ERGO NEXT Insurance vs
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
What Is ERGO NEXT Insurance?
ERGO NEXT fits small businesses that want to quote, buy and manage general liability, workers' comp or a BOP online; if you need commercial auto, bonds or complex specialty cover, you'll be sent to partners or should use a broker. Staff-handled policy changes can take 7–10 business days. 1,2,3
Read the ERGO NEXT Insurance profile
Read the ERGO NEXT Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes
THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 5,6
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Standalone Online Purchase and Certificate
ERGO NEXT sells professional liability as a standalone online policy, describing a roughly 10-minute quote, coverage customization and an instantly available certificate. THREE includes E&O among the coverage categories in its BOP and offers an online quote with licensed Small Business Advisors available to assist. If a client contract requires proof quickly, compare the certificate produced by ERGO NEXT with the timing and E&O selection in THREE's package process. 4 7 5
Coverage and Subcontractor Treatment
ERGO NEXT describes coverage for professional errors that cost clients money, negligence, misrepresentation and defense costs; it says employees are covered by default, subcontractors typically are not, and prior-acts coverage may be available in select cases. THREE markets E&O within the BOP but leaves the actual terms to its issued forms. A business using contractors should compare named-insured wording, prior work and exclusions instead of treating the package label as confirmation. 4 6 7
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Ask ERGO NEXT for the limit, deductible, subcontractor treatment and any retroactive date; its page publishes no standard limit figures. 4
- Ask THREE whether E&O is selected and identify its limit, deductible and certificate timing in the package proposal. 7 5
- Compare each form's response to contractor errors, prior work, bodily injury and property damage. 4 6
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
ERGO NEXT Insurance
Review Score
5 rated sources
NEXT’s favorable ratings come with a warning: NerdWallet reports more commercial liability complaints than expected. Check complaint handling and support before relying on its headline scores.[1][4][6][7][10]
Read ERGO NEXT Insurance reviewsTHREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Review Score
2 rated sources
The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]
Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviewsOffering Details
ERGO NEXT Insurance vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | ERGO NEXT Professional Liability Insurance | THREE Business Owners Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | ERGO NEXT sells professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions insurance, as a standalone online policy. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. | THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 7Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant. |
| Issuing Insurer | The professional liability page does not name an issuing insurer for this line; the carrier for a specific policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23. | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 6Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | ERGO NEXT targets this line at offices and professionals, construction, food and beverage, and retail and e-commerce businesses, naming business consultants, accountants, financial professionals, engineers and architects as example professions. 4Company-reported. Product page industry and profession list; not a complete underwriting appetite by state. | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 7,5Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms. |
| Coverage Features | ERGO NEXT says the policy addresses business errors that cost clients money, claims of professional negligence, misrepresentation causing financial harm, and legal defense costs. 4Company-reported. Product page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim. ERGO NEXT lists the policy as excluding intentional wrongdoing and illegal activity, property damage or bodily injury (covered by general liability instead), false advertising, employee work injuries and vehicle accidents. 4Company-reported. Product page exclusions summary. | THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 7,6Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | Published coverage limits or deductibles were not found on the professional liability product page; only illustrative starting pricing is shown, and the page notes an up to 10% discount for bundling with an existing ERGO NEXT policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23. | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 7,6Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible. |
| Risk Services | ERGO NEXT says employees are covered under the policy by default, subcontractors typically are not, prior-acts coverage is available in select cases, and additional-insured designations are permitted. 4Company-reported. Product page policy-structure notes. | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | ERGO NEXT describes a roughly 10-minute online quote, coverage customization, and a fully online purchase with an instantly available certificate of insurance. 4Company-reported. Product page quote-flow description. | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 5Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy. |
Full Comparison
More ERGO NEXT Insurance vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
ERGO NEXT Insurance
- Business Insurance for Small Businesses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Primary coverage selector; intended customers; product descriptions; online quote, purchase, documents, certificate and claims sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Commercial Auto hero; Progressive partner disclosure and external quote link; appointed-agent availability limitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- My Account FAQs. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Electronic documents; policy and payment changes; cancellation; certificates and additional insureds. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Professional Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; What is Professional Liability insurance? (also called errors & omissions insurance); target industries and professions; exclusions; three-step quote process; bundling discount; claims filing. Accessed 2026-09-23.
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
- Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





