Chubb vs
StartupInsurance.ai D&O Insurance
Chubb underwrites ForeFront D&O; StartupInsurance.ai lists D&O in a startup program arranged by ContractorNerd.
What Is Chubb?
Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 1,2,3
What Is StartupInsurance.ai?
StartupInsurance.ai is a marketing brand of ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC, offering startup insurance placement and policy reviews. Buyers can begin with an online coverage selection or a review of existing policies and contract requirements. 6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Who Puts the Policy on Risk
Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability on ForeFront Portfolio 3.0. 4 StartupInsurance.ai lists directors and officers coverage among lines its startup program places; ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC arranges the placement as agent. 8 9 A panel of insurers with D&O capacity, including Chubb shown as A++ Admitted, is not a statement that Chubb underwrites a given StartupInsurance.ai D&O placement. 8 ForeFront is Chubb paper only when that form is the one bound.
How You Start
Directors & Officers is the first coverage box on StartupInsurance.ai’s online quote-intake screen. 7 Agents and brokers quote ForeFront through Chubb Marketplace. 5 One path is founder-facing intake; the other is an appointed agent on Marketplace.
Who Is Described as Buying
StartupInsurance.ai frames D&O for venture-backed startups with a board once a term sheet requires it. 8 Chubb aims ForeFront 3.0 at smaller privately held companies, with other versions for not-for-profit and healthcare. 4 5 The described StartupInsurance.ai buyer is a founder answering a term sheet; this Chubb module is framed as smaller-private.
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask StartupInsurance.ai which insurer would issue D&O and whether Chubb ForeFront is the form. 8
- Ask whether any AI exclusion endorsement is on the quote or an incumbent policy. 8
- If you plan a private placement or IPO, ask how ForeFront’s failed-IPO and road-show terms apply. 4
- Compare quoted limits with Chubb’s $500,000 sublimits when ForeFront is offered. 4
Offering Details
Chubb vs StartupInsurance.ai D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Chubb ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 Directors & Officers and Entity Liability Insurance | StartupInsurance.ai Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability directly through ForeFront Portfolio 3.0, describing this specific version as designed for directors and officers of smaller, privately held companies. 4Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O and Entity Liability product page. | StartupInsurance.ai lists directors and officers coverage among the lines its startup program places, and its homepage cites an investor's term-sheet request for D&O as a typical reason a founder comes to it. ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC arranges the placement as agent/broker of record rather than underwriting it. 8,9Company-reported. Homepage coverage list and "the problem" narrative, plus ContractorNerd's terms and conditions on its producer role; does not describe a specific D&O policy's terms. |
| Issuing Insurer | Not described in the reviewed sources. | The homepage's carrier panel names insurers with D&O capacity, such as Chubb (shown as A++ Admitted) and Coalition (shown as A- Surplus), but does not state that either one specifically underwrites D&O placements; the issuing insurer varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. Homepage carrier panel and ratings card; the panel is program-wide, not broken out by coverage line. |
| Who It’s For | Chubb aims this D&O product at smaller private companies and offers separate versions for not-for-profit and healthcare organizations in its ForeFront Portfolio. 4,5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O page opening description; ForeFront Portfolio page coverage list. | StartupInsurance.ai frames D&O as coverage founders typically need once an investor's term sheet requires it, positioning the line for venture-backed startups with a board rather than pre-revenue companies with no outside investors. 8Company-reported. Homepage narrative example; not a stated underwriting eligibility rule (e.g., minimum funding stage or headcount). |
| Coverage Features | Chubb lists a broad definition of Insured covering the parent organization, subsidiaries, directors or officers (including foreign equivalents), advisory board members and volunteers worldwide; automatic not-for-profit outside-directorship coverage; a broad definition of Claim including written demands, civil and criminal proceedings, and extradition requests; and civil fines and penalties coverage where insurable, including FCPA civil penalties. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list; subject to the policy as issued. Chubb says the policy uses a streamlined insured-versus-insured exclusion with exceptions (including financial impairment, former executives after one year, and whistleblower and employment claims) and conduct exclusions that require final non-appealable adjudication before they apply. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list, exclusion-related bullets. Chubb says the policy provides private-placement and failed-IPO coverage, a full Side A carve-back to the pollution exclusion, and a guaranteed IPO quotation including coverage for road-show presentations. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list. | StartupInsurance.ai says one major carrier added a blanket AI exclusion to D&O (along with E&O and fiduciary forms), typically arriving at renewal inside an endorsement, and that it reviews policies for this exclusion as part of its free check. 8Company-reported. Homepage "wording that still says yes" section; names the exclusion trend industrywide but not the carrier, and does not state whether any StartupInsurance.ai-placed D&O policy carries this specific endorsement. |
| Limits and Retentions | Chubb publishes two specific sublimits: a $500,000 sublimit for security-holder derivative-demand evaluation costs, and an optional additional $500,000 Side A dedicated limit for executives. Overall policy limits are not published and depend on the issued policy. 4Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | StartupInsurance.ai's free policy check reviews an existing program for AI exclusions and contract gaps within 48 hours, and the homepage specifically calls out D&O as one of the forms affected by the AI-exclusion trend it checks for. 8Company-reported. Homepage service description; a marketing offer describing what the review covers, not a report on any specific customer's D&O policy. |
| How to Apply | Agents and brokers can quote and issue the ForeFront Portfolio, including its D&O and Entity Liability coverage, through Chubb Marketplace. 5Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio page quoting section. | Directors & Officers (D&O) is the first coverage box on StartupInsurance.ai's online quote-intake screen, described there as coverage that "protects your board and executives from lawsuits." 7Company-reported. Initial coverage-selection screen of the quote application; does not show the underwriting questions that follow for this line. |
Full Comparison
More Chubb vs StartupInsurance.ai Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Chubb
- Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- ForeFront Portfolio 3.0: Directors & Officers and Entity Liability Insurance. Chubb; Coverage Highlights: Directors & Officers (D&O) and Entity Liability list, including Insured definition, sublimits, Side A coverage, Claim definitions, conduct and insured-v-insured exclusions, IPO coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; ForeFront Portfolio's seven coverages; Directors & Officers and Entity Liability listed for private companies, not-for-profit and healthcare organizations; Chubb Marketplace quoting. Accessed 2026-09-23.
StartupInsurance.ai
- Company | Startup Insurance. StartupInsurance.ai; The story; founders; The free policy check; legal footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Apply for Startup Insurance | StartupInsurance.ai. StartupInsurance.ai; Coverage-selection screen: Directors & Officers (D&O) — “Protects your board and executives from lawsuits”. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Startup Insurance | Coverage that clears the review. StartupInsurance.ai; The problem (“An investor's term sheet asked for D&O”); Wording that still says yes (“One major carrier added a blanket AI exclusion to D&O, E&O and fiduciary”); Coverage: What we place; The free policy check. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Terms and Conditions. ContractorNerd; Section 2, Insurance Services: “ContractorNerd is an insurance agency/insurance producer... not an insurance company, does not underwrite insurance”; Section 2.A, Broker/Agent of Record. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





