Alliance Risk vs HUB International D&O Insurance

Alliance Risk publishes Side A bands and a free D&O review; HUB brokers D&O through its ProEx practice with attorney-staffed claims support and no published limits.

What Is Alliance Risk?

Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2

Read the Alliance Risk profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 5,6,7

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Management-Liability Marketing Versus ProEx Segments

Alliance Risk and HUB both broker D&O rather than underwrite it. Alliance Risk markets the risk to management-liability specialists. HUB markets D&O through its ProEx practice to private companies, nonprofits and public companies. 3 8 9

HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. Alliance Risk’s reviewed D&O materials also do not name an issuer. 9 3

Published Bands Versus Unpublished Limits

Alliance Risk publishes illustrative Side A limits and premium bands and warns that bundled D&O/EPLI/fiduciary packages often share a single aggregate. HUB’s reviewed D&O and ProEx materials do not publish limits or retentions. 3 4 8 9

HUB describes D&O it arranges as covering personal-asset protection, defense in several types of proceedings, and workplace and employment protection. Alliance Risk lists exclusions it sees, including fraud, criminal acts and often prior acts, and says employment-practices claims typically need separate EPLI. 8 3

Free Review Versus Connect With a Broker and Attorney Claims Staff

Alliance Risk offers a no-charge review of an existing D&O policy and typically delivers proposals within a few business days. HUB directs D&O prospects to connect with a broker rather than an online quote or bind flow. 3 8

HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, from pre-claim wording review through recovery. Alliance Risk’s reviewed D&O materials do not describe a claims-advocacy process. 9 3

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask HUB which ProEx carrier would issue the policy and what Side A/B/C limits would apply, since the public pages do not publish them. 8 9
  • Ask Alliance Risk whether D&O shares a limit with EPLI or fiduciary and which specialist carrier it would market to. 4 3
  • Ask HUB how the Claims & Legal Risks Group would be involved before a claim is noticed. 9
  • Confirm whether employment-related suits sit in D&O or need separate EPLI on each quote. 8 3

Offering Details

Alliance Risk vs HUB International D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAlliance Risk Directors & Officers (D&O) InsuranceHUB International Directors and Officers Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Alliance Risk places D&O insurance as a broker: it reviews a company's existing D&O program and markets the risk to carriers that specialize in management liability. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; Alliance Risk does not underwrite the policy itself.

HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 8,9Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed D&O page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it says Alliance Risk markets a company's risk to carriers that specialize in management liability, so the issuing insurer depends on the placement. 3Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 8,9Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote.

Who It’s For

Alliance Risk says D&O is relevant to venture-backed and public companies, high-risk industries such as fintech, healthcare, real estate and financial services, companies going through M&A, IPO or leadership changes, nonprofits, and small private companies without outside investors. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting.

Alliance Risk says a company should turn on D&O coverage at its first priced funding round, because institutional investment brings personal exposure for directors and officers from day one. 4Company-reported. Management liability page's program-staging guidance, describing D&O specifically among the three bundled lines.

HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 8Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Alliance Risk describes D&O policies it places as having three parts: Side A for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them, Side B reimbursing the company for indemnification costs, and Side C covering the company directly for certain liabilities. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; actual policy structure and whether sides are combined or separately limited depend on the carrier and the policy as issued.

Alliance Risk lists standard D&O exclusions it sees, including fraud and intentional misconduct, criminal acts, bodily injury and property damage, and often prior acts before the policy started; it says employment practices and ERISA benefit-plan claims are typically excluded and need separate EPLI or fiduciary liability coverage. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; exclusion wording varies by carrier and the policy as issued.

HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 8Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 8Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant.

Limits and Retentions

Alliance Risk publishes indicative Side A limit and premium ranges: mid-size companies ($5M-$50M revenue) typically carry $2M-$5M in Side A limits, and larger private companies $5M-$25M or more. It shows overall D&O premium bands from $2,500-$10,000 for small private companies up to $50,000-$500,000 for large private companies, noting fintech, crypto and venture-backed companies often pay 2-3x more. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; illustrative bands, not a quote for any particular company.

Alliance Risk says entry-level management-liability packages that bundle D&O with EPLI and fiduciary often share a single aggregate limit, so a large EPLI or fiduciary settlement earlier in the policy year can reduce what is left for a later D&O claim; it says a specialist broker structures shared versus separate limits to manage that risk. 4Company-reported. Management liability page's discussion of bundled D&O, EPLI and fiduciary programs.

Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 8,9Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

Risk Services

Alliance Risk offers a no-charge review of an existing D&O policy, identifying gaps in the Side A/B/C structure and missing endorsements and comparing the program to market options. 3Company-reported. D&O product page, Get Your D&O Risk Review section.

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 9Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement.

How to Apply

For a D&O quote, Alliance Risk asks for company revenue, industry and stage, board composition, investor structure, current D&O coverage and carrier, five-year claims history and upcoming events such as M&A or an IPO, and says it typically delivers proposals within a few business days. 3Company-reported. D&O product page, What We Need for Your Quote section; timing is a company estimate, not a guarantee.

HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 8Company-reported. D&O product page call to action.

Claims Support

The reviewed D&O page does not describe an Alliance Risk claims-handling or claims-advocacy process; it discusses what a D&O policy covers rather than how Alliance Risk itself supports a claim. 3Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 9Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section.

Full Comparison

More Alliance Risk vs HUB International Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Alliance Risk

  1. About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O). Alliance Risk; D&O Insurance: Protecting Directors and Officers From Personal Liability; The Three Sides of D&O Coverage; What D&O Insurance Does NOT Cover; Who Needs D&O Insurance?; D&O Insurance Cost: What to Expect; How to Buy D&O Insurance; Get Your D&O Risk Review. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together. Alliance Risk; The shared limit problem; How to structure the program as you scale. Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot