CFC vs
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?
What Is CFC Insurance?
CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 1,2,3,4
THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes
THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 9,10
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 12,13
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
Coverage structure
Policy details and incident support
Service and placement
CFC’s Cyber Proactive Response lists crime cover, a 12-month interruption indemnity period, data recreation, and claim reinstatements with no deductible or at most one deductible. THREE lists Cyber Liability in its package but does not itemize its insuring agreements. Ask THREE for the form and interruption terms; CFC’s stated features provide concrete points to compare against the quote. 5 11
Service and placement
CFC includes its 24/7 in-house CFC Response service and a mobile app with monitoring and phishing simulations; its Proactive Response segment is for businesses under $250 million in revenue. THREE offers small-business quote assistance from licensed advisors, not a described cyber response service. Confirm CFC’s segment fit and who handles the first hours of an incident under either option. 6 9
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
CFC
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]
Read CFC reviewsTHREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Review Score
2 rated sources
The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]
Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviewsOffering Details
CFC vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | CFC Cyber Proactive Response | THREE Business Owners Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | CFC's flagship cyber product, Cyber Proactive Response, targets businesses with revenues from $0 to $250 million and pairs the policy with built-in security monitoring, incident response and claims handling rather than selling those as add-ons. 5Company-reported. Cyber insurance product page's Cyber Proactive Response summary; CFC separately sells Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber for businesses at $250 million and up, and a Cyber excess policy. | THREE presents Cyber as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 11Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant. |
| Issuing Insurer | The Cyber Proactive Response application form names only CFC Underwriting Limited, an entity authorized and regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority, as the party administering the form. Neither the cyber product page nor the application discloses which specific insurer or Lloyd's syndicate capacity sits behind a US Cyber Proactive Response policy. 8,4Not publicly disclosed. Application footer and the regulatory information page, both checked on 2026-09-23; CFC also operates Lloyd's Syndicate 1988 and CFC USA Inc.'s admitted and E&S licenses, but no page ties one of these specifically to Cyber Proactive Response. | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 10Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | CFC segments cyber eligibility by revenue: Cyber Proactive Response and Cyber (admitted) are positioned for businesses with revenues from $0 to $250 million, while Corporate cyber is for businesses at $250 million and above. 5Company-reported. Cyber product page product summaries; actual eligibility for a given applicant depends on underwriting. | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Cyber; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 11,9Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms. |
| Coverage Features | Cyber Proactive Response includes crime cover, a 12-month indemnity period for business interruption, and data recreation cover, with unlimited claim reinstatements available at either no deductible or a single deductible at most. 5Company-reported. Cyber product page Key features list for Cyber Proactive Response. | THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Cyber Liability among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 11,10Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Cyber. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | For larger businesses, CFC's Corporate cyber product (for revenues of $250 million or more) has a published maximum line size of $25 million; the Cyber Proactive Response and Cyber (admitted) pages for smaller businesses do not publish a maximum dollar limit. 5Company-reported. Cyber product page Corporate cyber Key features; limit for any individual policy appears on its declarations. | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Cyber; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 11,10Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible. |
| Risk Services | Every CFC cyber policyholder gets CFC Response, described as an in-house incident-response service available 24/7, plus a free mobile app offering dark web monitoring, phishing simulations and external network deep scanning. 6,7Company-reported. Response page and cyber brochure; CFC characterizes its incident response team as one of the largest in-house teams in the industry, a claim not independently verified here. | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | The US Cyber Proactive Response application is a one-page form asking whether multi-factor authentication is enforced for remote network access and email, whether backups are offline or MFA-secured, and whether the business had a cyber incident in the last three years. 8Company-reported. Cyber Proactive Response application form sections on cyber security controls and previous cyber incidents. | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 9Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Cyber will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy. |
| Claims Support | CFC says its in-house cyber claims team resolves several thousand cyber claims a year and reports a 99.4% cyber claims acceptance rate over a recent 12-month period. 7Company-reported. Cyber brochure claims statistics; these are company-reported figures and were not independently audited. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More CFC vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
CFC
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988; CFC USA Inc. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Cyber insurance | CFC. CFC; Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess product summaries and Key features; FAQs: How is a cyber insurance policy structured? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Incident response | CFC. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Protecting businesses against cyber risk (cyber product brochure). CFC; Market-leading cover highlights: separate limit for incident response costs, unlimited reinstatements with nil deductible, full business interruption cover; Award-winning cyber claims team stats. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Cyber Proactive Response Insurance application form (US). CFC; Basic company details; Cyber security controls; Previous cyber incidents; footer entity line. Accessed 2026-09-23.
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
- Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.





