Hiscox vs
ERGO NEXT Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Both sell E&O online, but Hiscox names its own underwriting entity while ERGO NEXT's page names no insurer.
What Is Hiscox?
Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. 1,2,3
What Is ERGO NEXT Insurance?
ERGO NEXT Insurance is the current brand for Next Insurance and its subsidiaries, a Munich Re-owned group that offers small-business insurance online, through agents and with partners. Its agencies may place coverage with an affiliated insurer or other carriers, so buyers need to identify the legal entities on each quote. 7,8,9
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 11,12,13,14
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Who Carries the Risk
Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of its admitted professional liability policies. 6 ERGO NEXT's professional liability page does not name an issuing insurer; the carrier for a specific policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations. 10
What's Written Out of the Policy
On exclusions, ERGO NEXT publishes a named list while Hiscox's reviewed pages explain the claims-made structure of its policy but list no comparable exclusions:
ERGO NEXT lists the policy as excluding intentional wrongdoing and illegal activity, property damage or bodily injury (covered by general liability instead), false advertising, employee work injuries and vehicle accidents. 10Company-reported. Product page exclusions summary.
Read the actual Hiscox form for its exclusions before comparing the two side by side. 5
How Fast You Can Buy Online
ERGO NEXT describes a roughly ten-minute online quote, coverage customization, and a fully online purchase with an instantly available certificate of insurance, plus an up-to-10% bundling discount. 10 Hiscox also sells professional liability online, but its reviewed pages describe the flow with licensed advisors available by phone rather than stating a specific completion time. 4
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Confirm whether Hiscox sells this product directly in your state, since it excludes Alaska. 4
- Ask ERGO NEXT for the issuing insurer before binding, since its page names none. 10
- Ask ERGO NEXT whether your subcontractors are covered, since its default terms typically exclude them. 10
- Ask both firms for the policy limit and retention, since neither publishes figures. 5 10
Offering Details
Hiscox vs ERGO NEXT Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Hiscox Professional Liability Insurance | ERGO NEXT Professional Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. 3,4Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel. | ERGO NEXT sells professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions insurance, as a standalone online policy. 10Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23. |
| Issuing Insurer | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 6,3Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote. | The professional liability page does not name an issuing insurer for this line; the carrier for a specific policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations. 10Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. 4,6Company-reported. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant. | ERGO NEXT targets this line at offices and professionals, construction, food and beverage, and retail and e-commerce businesses, naming business consultants, accountants, financial professionals, engineers and architects as example professions. 10Company-reported. Product page industry and profession list; not a complete underwriting appetite by state. |
| Coverage Features | Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. 5Company-reported. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy. | ERGO NEXT says the policy addresses business errors that cost clients money, claims of professional negligence, misrepresentation causing financial harm, and legal defense costs. 10Company-reported. Product page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim. ERGO NEXT lists the policy as excluding intentional wrongdoing and illegal activity, property damage or bodily injury (covered by general liability instead), false advertising, employee work injuries and vehicle accidents. 10Company-reported. Product page exclusions summary. |
| Limits and Retentions | The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed. | Published coverage limits or deductibles were not found on the professional liability product page; only illustrative starting pricing is shown, and the page notes an up to 10% discount for bundling with an existing ERGO NEXT policy. 10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | ERGO NEXT says employees are covered under the policy by default, subcontractors typically are not, prior-acts coverage is available in select cases, and additional-insured designations are permitted. 10Company-reported. Product page policy-structure notes. |
| How to Apply | Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. 4Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. | ERGO NEXT describes a roughly 10-minute online quote, coverage customization, and a fully online purchase with an instantly available certificate of insurance. 10Company-reported. Product page quote-flow description. |
| Claims Support | A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. 5Company-reported. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Hiscox vs ERGO NEXT Insurance Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Hiscox
- Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.
ERGO NEXT Insurance
- NEXT Insurance Rebrands as ERGO NEXT Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; January 15, 2026 announcement; About ERGO NEXT Insurance; former name and relationship to ERGO and Munich Re. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Acquisitions and Divestments. Munich Re; 2025 transactions: full acquisition of NEXT Insurance completed July 1, 2025 and stake increased to 100%. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Service. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Last revised June 29, 2026; §§1, 5–7, 11, 13, 15, 18 and 23 (entities, limited availability, electronic documents, agents and carriers, underwriting, fees, payment and cancellation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Professional Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; What is Professional Liability insurance? (also called errors & omissions insurance); target industries and professions; exclusions; three-step quote process; bundling discount; claims filing. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





