Chubb vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance

Chubb underwrites ForeFront D&O; USI brokers D&O and applies its ExecuSafe endorsement package for SMBs.

What Is Chubb?

Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 1,2,3

Read the Chubb profile

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 6,7,8

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Who Puts the Policy on Risk

Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability on ForeFront Portfolio 3.0. 4 USI is a broker: it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review existing management-liability policies, and place coverage, including through ExecuSafe, an endorsement package applied to policies placed with the market. 9 USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe on the pages reviewed. 9 ExecuSafe can sit on various paper; ForeFront is Chubb’s form.

Who Is Described as Buying

USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many skip D&O or buy insufficient limits, and its Technology practice places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients. 9 7 Chubb aims this version at smaller privately held companies, with separate ForeFront versions for not-for-profit and healthcare. 4 5 USI’s described ExecuSafe buyer is an SMB; this Chubb module is framed as smaller-private.

How You Start

USI routes ExecuSafe inquiries to an email listed on the ExecuSafe page. 9 Agents quote ForeFront through Chubb Marketplace. 5 One path is a USI email intake; the other is Marketplace.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask USI which insurer is on the ExecuSafe placement and which endorsements attach. 9
  • Treat the $450,000 survey figure as context, not a quoted limit. 9
  • Compare USI’s placed limit with Chubb’s $500,000 sublimits if ForeFront is the market. 4
  • Confirm the Chubb product is ForeFront 3.0 for smaller private companies. 4

Offering Details

Chubb vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaChubb ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 Directors & Officers and Entity Liability InsuranceUSI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program
Role in This Line

Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability directly through ForeFront Portfolio 3.0, describing this specific version as designed for directors and officers of smaller, privately held companies. 4Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O and Entity Liability product page.

USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section.

Issuing Insurer

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 9Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Chubb aims this D&O product at smaller private companies and offers separate versions for not-for-profit and healthcare organizations in its ForeFront Portfolio. 4,5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O page opening description; ForeFront Portfolio page coverage list.

USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 9,7Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description.

Coverage Features

Chubb lists a broad definition of Insured covering the parent organization, subsidiaries, directors or officers (including foreign equivalents), advisory board members and volunteers worldwide; automatic not-for-profit outside-directorship coverage; a broad definition of Claim including written demands, civil and criminal proceedings, and extradition requests; and civil fines and penalties coverage where insurable, including FCPA civil penalties. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list; subject to the policy as issued.

Chubb says the policy uses a streamlined insured-versus-insured exclusion with exceptions (including financial impairment, former executives after one year, and whistleblower and employment claims) and conduct exclusions that require final non-appealable adjudication before they apply. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list, exclusion-related bullets.

Chubb says the policy provides private-placement and failed-IPO coverage, a full Side A carve-back to the pollution exclusion, and a guaranteed IPO quotation including coverage for road-show presentations. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

Chubb publishes two specific sublimits: a $500,000 sublimit for security-holder derivative-demand evaluation costs, and an optional additional $500,000 Side A dedicated limit for executives. Overall policy limits are not published and depend on the issued policy. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 9Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 7Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified.

How to Apply

Agents and brokers can quote and issue the ForeFront Portfolio, including its D&O and Entity Liability coverage, through Chubb Marketplace. 5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio page quoting section.

USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 9,7,10Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages.

Full Comparison

More Chubb vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0: Directors & Officers and Entity Liability Insurance. Chubb; Coverage Highlights: Directors & Officers (D&O) and Entity Liability list, including Insured definition, sublimits, Side A coverage, Claim definitions, conduct and insured-v-insured exclusions, IPO coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; ForeFront Portfolio's seven coverages; Directors & Officers and Entity Liability listed for private companies, not-for-profit and healthcare organizations; Chubb Marketplace quoting. Accessed 2026-09-23.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot