ERGO NEXT Insurance vs
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Business Owner’s Policy?
What Is ERGO NEXT Insurance?
ERGO NEXT fits small businesses that want to quote, buy and manage general liability, workers' comp or a BOP online; if you need commercial auto, bonds or complex specialty cover, you'll be sent to partners or should use a broker. Staff-handled policy changes can take 7–10 business days. 1,2,3
THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes
THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 7,8
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Business Owner’s Policy page
What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?
A BOP may suit an eligible small business that wants property, liability and lost-income protection together. If you also need auto, workers’ compensation or professional liability, plan for separate coverage. 10,11
Key Differences in Business Owner’s Policy
Published eligibility and limits
ERGO NEXT’s August 2026 guide lists professions across beauty, cleaning, creative services, education, food, health, fitness, retail, and professional services. It states program ceilings of $5 million in revenue and $5 million total insured value, while noting that the consumer page does not publish per-claim limits. THREE’s reviewed BOP page does not give matching eligibility thresholds or limits. A business near either ceiling should ask each provider for the exact eligible class and declarations before comparing price. 5 4 9
Online application and coverage specifics
ERGO NEXT describes a roughly ten-minute online quote, customization, and purchase after application and carrier approval; it says an instant certificate follows a completed approved application. Its BOP can cover property, liability, business income, and defense costs, with equipment failure as an optional add-on. THREE also offers an online quote and advisor assistance, but its public BOP description does not spell out these protections or quote timing. Compare the actual binding conditions and equipment-breakdown terms. 4 7 9
What to Confirm in Business Owner’s Policy Quotes
- Confirm ERGO NEXT’s eligibility class, revenue and property ceilings, and per-claim limits for your risk. 5
- Ask THREE for equivalent limits, exclusions, and included coverages in the quote. 9
- Ask both what approval is required before coverage binds and whether equipment breakdown is included or optional. 4 7
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
ERGO NEXT Insurance
Review Score
5 rated sources
NEXT’s favorable ratings come with a warning: NerdWallet reports more commercial liability complaints than expected. Check complaint handling and support before relying on its headline scores.[1][4][6][7][10]
Read ERGO NEXT Insurance reviewsTHREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Review Score
2 rated sources
The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]
Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviewsOffering Details
ERGO NEXT Insurance vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Business Owner’s Policy: documented features by provider
| Criteria | ERGO NEXT Business Owner's Policy | THREE Business Owners Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | ERGO NEXT sells its business owner's policy as a package that combines general liability and commercial property in one online policy. 4Company-reported. Business owner's policy product page as read 2026-09-23. | THREE presents its Business Owners Policy as a combined product containing multiple business coverage categories. 9Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant. |
| Issuing Insurer | The BOP page says policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the issuing insurance company, without naming that company on the product page. 4Company-reported. Product page legal footer; the specific carrier for a policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations. | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 8Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | ERGO NEXT's August 2026 BOP coverage guide lists target professions across categories including beauty and personal care, cleaning and janitorial, creative services, education, food and beverage, health and wellness, sports and fitness, retail, and professional services. 5Company-reported. Agent-facing coverage guide dated August 20, 2026; profession and state availability are subject to change and underwriting. | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Business Owners Policy; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 9,7Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms. |
| Coverage Features | ERGO NEXT says the BOP can cover theft of business gear, property and inventory damage, business income interruption, medical fees for non-employee injuries, and legal defense costs, with equipment failure available as an optional add-on. 4Company-reported. Product page coverage list; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim. ERGO NEXT lists the BOP as excluding employee or owner work injuries, professional errors, business vehicles and cyber attacks; those need workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto or a cyber add-on instead. 4Company-reported. Product page exclusions summary. | THREE labels its combined product a Business Owners Policy and describes multiple business coverages in one policy. The reviewed product page does not establish the exact protections included in a particular quote or issued contract. 9,8Company-reported. Company's description of the U.S. packaged product; a product name is not a policy entitlement. The buyer's state-specific quote, declarations, and forms control. |
| Limits and Retentions | The BOP coverage guide states a program revenue limit of $5 million and a maximum total insured value of $5 million. The consumer product page does not itself publish per-claim liability or property limits. 5,4Company-reported. Program-level caps from the agent-facing coverage guide; actual policy limits for a given business are set on the quote and declarations. | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Business Owners Policy; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 9,8Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible. |
| How to Apply | ERGO NEXT describes a roughly 10-minute online quote, coverage customization, and a fully online purchase that it says can take effect immediately and provide an instant certificate of insurance after a complete application and carrier underwriting approval; a premium payment alone does not bind coverage. 4,6Company-reported. Product page quote-flow description; the roughly 10-minute timing was not independently tested. Terms require a complete application and carrier underwriting approval, and payment alone does not bind coverage. | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 7Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Business Owners Policy will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy. |
Full Comparison
More ERGO NEXT Insurance vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Comparisons
Other Business Owner’s Policy Comparisons
Sources
ERGO NEXT Insurance
- Business Insurance for Small Businesses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Primary coverage selector; intended customers; product descriptions; online quote, purchase, documents, certificate and claims sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Commercial Auto hero; Progressive partner disclosure and external quote link; appointed-agent availability limitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- My Account FAQs. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Electronic documents; policy and payment changes; cancellation; certificates and additional insureds. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner's Policy (BOP Insurance). ERGO NEXT Insurance; General Liability plus Commercial Property in one package; what BOP covers; who needs BOP most; exclusions; three-step quote process; issuing-insurer footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Business Owners' Policy Coverage Guide — August 20, 2026. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Target Professions list by category (beauty and personal care, cleaning, creative services, education, food and beverage, health and wellness, sports and fitness, retail, professional services); "Business Owner's Policy - Revenue limit: $5M and Max TIV: $5M". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Terms of Service. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Last revised June 29, 2026; §§1, 5–7, 11, 13, 15, 18 and 23 (entities, limited availability, electronic documents, agents and carriers, underwriting, fees, payment and cancellation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
- Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Business Owner’s Policy Guide
- Small Business. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; FAQ: What’s a business owners policy?; What’s general liability insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets. Accessed 2026-09-16.





