At-Bay vs
WTW: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?
What Is At-Bay Insurance?
At-Bay targets technology firms with up to $5 billion in revenue and offers cyber limits up to $10 million, plus technology E&O; buyers seeking a standard online business package should compare other carriers. Managed detection and response costs extra. 1,2
What Is WTW?
WTW is an insurance broker whose documented services include manufacturing risk-program design and specialist property and cargo programs. Its marketed property scope includes residential real-estate stakeholders and a separate integrated data-center program; other named capabilities vary in date and geography. 7,8,9,10,11
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 13,14
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
Included security support
At-Bay says every cyber policy includes Stance vulnerability monitoring, vCISO advice, tabletop exercises and security-awareness training; endpoint or email managed detection and response costs extra. WTW’s cyber record documents a FINEX offering and policy-document review, not an equivalent included security platform. If ongoing controls support matters, compare the At-Bay policy access and paid MDR against the named services in WTW’s proposal. 3 11 12
Incident response and claims access
At-Bay describes an in-house claims team, a breach-coach phone line for active ransomware or system interruption, and a response roadmap. WTW’s reviewed terms explain how it reviews policy documents, but do not set out a cyber claims or breach-response process; ask WTW who takes the first call and which response partners the insurer appoints. 6 12
Submission route
At-Bay accepts emailed submissions or broker-platform quotes, with platform automation up to $100 million revenue and $3 million limits; broader appetite is stated up to $5 billion revenue and $10 million limits. WTW’s terms describe broker placement and binding but do not publish a comparable cyber limit. Ask which route fits your account and obtain the specific insurer commitment before treating a quote as bound. 3 3 12
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
At-Bay
Review Score
2 rated sources
At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.[3][6][9]
Read At-Bay reviewsWTW
Review Score
1 rated source
WTW has little useful review evidence for a business buyer. Its one counted score is 807 out of 1,000 from a 2017 J.D. Power study of large commercial brokers, and Trustpilot's 2.1 from 9 reviews isn't counted.[4][2]
Read WTW reviewsOffering Details
At-Bay vs WTW: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | At-Bay Cyber Insurance | WTW Cyber Insurance Brokerage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | At-Bay places cyber insurance through its disclosed producer, At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, which is licensed as an insurance producer in all 50 states. At-Bay says eligible new excess-and-surplus (E&S) cyber business has been written on its own carrier paper, At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company, since August 2023. 4,5Company-reported. Producer role from the current license page; carrier role from a 2023 transition announcement, not confirmed for every current cyber quote. | Under WTW's North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms, WTW normally acts as the client's insurance intermediary for engagements governed by those terms. 12Company-reported. Terms for applicable North American Corporate Risk & Broking engagements. WTW also discloses separate insurer-side services in some arrangements; this does not determine the role in a specific engagement. |
| Issuing Insurer | The current cyber product page does not name an issuing insurer. At-Bay's 2023 announcement says new E&S cyber business is quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, but that is a historical statement, not a per-quote disclosure. 3,5Company-reported. Cyber product page checked today names no insurer; the carrier-transition release is dated August 2023 and does not cover every current state or account. | The reviewed WTW sources do not identify an issuing insurer for a specific cyber placement. 12,11,8Not publicly disclosed. This is a gap in the cited marketing, annual-report, and brokerage materials; it does not mean WTW lacks insurer markets. Confirm the carrier on the quote and issued policy. |
| Coverage Features | At-Bay lists direct and contingent business interruption and system failure coverage, social engineering and invoice manipulation coverage for all classes of business, full limits for cryptojacking and bricking, broad cyber extortion coverage including cryptocurrency payment, and reputational-harm coverage for PR costs from adverse publicity. 3Company-reported. Product-page coverage highlights; the issued policy and endorsements control actual terms. At-Bay sells cyber insurance with optional InsurSec security tiers: Core includes vulnerability monitoring and a fraud-defense sub-limit; Advanced adds a reduced ransomware retention and a zero-hour ransomware waiting period; Complete adds a $0 financial-fraud retention and a $1 million financial-fraud sub-limit. Each higher tier requires a separately purchased managed detection and response (MDR) subscription. 3Company-reported. Product-page InsurSec package descriptions and footnotes; availability depends on the business's risk profile and qualifying conditions. | WTW's FY2024 annual report lists cyber insurance among FINEX solutions; its Digital Infrastructure Protector describes cyber protection as one part of a broader data-center solution. 11,8Company-reported. Historical group-level FINEX capability and a separately scoped data-center solution; neither source establishes current standalone cyber terms or eligibility. |
| Limits and Retentions | At-Bay says it writes primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion and limits up to $10 million. Through its Broker Platform, brokers can get automated quotes only for businesses up to $100 million in revenue and $3 million in limits. 3Company-reported. Published appetite ceilings, not guaranteed offers; underwriting and the appetite guide control individual accounts. | The reviewed sources do not state a buyer-specific cyber limit, retention, or deductible. 12,11,8Not publicly disclosed. No limit or deductible is inferred from general marketing or WTW's brokerage role; the insurer's quote and issued forms control. |
| Risk Services | Every At-Bay cyber policy includes access to At-Bay Stance, a security platform with vulnerability monitoring, vCISO advisory and tabletop exercises, and security awareness training. Managed detection and response (MDR) for endpoints or email costs extra, $16 or $25 per user per month respectively, and is sold separately by At-Bay Security, LLC. 3Company-reported. Product-page InsurSec and footnote descriptions; MDR pricing is described as estimated and subject to change. | WTW's North American terms describe reviewing binders, policies, and endorsements against the terms negotiated with the insurer. 12Company-reported. Broker document-review process under the cited terms, when WTW handles this line's placement. It does not certify that a policy covers a claim or replace the issued wording. |
| How to Apply | You apply for At-Bay cyber coverage by emailing a submission to underwriting@at-bay.com or by requesting an automated quote through At-Bay's Broker Platform. 3Company-reported. Product-page submission instructions; the Broker Platform route is limited to accounts within its lower appetite ceilings. | WTW's North American terms say an insurer quote is not confirmation of coverage; if the client orders binding, WTW seeks a formal insurer commitment, typically a binder. 12Company-reported. Applies to placements governed by the cited North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms. It does not establish a self-service quote route or promise coverage availability for this line. |
| Claims Support | At-Bay describes an in-house claims team and a named breach-coach phone line for active ransomware or system-interruption incidents, alongside a published cyber incident roadmap that assembles response partners after a claim is reported. 6Company-reported. Claims-handling page process description; does not establish claim outcomes or payment speed. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More At-Bay vs WTW Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
At-Bay
- Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Coverage & Policy Highlights. At-Bay; Cyber Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite; InsurSec Packages (Core, Advanced, Complete); footnotes 1–7. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Licenses. At-Bay; At-Bay Insurance Services LLC producer introduction and 50-state P&C/surplus-lines license table. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper. At-Bay; August 9, 2023 release: "At-Bay ... has begun issuing Cyber and Tech E&O policies under its Delaware-based Excess and Surplus (E&S) carrier, At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company"; "All E&S Cyber and Tech E&O new business in eligible states and territories is now being quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, as of August 7, 2023". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Claims Handling. At-Bay; At-Bay Cyber Incident Roadmap; Call an At-Bay Breach Coach; The At-Bay Claims Team. Accessed 2026-09-23.
WTW
- Manufacturing. WTW; “How WTW can help manufacturers”; “How we serve our clients”; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Digital Infrastructure Protector. WTW; Integrated policy coverage for building, operational property, marine and cargo under one policy; integrated data-center construction/operations; cyber and liability protection in broader solution; separate-policy preference caveat; capacity and North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Marine. WTW; “Our solutions” cargo brokerage; marine specialist count; claims advice and average-adjuster service; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Residential | WTW. WTW; “Specialized insurance products”: lists property insurance and financial lines, including errors and omissions; inspected official indexed text 2026-09-29. Direct reader access failed; indexed page crawl was about five months old. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- WTW 2024 Form 10-K. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / Willis Towers Watson Public Limited Company; Part I, Item 1, FINEX and Surety business descriptions: the 2024 annual report identifies management and professional liability, employment practices, crime, cyber and M&A insurance solutions, and a global bond-placement team; indexed passages rechecked 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Corporate Risk & Broking Brokerage Terms, Conditions & Disclosures (Canada & US). WTW; Document dated 2025-06-01; pp. 4–6: broker/intermediary role, quote versus binding process, review of binders/policies/endorsements, claims reporting and affiliate disclosures. Reused from the current WTW provider source record after direct PDF retrieval was blocked. Accessed 2026-09-28.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.





