Alliance Risk vs
Coverdash D&O Insurance
Alliance Risk reviews existing D&O programs and publishes Side A bands; Coverdash arranges standalone D&O through a digital quote-to-purchase flow without published limits.
What Is Alliance Risk?
Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2
What Is Coverdash Insurance?
Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 5,6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Program Review Versus Digital Purchase
Alliance Risk and Coverdash both arrange D&O as brokers rather than insurers; neither D&O page names the issuing insurer. Alliance Risk reviews a company’s existing D&O program and markets the risk to management-liability specialists, offering a no-charge review that identifies gaps in Side A/B/C structure and missing endorsements. Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. Alliance Risk says it typically delivers proposals within a few business days after collecting board, investor and claims information. 3 7 8
Standalone Product Versus Shared-Limit Warning
Coverdash sells standalone D&O separately from a bundled management-liability product that can add employment-practices, fiduciary and crime cover. Alliance Risk says entry-level packages that bundle D&O with EPLI and fiduciary often share a single aggregate, so an earlier settlement can reduce what is left for a later D&O claim. 8 4
Coverdash says D&O is frequently required as a condition of funding for any company with a board, investors or executives. Alliance Risk times coverage to the first priced funding round and also lists companies without outside investors. 8 3 4
Published Bands Versus Unpublished Limits
Alliance Risk publishes illustrative Side A limits and premium bands and describes Side A/B/C plus standard exclusions it sees. Coverdash describes protection against claims that a leadership decision caused financial harm, investor or shareholder suits, and regulatory investigations, paying defense costs and settlements for covered claims. The Coverdash directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 3 8
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask both which carrier would issue the policy. 3 8
- Ask Coverdash whether you are quoting standalone D&O or the management-liability bundle, and whether limits are shared. 8
- Ask Alliance Risk whether D&O shares a limit with EPLI or fiduciary on the marketed form. 4
- Get dollar limits and retentions from Coverdash, which the public D&O page does not show. 8
Offering Details
Alliance Risk vs Coverdash D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Alliance Risk Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance | Coverdash Directors & Officers Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk places D&O insurance as a broker: it reviews a company's existing D&O program and markets the risk to carriers that specialize in management liability. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; Alliance Risk does not underwrite the policy itself. | Coverdash arranges standalone directors and officers coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 7,8Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the D&O page; not specific to any one carrier or state. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed D&O page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it says Alliance Risk markets a company's risk to carriers that specialize in management liability, so the issuing insurer depends on the placement. 3Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. | The directors and officers page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 8Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier. |
| Who It’s For | Alliance Risk says D&O is relevant to venture-backed and public companies, high-risk industries such as fintech, healthcare, real estate and financial services, companies going through M&A, IPO or leadership changes, nonprofits, and small private companies without outside investors. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting. Alliance Risk says a company should turn on D&O coverage at its first priced funding round, because institutional investment brings personal exposure for directors and officers from day one. 4Company-reported. Management liability page's program-staging guidance, describing D&O specifically among the three bundled lines. | Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, and that it is frequently required as a condition of funding. 8Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific funding or governance situation. |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk describes D&O policies it places as having three parts: Side A for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them, Side B reimbursing the company for indemnification costs, and Side C covering the company directly for certain liabilities. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; actual policy structure and whether sides are combined or separately limited depend on the carrier and the policy as issued. Alliance Risk lists standard D&O exclusions it sees, including fraud and intentional misconduct, criminal acts, bodily injury and property damage, and often prior acts before the policy started; it says employment practices and ERISA benefit-plan claims are typically excluded and need separate EPLI or fiduciary liability coverage. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; exclusion wording varies by carrier and the policy as issued. | Coverdash describes directors and officers coverage as protecting the company's directors, officers and the company itself against claims that a leadership decision caused financial harm, suits from investors or shareholders, and regulatory investigations, and pays defense costs and settlements for covered claims. 8Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions. Coverdash sells this standalone Directors & Officers product separately from its bundled management liability product, which adds optional employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverage on top of the D&O core. 8Company-reported. Comparison of the directors-and-officers and management-liability product pages; does not establish which structure is cheaper or better suited to a given company. |
| Limits and Retentions | Alliance Risk publishes indicative Side A limit and premium ranges: mid-size companies ($5M-$50M revenue) typically carry $2M-$5M in Side A limits, and larger private companies $5M-$25M or more. It shows overall D&O premium bands from $2,500-$10,000 for small private companies up to $50,000-$500,000 for large private companies, noting fintech, crypto and venture-backed companies often pay 2-3x more. 3Company-reported. D&O product page; illustrative bands, not a quote for any particular company. Alliance Risk says entry-level management-liability packages that bundle D&O with EPLI and fiduciary often share a single aggregate limit, so a large EPLI or fiduciary settlement earlier in the policy year can reduce what is left for a later D&O claim; it says a specialist broker structures shared versus separate limits to manage that risk. 4Company-reported. Management liability page's discussion of bundled D&O, EPLI and fiduciary programs. | The directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 8Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page. |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk offers a no-charge review of an existing D&O policy, identifying gaps in the Side A/B/C structure and missing endorsements and comparing the program to market options. 3Company-reported. D&O product page, Get Your D&O Risk Review section. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | For a D&O quote, Alliance Risk asks for company revenue, industry and stage, board composition, investor structure, current D&O coverage and carrier, five-year claims history and upcoming events such as M&A or an IPO, and says it typically delivers proposals within a few business days. 3Company-reported. D&O product page, What We Need for Your Quote section; timing is a company estimate, not a guarantee. | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 8Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section. |
| Claims Support | The reviewed D&O page does not describe an Alliance Risk claims-handling or claims-advocacy process; it discusses what a D&O policy covers rather than how Alliance Risk itself supports a claim. 3Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Alliance Risk vs Coverdash Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Alliance Risk
- About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O). Alliance Risk; D&O Insurance: Protecting Directors and Officers From Personal Liability; The Three Sides of D&O Coverage; What D&O Insurance Does NOT Cover; Who Needs D&O Insurance?; D&O Insurance Cost: What to Expect; How to Buy D&O Insurance; Get Your D&O Risk Review. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together. Alliance Risk; The shared limit problem; How to structure the program as you scale. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Coverdash
- Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Directors & Officers Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Management decisions, Investor and shareholder claims, Regulatory actions, Legal defense; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Directors & Officers separately from Management Liability, D&O Side A and the D&O + EPLI Bundle. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.




