THREE by Berkshire Hathaway vs USI Insurance Services: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

USI describes PrivaSafe with up to $10 million in coverage, up to $2 million for notification costs outside the aggregate, and $250,000 of defense costs outside the limit. THREE lists cyber liability within its package but leaves line limits to the quote. 3,2,7

THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes

THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 1,2

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Cyber Insurance page

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI suits software and hardware companies from seed stage through IPO seeking consultative broker support; buyers wanting a self-serve quote should compare digital agencies. Insurer commissions are typical and contingent compensation may also apply. 4,5,6

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

Read the USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance page

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 9,10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

Coverage structure and eligible buyers

USI’s PrivaSafe names liability, compliance, and direct-cost categories, including interruption, data reconstruction, extortion, regulatory, and payment-card expenses. THREE lists Cyber Liability in its Business Owners Policy without itemizing these agreements. Ask THREE for the full cyber form; with USI, determine how the published sublimits apply to your proposed aggregate. 7 3

Purchase route and policy detail

USI focuses PrivaSafe on middle-market firms and asks for current policies, major vulnerabilities, and audited financials to assess exposure. THREE offers a small-business online package quote with licensed advisor assistance. The application effort reflects different buyer segments; confirm USI’s proposal timeline and whether your business fits THREE’s package eligibility. 7 1

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • For USI, confirm which insurer issues the manuscripted program and how notification and defense amounts sit outside its aggregate. 7
  • For THREE, obtain the cyber limit, deductible, insurer, and itemized first-party and liability terms. 2

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway and USI Insurance Services Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Score

7.3/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]

Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviews

USI Insurance Services Review Score

6.4/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

USI’s public feedback is too sparse and office-specific for a firmwide verdict. Check the local team’s responsiveness and experience with your type of business.[4][6][8]

Read USI Insurance Services reviews

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Compared

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway vs USI Insurance Services: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaTHREE Business Owners PolicyUSI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program
Role in This Line

THREE presents Cyber as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 3Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.

USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 7,5Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages.

Issuing Insurer

The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 2Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.

USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 7Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found.

Who It’s For

The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Cyber; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 3,1Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.

USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 7Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Cyber Liability among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 3,2Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Cyber. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.

USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 7Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Cyber; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 3,2Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 7Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.

Risk Services

Confirm in your quote.

USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 7,8Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description.

How to Apply

THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 1Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Cyber will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.

To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 7Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description.

Related Pages for THREE by Berkshire Hathaway vs USI Insurance Services

Cyber Pages for THREE by Berkshire Hathaway and USI Insurance Services

Other Coverage Lines Compared for THREE by Berkshire Hathaway vs USI Insurance Services

Other Cyber Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for THREE by Berkshire Hathaway vs USI Insurance Services

Sources About THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  1. Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  2. The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  3. Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Sources About USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot