Corgi vs
Hiscox Business Owner’s Policy
Corgi’s BOP is a 1–14 day listing with no named insurer; Hiscox underwrites an admitted BOP that is unavailable in seven states.
What Is Corgi Insurance?
Corgi Insurance sells commercial coverage to technology startups through stage-based packages (pre-seed and seed, Series A, and growth stage) that combine general liability, directors and officers, technology E&O, cyber, and related lines, alongside a growing small-business product line for other industries. Coverage may be issued by Corgi’s own risk retention group, an affiliated admitted carrier, or a partner insurer, so the issuing entity and available protections depend on the specific product and state. 1,2,3,4,5
What Is Hiscox?
Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. 6,7,8
What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?
A business owner’s policy packages property, general liability and business interruption coverage for eligible businesses. 13
Key Differences in Business Owner’s Policy
Named Admitted Writer Versus an Unnamed Listing
Hiscox sells a BOP directly online in its Hiscox NOW admitted catalogue, underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200). Corgi’s homepage BOP listing does not name an issuing insurer, policy form number or underwriting entity. 8 12 2
State Availability
Hiscox’s 2026 appetite guide says the BOP is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Corgi’s BOP card does not publish a state-exclusion list. 12 2
Optional Add-Ons Versus the Named BOP Bundle
Hiscox describes optional add-ons to its BOP including cyber coverage, hired and non-owned commercial auto, and commercial crime; hired auto and commercial crime are upgrades tied to the BOP’s occurrence limit. Corgi describes its BOP as combining general liability and commercial property only. 10 11 2
How Long a Quote Takes
Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy a business owner’s policy online. Corgi tags the BOP card with a 1–14 day turnaround, distinct from the same-day instant-quote path it advertises for CGL, cyber, tech and AI, D&O, EPLI, fiduciary, media and hired and non-owned auto. 9 2
What to Confirm in Business Owner’s Policy Quotes
- Check Hiscox BOP availability in your state. 12
- Ask Corgi who issues the BOP. 2
- If you need hired auto or cyber, ask whether Hiscox attached those as BOP upgrades and how Corgi would quote them as separate lines. 10 2
- Hiscox’s BOP page does not publish standard limits; the California IT pricing table is labeled illustrative. 9
Offering Details
Corgi vs Hiscox Business Owner’s Policy: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Corgi Business Owners Policy (BOP) | Hiscox Business Owner's Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Corgi lists a Business Owners Policy among its main policies, but groups it with the slower, non-instant-quote products rather than the modules that get an on-page instant quote. 2Company-reported. Homepage coverage catalog as read on 2026-09-23. No dedicated BOP product page was found on corgi.insure or its sitemap. | Hiscox Inc. sells a business owner's policy directly online to small businesses, combining general liability and commercial property into one package as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted catalogue. 9,8Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed homepage listing does not name an issuing insurer, policy form number or underwriting entity for the Business Owners Policy. 2Not publicly disclosed. Homepage catalog card as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated BOP page exists to check for a form number or underwriter disclosure. | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW business owner's policies. 12,8Company-reported. Admitted small-business BOP coverage as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote. |
| Who It’s For | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Hiscox's 2026 appetite guide says its business owner's policy is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia, a narrower footprint than the 49-state-plus-D.C. availability Hiscox states for its overall online small-business catalogue. 12Company-reported. State-exception list as of the 2026 agent appetite guide; does not by itself establish eligibility for a specific class or business. |
| Coverage Features | Corgi describes its BOP as combining general liability and commercial property coverage into a single policy, designed for small and growing businesses. 2Company-reported. One-line homepage product description; no policy form, limits, exclusions or endorsement list is published for this line. | Hiscox describes optional add-ons to its business owner's policy including cyber coverage, hired/non-owned commercial auto, and commercial crime; hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades tied to the BOP's own occurrence limit and are not sold as standalone Hiscox policies. 9,10,11Company-reported. Product-page and upgrade-page descriptions; commercial crime is also stated as not available in all states. |
| Limits and Retentions | No limits, deductibles or retentions are published for the Business Owners Policy in the reviewed sources. 2Not found in reviewed sources. Homepage catalog card only; Corgi publishes illustrative limits for several other lines (e.g. D&O, EPLI, Crime) on their own product pages, but no equivalent page exists for BOP. | The BOP page does not publish standard coverage limits; the illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table on the page is explicitly labeled illustrative rather than a quote. 9Not publicly disclosed. Public product page as previously reviewed. |
| How to Apply | Corgi tags the BOP card with a 1-14 days turnaround, distinct from the same-day instant-quote path it advertises for CGL, Cyber, Tech & AI, D&O, EPLI, Fiduciary, Media and HNOA. 2Company-reported. Homepage badge language only; the reviewed sources do not describe the actual BOP application steps or underwriting requirements. | Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy a business owner's policy online, and can select add-on coverages such as cyber or commercial crime during that process where available. 9Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. |
Full Comparison
More Corgi vs Hiscox Comparisons
Other Business Owner’s Policy Comparisons
Sources
Corgi
- Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance: Startup Insurance, Quoted in Minutes. Corgi Insurance; Explore Our Main Policies: Business Owners Policy (BOP) card, listed with an 1-14 days turnaround badge rather than the Instant quote badge used for CGL, Cyber, Tech & AI, D&O, EPLI, Fiduciary, Media and HNOA. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Hiscox
- Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage. Hiscox; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; optional packages including cyber, non-owned commercial auto, commercial crime and professional liability; illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table; worldwide-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance. Hiscox; Hired/non-owned auto described as an upgrade to a business owner's policy and part of that policy's occurrence limit, not coverage for vehicles owned or regularly operated by the business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial crime insurance for small businesses. Hiscox; Commercial crime as a BOP upgrade not sold separately; not available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; state exceptions including BOP unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Business Owner’s Policy Guide
- Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets. Accessed 2026-09-16.





