Nationwide vs USI Insurance Services: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

USI states up to $10 million for certain uninsured losses, plus up to $2 million notification costs outside the aggregate; Nationwide publishes no standard cyber limits in its overview. 4,8

What Is Nationwide?

Nationwide’s commercial catalogue includes common small-business policies and separate specialty products. A catalogue listing does not establish eligibility or policy terms; confirm the issuing company and coverage for your state and business. 1,2,3

Read the Nationwide profile

Read the Nationwide Cyber Insurance page

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI suits software and hardware companies from seed stage through IPO seeking consultative broker support; buyers wanting a self-serve quote should compare digital agencies. Insurer commissions are typical and contingent compensation may also apply. 5,6,7

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

Read the USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance page

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

USI Publishes Distinct Limit Components

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million of notification costs outside the policy aggregate, and provides $250,000 of defense-cost coverage outside the limit, with more limit available. Nationwide’s overview publishes no universal limit or retention. These figures describe the program, not an individual offer; compare the actual limits and how each cost affects the aggregate. 4 8

PrivaSafe Lists a Broad Cost Structure

USI describes PrivaSafe as addressing liability, compliance and corrective expenses, and direct costs such as interruption, data reconstruction, extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational-harm income loss and cybercrime. Nationwide’s overview refers generally to attack and breach expenses without listing these categories. Ask Nationwide’s agent to map its form against your scenarios and ask USI which features are manuscripted into your proposal. 4 8

USI Requests Specific Preparation for Its Review

USI asks cyber prospects to bring existing policies, their largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities and recent audited financials for an exposure review. Nationwide directs buyers to an agent or quote request without publishing comparable materials. This gives USI applicants a clearer preparation list; ask Nationwide what documentation and control details its underwriting process requires. 4 8

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • Ask USI which notification and defense expenses sit outside the aggregate and whether the stated $10 million capacity fits your risk; obtain Nationwide’s exact limit structure. 8 4
  • Compare pre- and post-breach services, insurer, retention, interruption terms and the documents required for underwriting. 8 4

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Nationwide

7.8/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Experts like Nationwide more than customers do. NerdWallet gives it 4.5 out of 5 for business insurance, while small-business customers on ConsumerAffairs give it 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews.[1][10]

Read Nationwide reviews

USI Insurance Services

6.4/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

USI’s public feedback is too sparse and office-specific for a firmwide verdict. Check the local team’s responsiveness and experience with your type of business.[4][6][8]

Read USI Insurance Services reviews

Offering Details

Nationwide vs USI Insurance Services: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaNationwide cyber (official overview)USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program
Role in This Line

Nationwide describes offering cyber for the audience stated on the cited product page. 4Company-reported. cyber marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 8,6Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found.

Who It’s For

Businesses addressing cyber and data-breach risks; specific eligibility and coverage depend on quote and policy. 4Company-reported. cyber marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 8Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

The cited product page describes cyber liability and data-breach insurance addressing expenses associated with a cyberattack or data breach. Marketing description only; actual coverage, exclusions, conditions, limits, and availability depend on the issued policy and jurisdiction. 4Company-reported. cyber marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form.

Limits and Retentions

The cited overview does not set a universal limit or retention for this line. Ask for the proposed policy form, limits, retentions, exclusions, and conditions in the quote. 4Not publicly disclosed. Only the cited marketing page was reviewed for published limit and retention information; no policy-form entitlement is inferred.

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.

Risk Services

Confirm in your quote.

USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 8,9Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description.

How to Apply

The page directs prospective customers to contact an agent or request a quote. The page does not establish a quote, bind, or coverage-effective timeline. 4Company-reported. cyber marketed by nationwide; scope is limited to the cited official product overview and described audience. This is not a policy form or a universal eligibility statement.

To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description.

Full Comparison

More Nationwide vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Nationwide

  1. Small Business Insurance. Nationwide; Small business products and solutions, lines 185–214: BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety; purchase guidance lines 235–247. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Small Business Insurance Solutions for Agents. Nationwide; Specialized small commercial solutions: BOP, auto, workers’ compensation, cyber, EPLI, umbrella, inland marine and professional liability; page states appetite varies by state, lines 129–163, 191–193. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Terms and Conditions for Nationwide.com. Nationwide; P&C products not offered by all companies/states; policy/declarations control; NMI and affiliates may underwrite; each underwriter responsible for own products, lines 358–368 and 391–394. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Cyber Liability & Data Breach Insurance. Nationwide; Cyber liability page; cyberattack/data-breach coverage overview and response resources. Accessed 2026-09-30.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot