Hiscox vs
WTW: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
What Is Hiscox?
Hiscox suits eligible small businesses that want online GL, professional liability, cyber or BOP quotes; businesses needing other specialty products should compare brokers. Core Hiscox NOW policies are usually issued by its own insurer, while some products use partners. 1,2,3
What Is WTW?
WTW is an insurance broker whose documented services include manufacturing risk-program design and specialist property and cargo programs. Its marketed property scope includes residential real-estate stakeholders and a separate integrated data-center program; other named capabilities vary in date and geography. 7,8,9,10,11
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 13,14,15,16
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Direct policy and broker placement
Hiscox says eligible small businesses can quote and buy admitted professional liability online in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska; a specialist broker may help where online sale is unavailable. WTW's record describes professional-liability solutions through FINEX and E&O for residential stakeholders, with an intermediary process. If you need direct online purchase, check Hiscox availability for your state; ask WTW what local team and carrier would handle your placement. 4 10
Claims-made coverage and service
Hiscox describes its professional-liability policy as claims-made, so the claim must be made and typically reported while the policy is active; it also lists a 24/7 claims phone line. WTW's record describes review of binders, policies and endorsements, rather than a stated 24-hour claim hotline. Ask Hiscox about retroactive dates and reporting after expiry; ask WTW who receives notice and provides claims assistance on the carrier placement. 5 12
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Hiscox
Review Score
4 rated sources
Hiscox’s review results are sharply divided: low Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs scores contrast with strong Feefo feedback. Service quality deserves closer scrutiny before purchase.[1][4][5][6][7]
Read Hiscox reviewsWTW
Review Score
1 rated source
WTW has little useful review evidence for a business buyer. Its one counted score is 807 out of 1,000 from a 2017 J.D. Power study of large commercial brokers, and Trustpilot's 2.1 from 9 reviews isn't counted.[4][2]
Read WTW reviewsOffering Details
Hiscox vs WTW: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Hiscox Professional Liability Insurance | WTW Professional Errors and Omissions Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. 3,4Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel. | Under WTW's North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms, WTW normally acts as the client's insurance intermediary for engagements governed by those terms. 12Company-reported. Terms for applicable North American Corporate Risk & Broking engagements. WTW also discloses separate insurer-side services in some arrangements; this does not determine the role in a specific engagement. |
| Issuing Insurer | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 6,3Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote. | The reviewed WTW sources do not identify an issuing insurer for a specific professional errors omissions placement. 12,11,10Not publicly disclosed. This is a gap in the cited marketing, annual-report, and brokerage materials; it does not mean WTW lacks insurer markets. Confirm the carrier on the quote and issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. 4,6Company-reported. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Coverage Features | Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. 5Company-reported. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy. | WTW's FY2024 annual report describes professional-liability solutions within FINEX; its residential practice lists errors-and-omissions among financial lines for residential real-estate stakeholders. 11,10Company-reported. The report is historical and group-level; the residential E&O reference is segment-specific and based on retained official indexed text. Neither establishes current terms or eligibility outside that segment. |
| Limits and Retentions | The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed. | The reviewed sources do not state a buyer-specific professional errors omissions limit, retention, or deductible. 12,11,10Not publicly disclosed. No limit or deductible is inferred from general marketing or WTW's brokerage role; the insurer's quote and issued forms control. |
| Risk Services | Confirm in your quote. | WTW's North American terms describe reviewing binders, policies, and endorsements against the terms negotiated with the insurer. 12Company-reported. Broker document-review process under the cited terms, when WTW handles this line's placement. It does not certify that a policy covers a claim or replace the issued wording. |
| How to Apply | Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. 4Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. | WTW's North American terms say an insurer quote is not confirmation of coverage; if the client orders binding, WTW seeks a formal insurer commitment, typically a binder. 12Company-reported. Applies to placements governed by the cited North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms. It does not establish a self-service quote route or promise coverage availability for this line. |
| Claims Support | A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. 5Company-reported. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More Hiscox vs WTW Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Hiscox
- Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.
WTW
- Manufacturing. WTW; “How WTW can help manufacturers”; “How we serve our clients”; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Digital Infrastructure Protector. WTW; Integrated policy coverage for building, operational property, marine and cargo under one policy; integrated data-center construction/operations; cyber and liability protection in broader solution; separate-policy preference caveat; capacity and North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Marine. WTW; “Our solutions” cargo brokerage; marine specialist count; claims advice and average-adjuster service; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Residential | WTW. WTW; “Specialized insurance products”: lists property insurance and financial lines, including errors and omissions; inspected official indexed text 2026-09-29. Direct reader access failed; indexed page crawl was about five months old. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- WTW 2024 Form 10-K. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / Willis Towers Watson Public Limited Company; Part I, Item 1, FINEX and Surety business descriptions: the 2024 annual report identifies management and professional liability, employment practices, crime, cyber and M&A insurance solutions, and a global bond-placement team; indexed passages rechecked 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Corporate Risk & Broking Brokerage Terms, Conditions & Disclosures (Canada & US). WTW; Document dated 2025-06-01; pp. 4–6: broker/intermediary role, quote versus binding process, review of binders/policies/endorsements, claims reporting and affiliate disclosures. Reused from the current WTW provider source record after direct PDF retrieval was blocked. Accessed 2026-09-28.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





