Liberty Mutual vs TechInsurance: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as a combined package. TechInsurance says D&O can be standalone or an endorsement and describes Side A, B and C coverage. 3,7

What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?

Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 1,2

Read the Liberty Mutual profile

Read the Liberty Mutual D&O Insurance page

What Is TechInsurance?

TechInsurance fits freelancers and small software, SaaS and IT firms that want to compare several insurers' quotes from one application, with agent help and a tech E&O plus cyber bundle. Growth-stage companies needing a managed renewal program or firm quote deadlines should look at specialist brokers. 4,5,6

Read the TechInsurance profile

Read the TechInsurance D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 8,9,10

Read the full coverage guide

What Are the Key Differences Between Liberty Mutual and TechInsurance D&O Insurance?

Specific features in the reviewed records

TechInsurance says D&O can be purchased standalone or added as an endorsement to general liability or a business owner’s policy, and describes Side A, B and C protection. Liberty Mutual instead describes ProShield as a single management-liability package. A buyer should compare the standalone or endorsement route against the full package and verify whether the same entity coverage and individuals’ protection are included. 7 7 3

How each route is structured

TechInsurance publishes a median D&O premium of $133 per month and notes that limits, deductible, jurisdiction, industry, headcount, revenue, claims and IPO potential affect price. Liberty Mutual’s overview provides no comparable price or limit. The median is a reported customer statistic, not a quote; buyers should compare equivalent schedules and avoid treating it as a ProShield benchmark. 7 3

What Should You Confirm in Liberty Mutual and TechInsurance D&O Insurance Quotes?

  • What D&O parts are included in the TechInsurance endorsement versus a standalone policy? Which investigation terms and package sections appear in ProShield? Compare actual limits, deductibles and total quoted premiums.

Liberty Mutual and TechInsurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Liberty Mutual Review Score

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]

Read Liberty Mutual reviews

TechInsurance Review Score

9.1/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

TechInsurance’s available ratings are favorable, with praise for broker guidance. The feedback supports its shopping service more than any particular insurer’s claims handling.[4][5]

Read TechInsurance reviews

Liberty Mutual vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance Compared

Liberty Mutual vs TechInsurance: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaLiberty Mutual ProShield Directors and Officers coverageTechInsurance Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O)
Role in This Line

Liberty Mutual includes D&O coverage in its ProShield management-liability package. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

TechInsurance arranges directors and officers (D&O) insurance, a type of management liability insurance, and says it can be purchased as a standalone policy or as an endorsement to a general liability policy or business owner's policy. 7Company-reported. D&O product page.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for a D&O policy. 7Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

The source describes private-company and not-for-profit ProShield options; it does not establish availability for every organization. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

TechInsurance targets D&O at companies with an active board, naming employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups (where investor term sheets often require the coverage), and nonprofits (where most states require a board of directors) as examples. 7Company-reported. D&O product page, Who needs D&O insurance coverage? section.

Coverage Features

The page lists selected D&O features such as investigation and pre-claim inquiry coverage and separate options for private and not-for-profit companies; policy wording controls. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

TechInsurance says D&O covers legal costs when directors, board members or officers are sued over employment practices, fund mismanagement, failure to follow corporate bylaws, regulatory non-compliance, or IP infringement or libel tied to their decisions, and structures coverage into Side A (personal protection), Side B (company reimbursement) and Side C (entity coverage, mainly for public-company securities claims). 7Company-reported. D&O product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form.

TechInsurance says D&O is a claims-made policy, meaning coverage applies only if the policy is active when a claim is made, and that criminal acts by directors or officers, such as fraud or embezzlement, are excluded. 7Company-reported. D&O product page, How does directors and officers insurance work? and exclusions sections.

Limits and Retentions

The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 3Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.

TechInsurance says D&O policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with the exact premium depending on policy limits, deductible, legal jurisdiction, industry risk, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. 7Company-reported. D&O product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.

Risk Services

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package policy that combines multiple management-liability coverages and is designed to reduce the need for separate endorsements. 3Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for Liberty Mutual vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance

D&O Insurance Pages for Liberty Mutual and TechInsurance

Other Coverage Lines Compared for Liberty Mutual vs TechInsurance

Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for Liberty Mutual vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance

Sources About Liberty Mutual

  1. Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Sources About TechInsurance

  1. About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Errors and Omissions – Tech E&O Insurance. TechInsurance; Tech E&O insurance includes two policies; quotation form; Technology professionals we insure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) Quotes Online. TechInsurance; What does directors and officers insurance cover? (employment practices, mismanaged funds, corporate bylaws, regulatory compliance, IP infringement); What does side A, B, and C mean in D&O insurance?; How much does directors and officers insurance cost?; How do you get a certificate of insurance? (standalone or endorsement). Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot