CFC vs Insureon: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

CFC describes a modular professional-services policy with optional general liability, property, and cyber, and publishes E&O limits up to $10 million; Insureon describes service-business E&O through an online quote request. 6,10

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

Read the CFC Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What is Insureon?

Insureon describes a small-business insurance agency and broker route with online quote entry and agent support. Its pages market several coverage types, but do not establish which insurer, policy form, state availability, or eligibility applies to a particular buyer. 8,9

Read the Insureon profile

Read the Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 11,12,13,14

Read the full coverage guide

What Are the Key Differences Between CFC and Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Coverage Scope and Policy Options

CFC describes E&O for a range of allegations, including breach of contract, subcontractor liability, intellectual-property infringement, pollution, defamation, document loss, and withheld fees, with worldwide legal cover. Its professional-services package can add separate general-liability, property, and cyber coverages, plus an umbrella layer. Insureon’s overview describes claims over alleged mistakes or unsatisfactory professional work but does not enumerate comparable triggers or package options. Buyers with multiple exposures can use CFC’s listed structure to ask whether the parts belong together; compare the actual forms because the public summaries do not establish equivalent terms. 5 10

Published Limits and Applicant Fit

CFC lists E&O maximum limits of $10 million, a $0 minimum deductible, and says it has no revenue threshold; it also names professions it favors and others it ordinarily declines. Insureon’s page covers service businesses broadly but leaves eligible professions and carrier appetite to the application and quote, and publishes no policy limit. If your profession is on CFC’s stated decline list, ask Insureon which market will consider it; if you seek high limits, confirm CFC’s figure is available for your particular risk. 5 10

Application and Insurer Identity

CFC offers a dedicated application and describes broker, Connect-platform, and API-partner distribution. Insureon offers an online quote request. Neither reviewed description names the insurer for the buyer’s policy, so request that information alongside the final form and limits. 5 10

What Should You Confirm in CFC and Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes?

  • Does CFC’s stated appetite include your profession, or fall within one of its listed ordinary declines? What class will Insureon submit? 5 10
  • Are CFC’s E&O maximum, deductible, and add-on limits available for your risk, and who issues either proposal? 5 10

CFC and Insureon Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]

Read CFC reviews

Insureon Review Score

5.8/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Insureon's ratings are split. Trustpilot shows 4.5 out of 5 from 2,401 reviews, while ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0 from 344.[1][2]

Read Insureon reviews

CFC vs Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Compared

CFC vs Insureon: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Professional ServicesInsureon Professional Liability / E&O Insurance
Role in This Line

CFC sells professional errors & omissions as a modular package policy it calls "Professional services" (branded on the brochure as "Miscellaneous professional liability"), which pairs E&O with optional general liability, property and cyber add-ons rather than selling E&O alone. 5,6Company-reported. Professional liability product page's "Professional services" tile and the miscellaneous professional liability brochure.

Insureon markets Professional Liability, also called Errors & Omissions, through its small-business quote channel. 10Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed professional liability page and brochure describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the risk for this product. 5,6Not publicly disclosed. Professional liability product page and professions brochure as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for this product would need to come from the quote or declarations.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

CFC says it favors business, educational, environmental, food, HR, market-research, quality-assurance, security and traffic consultants, event organisers, freight brokers, loss adjusters, private investigators and trade associations, and ordinarily declines debt collectors, financial advisors, health and safety consultants, insurance agents, lawyers, mortgage brokers, pre-purchase home inspectors, stockbrokers, tour operators and valuers. 6Company-reported. Brochure's "What we love" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.

The page addresses service businesses exposed to client claims; the eligible professions and carrier appetite depend on the application and quote. 10Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Coverage Features

CFC says the E&O cover includes breach of contract, bodily injury, property damage, vicarious liability of subcontractors, IP infringement, pollution liability, libel, slander, defamation, document loss and withheld fees, with worldwide legal cover. 6Company-reported. Brochure's "Comprehensive errors & omissions cover" and "Comprehensive legal cover" sections; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued.

Businesses can add a separate commercial general liability limit, property, and cyber and privacy liability to the E&O policy, plus optional umbrella liability that sits over the E&O and CGL layers. 6Company-reported. Brochure's "Modular package policy" and "Umbrella liability" sections; availability depends on underwriting.

The page describes client claims over alleged mistakes or unsatisfactory professional work; it does not establish policy-specific retroactive dates, exclusions or limits. 10Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Limits and Retentions

CFC's brochure lists maximum limits of $10,000,000 for E&O, $6,000,000 for CGL and $5,000,000 for umbrella, with a $0 minimum deductible, minimum premiums starting at $475-$500 depending on the coverage part, and no revenue threshold for eligibility. 6Company-reported. Brochure's "Limits, deductibles, premiums, revenue threshold" section; the terms actually issued depend on underwriting.

The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 10Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.

How to Apply

CFC publishes a dedicated application form for this policy and also says its professional liability class can be traded directly through its Connect platform or through named API partners, in addition to the standard broker-submitted application. 5Company-reported. Professional liability product page's downloads and "Digitally traded" sections; not confirmed specifically for the professions/miscellaneous professional liability product versus the class as a whole.

The cited Insureon product page provides an online quote request path; that route does not identify the insurer or guarantee that a quote will be offered or bound. 10Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Claims Support

CFC lists a named Claims Manager for Professions on its claims team, indicating professional-liability claims are routed to a dedicated professions unit rather than a generalist adjuster. 7Company-reported. CFC's claims page team listing; the page does not publish claim volumes or turnaround times specific to this product.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for CFC vs Insureon Professional Liability (E&O)

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Pages for CFC and Insureon

Other Coverage Lines Compared for CFC vs Insureon

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for CFC vs Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Sources About CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Professional liability. CFC; Professional services tile description; Digitally traded Connect section; downloads (brochure, application form). Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Miscellaneous professional liability | Product brochure | United States. CFC; Comprehensive errors & omissions cover; Modular package policy; Umbrella liability; At a glance: What we love / What we ordinarily decline; Optional extras; Limits, deductibles, premiums, revenue threshold. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Claims. CFC; Our claims team: Professions team, led by Laura Bennett, Claims Manager, Professions Claims & Kidnap, War & Piracy (KWP). Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources About Insureon

  1. How Insureon Works. Insureon; Agent/broker and carrier roles (L82-88); application and advertised quote/payment route (L89-97); human support (L98-101). Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. General Liability Insurance - Get Online Quotes. Insureon; Coverage/product overview; illustrative third-party claims; quote CTA. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Professional Liability Insurance - Get Online Quotes. Insureon; Product definition L67-L89; quote CTA and target users on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot