RiskCube vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance

RiskCube shops D&O across carriers after a 10-minute intake; TechInsurance publishes a $133 median and Side A/B/C.

What Is RiskCube Insurance?

RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 1,2,3

Read the RiskCube profile

What Is TechInsurance?

TechInsurance is a small-business insurance agency and brokerage with a technology focus, offering online quote comparison and agent assistance through the Insureon organization. 5,6

Read the TechInsurance profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 8

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Shopping Multiple Carriers Versus a Quoted Product Path

RiskCube compares D&O across carriers as an independent brokerage and says coverage is issued by unnamed third-party carriers. TechInsurance arranges D&O as a standalone policy or as an endorsement to general liability or a business owner’s policy, and its reviewed sources do not name the issuing insurer. 4 3 7

RiskCube’s process is a market comparison after intake. TechInsurance’s path is a product quote that may sit on general liability or a BOP. 4 7

Structure, Trigger and Exclusions

Both RiskCube and TechInsurance describe Side A, Side B and Side C. TechInsurance adds that Side C is mainly for public-company securities claims and that D&O is claims-made. 4 7

TechInsurance excludes criminal acts such as fraud or embezzlement. RiskCube lists common exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation and insured-versus-insured disputes, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier. RiskCube’s reviewed sources do not label the form claims-made. 7 4

Price, Speed and Who It Is For

TechInsurance says policyholders pay a median of $133 per month. RiskCube does not publish specific limit or retention amounts and says limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations. 7 4

RiskCube targets startups raising institutional funding or adding board members and describes quotes in one to two business days after a short digital intake. TechInsurance names employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups and nonprofits. RiskCube also says it checks AI-company D&O policies for AI-related exclusions before binding, which TechInsurance’s reviewed sources do not describe. 4 7

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask whether TechInsurance would bind standalone D&O or an endorsement, and whether RiskCube would shop multiple carriers for the same structure. 7 4

  • Treat $133 as TechInsurance’s book median, not your premium. 7

  • Confirm claims-made retro dates and insured-versus-insured wording on both specimens. 7 4

  • Get the issuing insurer from both. 3 7

Offering Details

RiskCube vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaRiskCube Directors and Officers (D&O) InsuranceTechInsurance Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O)
Role in This Line

RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 4Company-reported. D&O product page footer and general framing of the coverage as "tailored D&O coverage" it provides access to, not a self-underwritten product.

TechInsurance arranges directors and officers (D&O) insurance, a type of management liability insurance, and says it can be purchased as a standalone policy or as an endorsement to a general liability policy or business owner's policy. 7Company-reported. D&O product page.

Issuing Insurer

RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including D&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the D&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 3,4Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for a D&O policy. 7Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

RiskCube targets D&O at startups raising institutional funding rounds or adding board members, and at regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors and boards increasingly require D&O as a closing condition. 4Company-reported. D&O product page "Who needs D&O insurance" section.

TechInsurance targets D&O at companies with an active board, naming employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups (where investor term sheets often require the coverage), and nonprofits (where most states require a board of directors) as examples. 7Company-reported. D&O product page, Who needs D&O insurance coverage? section.

Coverage Features

RiskCube describes a typical private-company D&O program as combining Side A coverage (individual directors and officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B coverage (reimbursing the company after it indemnifies leadership) and Side C coverage (protecting the company itself). 4Company-reported. D&O product page coverage explanation.

RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier and policy wording. 4Company-reported. D&O product page "Common Exclusions" section.

TechInsurance says D&O covers legal costs when directors, board members or officers are sued over employment practices, fund mismanagement, failure to follow corporate bylaws, regulatory non-compliance, or IP infringement or libel tied to their decisions, and structures coverage into Side A (personal protection), Side B (company reimbursement) and Side C (entity coverage, mainly for public-company securities claims). 7Company-reported. D&O product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form.

TechInsurance says D&O is a claims-made policy, meaning coverage applies only if the policy is active when a claim is made, and that criminal acts by directors or officers, such as fraud or embezzlement, are excluded. 7Company-reported. D&O product page, How does directors and officers insurance work? and exclusions sections.

Limits and Retentions

RiskCube says needed D&O limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 4Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page "How much D&O insurance do startups need" FAQ.

TechInsurance says D&O policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with the exact premium depending on policy limits, deductible, legal jurisdiction, industry risk, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. 7Company-reported. D&O product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.

Risk Services

RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 4Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically returning D&O quotes within one to two business days and proof of coverage in about 24 hours after a policy is selected. 4Company-reported. D&O product page process steps and "How fast can we get D and O insurance quotes" FAQ.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Claims Support

The reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 4Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More RiskCube vs TechInsurance Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

RiskCube

  1. Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs D&O; Side A/B/C coverage explanation; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.

TechInsurance

  1. About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) Quotes Online. TechInsurance; What does directors and officers insurance cover? (employment practices, mismanaged funds, corporate bylaws, regulatory compliance, IP infringement); What does side A, B, and C mean in D&O insurance?; How much does directors and officers insurance cost?; How do you get a certificate of insurance? (standalone or endorsement). Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot