Alliance Risk vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Hiscox names its own underwriting insurer for admitted professional liability policies; Alliance Risk's page names no carrier.

What Is Alliance Risk?

Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2

Read the Alliance Risk profile

What Is Hiscox?

Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. 4,5,6

Read the Hiscox profile

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 10,11,12,13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Naming the Insurer

Hiscox's appetite guide names its own underwriting entity for this line:

Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 9,6Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.

Alliance Risk's page describes carrier partnerships without identifying a specific insurer for a placed policy. 3

Buying Directly Online Versus Through a Broker

Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online themselves, with licensed advisors available by phone for questions. Alliance Risk places the policy as a broker, and its reviewed page offers only a generic "Get a quote" request rather than a self-serve purchase flow. 7 3

Where Each One Can Sell

Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that a specialist broker may help where it doesn't sell online. Alliance Risk's page names no comparable state licensing detail for its brokered placements. 9 3

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Confirm Hiscox sells online in your state, since Alaska and any state outside its posted list would need a specialist broker instead. 7
  • Ask Alliance Risk which specific carrier it is placing your professional liability policy with. 3
  • Get Hiscox's actual quoted limit and retention, since its pages publish figures only at quote time, and compare against Alliance Risk's cost-range estimate. 8 3
  • Ask whether your claim would be covered under Hiscox's claims-made trigger if it surfaces after you cancel or switch carriers. 8

Offering Details

Alliance Risk vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAlliance Risk Professional Liability InsuranceHiscox Professional Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

Alliance Risk places professional liability (errors and omissions, or E&O) coverage as a broker, saying it backs placements with risk-specific underwriting input and carrier partnerships rather than underwriting the policy itself. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page.

Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. 6,7Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed professional liability page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it refers generally to 'strong carrier partnerships' without identifying a specific carrier. 3Not publicly disclosed. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 9,6Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.

Who It’s For

Alliance Risk targets professional liability at consultants and advisory firms, accountants and tax professionals, architects and engineers, real estate and insurance agents and brokers, marketing and PR agencies, IT and technology consultants, healthcare providers, and financial planners and investment advisors. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting.

Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. 7,9Company-reported. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant.

Coverage Features

Alliance Risk lists negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation, and missed deadlines as typically covered, and says bodily injury or property damage, intentional wrongdoing or fraud, employment disputes, cyber incidents, and prior known claims are excluded and belong to other lines such as general liability, EPLI or cyber liability. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page; coverage and exclusions described in general terms, subject to the policy as issued.

Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. 8Company-reported. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed professional liability page gives cost ranges by firm size (for example, solo practitioners at $500-$3,000 a year up to mid-sized to large firms at $10,000-$50,000-plus) but does not publish specific coverage limits, retentions or deductible amounts for this line. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; cost figures are illustrative premium estimates, not published limits.

The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. 7,8Not publicly disclosed. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed.

Risk Services

Alliance Risk describes its approach to professional liability as including industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis, customized policy language, review of client contracts to limit personal exposure, and expertise structuring claims-made policies including tail coverage, prior acts and retroactive dates. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page, Our Approach to Professional Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

The professional liability page's only application route is a generic 'Get a quote' request; it does not list the specific submission information Alliance Risk asks for on this line, unlike its D&O, EPLI and fiduciary product pages. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. 7Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application.

Claims Support

Alliance Risk says professional liability clients get access to a legal network and claims experts who understand the client's industry, providing a defense strategy if a claim arises. 3Company-reported. Professional liability product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section.

A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. 8Company-reported. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time.

Full Comparison

More Alliance Risk vs Hiscox Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Alliance Risk

  1. About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Professional Liability Insurance. Alliance Risk; Professional Liability Insurance That Safeguards Your Expertise; Our Approach to Professional Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Is Professional Liability Insurance?; What Does/Doesn't Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; How Much Professional Liability Insurance Cost? Accessed 2026-09-23.

Hiscox

  1. Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot