Alliance Risk vs
Aon: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
What Is Alliance Risk?
Alliance Risk suits tech startups from pre-seed through IPO that want a broker to review their tech E&O policy for free and shop specialist insurers; if you want to buy online in minutes, use a digital insurer. Quotes take 24 hours to ten business days, depending on your risk. 1,2,3
Read the Alliance Risk profile
Read the Alliance Risk Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Aon?
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 5,6
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Coverage Structure and Evidence
Alliance Risk lists negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation and missed deadlines as typical E&O allegations, while calling out bodily injury, cyber incidents, employment disputes and known claims as exclusions routed to other lines. Aon says its professional-services practice tailors professional-liability coverage structures to a firm’s needs but does not publish comparable claim examples or exclusions. Buyers should use Alliance Risk’s list to test the actual form and ask Aon to identify its proposed coverage triggers and carve-outs. 4 7
Buyer Fit and Placement
The stated audience is also distinct: Alliance Risk names consultants, accountants, architects, real-estate and insurance professionals, technology advisers, healthcare providers and more; Aon names law, accounting and consulting firms. Alliance Risk gives indicative premium ranges by firm size but no limits, and Aon provides no specific pricing or limits. Neither names an account carrier. Compare quote-level limit, retention, insurer and exclusions rather than the broad brokerage descriptions. 4 7
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Alliance Risk
Review Score
Alliance Risk has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. That says nothing bad about the company; it means you'll need to ask for references.[1][4][6]
Read Alliance Risk reviewsAon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsOffering Details
Alliance Risk vs Aon: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Alliance Risk Professional Liability Insurance | Aon Professional Liability / E&O brokerage and risk-advisory offering |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk places professional liability (errors and omissions, or E&O) coverage as a broker, saying it backs placements with risk-specific underwriting input and carrier partnerships rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page. | Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 7Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed professional liability page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it refers generally to 'strong carrier partnerships' without identifying a specific carrier. 4Not publicly disclosed. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 7Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement. |
| Who It’s For | Alliance Risk targets professional liability at consultants and advisory firms, accountants and tax professionals, architects and engineers, real estate and insurance agents and brokers, marketing and PR agencies, IT and technology consultants, healthcare providers, and financial planners and investment advisors. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting. | Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 7Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement. |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk lists negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation, and missed deadlines as typically covered, and says bodily injury or property damage, intentional wrongdoing or fraud, employment disputes, cyber incidents, and prior known claims are excluded and belong to other lines such as general liability, EPLI or cyber liability. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page; coverage and exclusions described in general terms, subject to the policy as issued. | Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. 7Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed professional liability page gives cost ranges by firm size (for example, solo practitioners at $500-$3,000 a year up to mid-sized to large firms at $10,000-$50,000-plus) but does not publish specific coverage limits, retentions or deductible amounts for this line. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; cost figures are illustrative premium estimates, not published limits. | The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 7Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed. |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk describes its approach to professional liability as including industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis, customized policy language, review of client contracts to limit personal exposure, and expertise structuring claims-made policies including tail coverage, prior acts and retroactive dates. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page, Our Approach to Professional Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections. | Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 7Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated. |
| How to Apply | The professional liability page's only application route is a generic 'Get a quote' request; it does not list the specific submission information Alliance Risk asks for on this line, unlike its D&O, EPLI and fiduciary product pages. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Claims Support | Alliance Risk says professional liability clients get access to a legal network and claims experts who understand the client's industry, providing a defense strategy if a claim arises. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More Alliance Risk vs Aon Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Alliance Risk
- Technology Insurance. Alliance Risk; What is Technology Insurance?; Types of Technology; Types of Coverage; startup placement introduction; quote documents and process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get a Quote. Alliance Risk; Request form; Prefer to Call?; Why Alliance Risk? section. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance. Alliance Risk; Professional Liability Insurance That Safeguards Your Expertise; Our Approach to Professional Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Is Professional Liability Insurance?; What Does/Doesn't Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; How Much Professional Liability Insurance Cost? Accessed 2026-09-23.
Aon
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





