disability, overhead expense and buyout funding are separate products to discuss on their own. 8,9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Key Person Insurance

Practice Home

HUB brokers key person life and disability inside its executive-benefits practice, alongside private wealth management and other individual coverages, rather than underwriting the policies. Alliance Risk presents a dedicated key-person product page describing a life or disability policy the business buys on an essential employee. Neither reviewed set of pages names the issuing insurer. 7 3

Who Each Practice Is Aimed At

HUB markets key person insurance as part of packages meant to attract and retain C-suite and other high-performing leaders, and its technology-industry page lists key person life and disability among coverages it arranges for technology companies. Alliance Risk lists startups dependent on a founder, venture-backed companies raising capital, sales-driven organizations, professional-services groups, and companies with a public-facing leader, and says lenders or investors often require the coverage. 7 6 3

Benefit Structure Versus Adjacent Individual Coverages

Alliance Risk says the policy typically pays a lump sum on death or disability and can add loan-repayment protection, buy-sell funding, or recruiting costs, and that it does not cover reputational harm or extend beyond the named employee. HUB lists key person life and key person disability as separate offerings next to term or permanent life and individual disability insurance for executives, without publishing those optional riders or the reputational-harm exclusion. 3 7

Services and How You Inquire

HUB says executive-benefits clients, including those buying key person coverage, get access to specialists across retirement services, private wealth, employee benefits, risk services and personal insurance, and directs inquiries to a Contact HUB form. Alliance Risk publishes identification, succession-plan and annual-review guidance for the line rather than a multi-practice specialist roster. HUB’s reviewed pages do not publish benefit amounts. 7 3

What to Confirm in Key Person Insurance Quotes

  • Ask HUB whether key person is quoted inside an executive-benefits package or as a standalone life/disability placement, and which insurer issues it. 7
  • Ask Alliance Risk which optional riders are included and which life insurer is on the policy. 3
  • Confirm benefit amounts; HUB’s pages do not publish them. 7
  • Ask whether HUB’s technology placement or Alliance Risk’s lender-requirement framing matches the reason you need the policy. 6 3

Offering Details

Alliance Risk vs HUB International Key Person Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaKey Person InsuranceHUB International Key Person Life and Disability Insurance
Role in This Line

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB brokers key person life and disability insurance as one line within its executive benefits practice, alongside private wealth management and other individual coverages, rather than underwriting the policies itself. 7Company-reported. Executive benefits product page offerings list; the page does not name an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The dedicated key person page does not name any life or disability insurer that Alliance Risk places this coverage with. 3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the full dedicated product page as read on 2026-09-23; no carrier is identified for this line anywhere on the page.

Neither the executive benefits page nor the technology-industry page names the insurer that issues a key person life or disability policy. 7,6Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Alliance Risk lists startups or small businesses dependent on a founder, venture-backed companies raising institutional capital, sales-driven organizations with one top performer, law firms, consultancies or professional-services groups, and companies with a charismatic public-facing leader as businesses that typically need this coverage, and says lenders or investors often require it during financing rounds. 3Company-reported. Dedicated Alliance Risk product page for this line, as read on 2026-09-23.

HUB markets key person insurance as part of executive benefits packages aimed at organizations seeking to attract and retain C-suite and other high-performing leaders; its technology-industry page separately lists key person life and disability among coverages it arranges for technology companies. 7,6Company-reported. Executive benefits page target-client framing and the technology-industry page's People Protection list; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Alliance Risk describes key person insurance as a life or disability policy a business buys on an essential employee, such as a founder, CEO or top salesperson, that pays the business a lump sum if that person dies or becomes disabled. 3Company-reported. Product page "What Is Key Person Insurance?" section; the issued policy and declarations control actual terms.

Alliance Risk says this coverage typically pays a lump sum to the business on the death or disability of an essential employee, and can optionally add loan-repayment protection, buy-sell funding, or recruiting and onboarding costs for a replacement. 3Company-reported. Product page "What Does Key Person Insurance Cover?" section; the issued policy and declarations control actual terms.

Alliance Risk's page states this coverage does not cover losses from other causes such as reputational harm, does not provide business continuity planning or transition support, and does not extend beyond the specifically named key employee. 3Company-reported. Product page "What Doesn't Key Person Insurance Cover?" section; the issued policy controls actual exclusions.

HUB lists Key Person life insurance and Key Person disability insurance as separate offerings within its executive benefits lineup, alongside term or permanent life insurance and individual disability insurance for executives. 7Company-reported. Executive benefits page offerings list; the reviewed pages do not describe policy terms, exclusions or triggers for either product.

Limits and Retentions

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Published key person life or disability benefit amounts, limits or pricing were not found on the reviewed pages. 7,6Not publicly disclosed. Checked the executive benefits page and technology-industry page on 2026-09-23; amounts depend on underwriting and the client's chosen benefit design.

Risk Services

Alliance Risk publishes risk-management guidance for this line: identify key roles and quantify their business impact, pair the policy with a documented succession plan, cross-train team members to reduce dependency, and review the policy structure annually as the company evolves. 3Company-reported. Product page "Risk Management Tips" section; this is published guidance, not a described policyholder service program.

HUB says clients working on executive benefits, including key person coverage, get access to specialists across retirement services, private wealth management, employee benefits, risk services and personal insurance. 7Company-reported. Executive benefits page specialist description; not specific to a single key person engagement.

How to Apply

Not described in the reviewed sources.

The executive benefits page directs prospective clients to "Contact HUB" through a form rather than describing a self-service quote process for key person coverage. 7Company-reported. Executive benefits page call-to-action text.

Full Comparison

More Alliance Risk vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Key Person Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Alliance Risk

  1. About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Key Person Insurance. Alliance Risk; What Is Key Person Insurance?; Who Needs Key Person Insurance?; What Does Key Person Insurance Cover?; What Doesn't Key Person Insurance Cover?; Risk Management Tips. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; People Protection list: Workers' Compensation, Employee Benefits, Key Person Life & Disability, Retirement Plan Solutions, Kidnap & Ransom. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Executive Benefits Solutions for C-suite. HUB International; Core Executive Benefits Offerings list including Key Person life insurance and Key Person disability insurance; target-client description; Contact HUB call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Key Person Insurance Guide

  1. Small Business Insurance. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Key Person Life Insurance Q&A; Tips & Tools > Key Person Life Insurance; Tips & Tools > Disability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Life Insurance Buyer’s Guide. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Compare policy types p.5; premiums/beneficiary/application p.6; policy review pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Key person protection. Principal; Key person insurance > Key person replacement disability insurance; Key person life insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Specimen Application for Life Insurance. John Hancock Life Insurance Company of New York; filed with SEC; Insured p.1; owner/beneficiary and coverage details p.2; existing/pending pp.3–4; Business Insurance Q36 p.5; declarations p.6. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot