Chubb vs
USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance
Chubb underwrites cyber directly; USI brokers cyber and layers its own manuscripted PrivaSafe program on top.
What Is Chubb?
Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 1,2,3
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 5,6,7
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 10
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
Carrier Versus Broker With a Manuscripted Form
Chubb underwrites Cyber Enterprise Risk Management and names itself as carrier. USI does not underwrite: it places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on PrivaSafe, its own custom-drafted coverage form negotiated with the market:
USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found.
Chubb's page names Chubb as carrier but not the specific underwriting entity in its group. 4
Named Sublimits
USI's PrivaSafe program publishes specific structural figures: up to $10 million in loss protection, up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage on top of the aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit. Chubb's reviewed pages publish no comparable limit or sublimit figures for its cyber product. 8 3
Who Each Offering Targets
USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, framing them as particularly exposed because they often lack in-house security expertise. Chubb's product spans a wider range, from Cyber Central quoting for risks under $100 million in revenue to a customizable program for organizations over $1 billion in revenue. 8 3
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
- Ask USI which carrier would actually issue the PrivaSafe-negotiated policy. 8
- Ask Chubb which underwriting entity in its group issues the policy. 4
- Confirm whether USI's $10 million loss-protection figure and $2 million notification sublimit describe your specific quote or the program's general structure. 8
- Get Chubb's specific limit and retention numbers directly; its page does not publish them. 3
- Ask USI what documents it needs to start a review — it lists current policies, a vulnerability assessment and audited financials. 8
Offering Details
Chubb vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Chubb Cyber Insurance (Cyber Enterprise Risk Management) | USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Chubb underwrites Cyber Enterprise Risk Management (Cyber ERM) directly. It covers cyber, privacy and media exposures for organizations of any size that handle sensitive data or run a network or website. 3Company-reported. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page, Cyber Enterprise Risk Management section. | USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 8,6Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed pages describe Chubb as the carrier but do not name the specific Chubb-group underwriting entity for cyber policies; the issued policy would name the entity. 4,3Not found in reviewed sources. Both cyber pages as read on 2026-09-23. | USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found. |
| Who It’s For | Chubb says there are no minimum premiums and premiums scale for all risk sizes, offers Cyber Central and Marketplace quoting for risks under $100 million in revenue, and a customizable large-account cyber risk management solution for organizations over $1 billion in revenue. 3Company-reported. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page eligibility and quoting description. | USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 8Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement. |
| Coverage Features | Chubb lists first-party cyber incident response fund, business interruption (with contingent business interruption for outsourced technology providers), digital data recovery, and network extortion; third-party cyber/privacy/network security liability, payment card loss, regulatory proceedings and media liability; and cyber crime coverages (computer fraud, funds transfer fraud, social engineering fraud) available by endorsement. 3Company-reported. Cyber insurance coverage list on the products page; subject to exclusions and the policy as issued. Chubb offers a Widespread Event Endorsement with separate limits and retentions for systemic cyber events, a Ransomware Encounter Endorsement that lets buyers tailor limits and retentions for ransomware losses, and a Neglected Software Exploit Endorsement that gives a 45-day grace period to patch published vulnerabilities before risk-sharing shifts toward the policyholder. 3Company-reported. Innovative coverage concepts section; endorsement availability depends on underwriting. | USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed pages do not publish specific per-policy limit or retention amounts; Chubb says it can build large insurance tower programs with substantial primary limits for organizations over $1 billion in revenue but gives no figures. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations. |
| Risk Services | Chubb says cyber policyholders get access to a panel of pre-approved incident response providers, a 24/7 hotline and Cyber Alert app, a Cyber Threat Intelligence Team, a Vulnerability Management Outreach program, and the Chubb Cyber Index for trend and cost data. 4Company-reported. Cyber Insurance for Businesses page, Cyber Services and Beyond Risk Transfer sections. | USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 8,9Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description. |
| How to Apply | Agents and brokers can quote cyber alone through Cyber Central or bundled with other lines through Chubb Marketplace; multinational programs can be serviced locally in more than 35 countries. 3Company-reported. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products page quoting section. | To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description. |
| Claims Support | Chubb reports 24/7 incident response availability by hotline or its Cyber Alert app, and publishes an annual Cyber Claims Landscape report analyzing claim frequency, severity and ransomware trends. 4Company-reported. Cyber Insurance for Businesses page; claims scenarios and report are company-reported. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More Chubb vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Chubb
- Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber Enterprise Risk Management target clients and product features; Cyber insurance coverage first-party and third-party lists; Cyber crime by endorsement; quoting via Cyber Central and Marketplace. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Cyber Insurance for Businesses. Chubb; Cyber Services section; Incident response section; 24/7 hotline and Cyber Alert app; "95% of Fortune 1000 companies are Chubb insured". Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.






