At-Bay vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

At-Bay offers InsurSec tier changes when a business’s risk profile and qualifying conditions make them available; THREE lists Cyber Liability in its Business Owners Policy. 3,9,8

What Is At-Bay Insurance?

At-Bay targets technology firms with up to $5 billion in revenue and offers cyber limits up to $10 million, plus technology E&O; buyers seeking a standard online business package should compare other carriers. Managed detection and response costs extra. 1,2

Read the At-Bay profile

Read the At-Bay Cyber Insurance page

THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes

THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 7,8

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Cyber Insurance page

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

InsurSec Tiers Change Ransomware and Fraud Terms

At-Bay says InsurSec tier availability depends on the business’s risk profile and qualifying conditions. Where available, Advanced reduces the ransomware retention and adds a zero-hour ransomware waiting period; Complete adds a $0 financial-fraud retention and a $1 million financial-fraud sublimit. Each higher tier requires a separately purchased managed detection and response (MDR) subscription. THREE lists Cyber Liability among its Business Owners Policy categories; that listing does not establish which cyber agreements or add-ons appear in your quote. 3 9

Broker Quote Access Differs from THREE’s Online Package Route

At-Bay describes broker-platform automated quotes for accounts up to $100 million in revenue and $3 million in limits, while its broader cyber appetite extends to larger businesses. THREE directs small-business prospects to an online Business Owners Policy quote and offers licensed-advisor help. If you need a higher limit, ask At-Bay whether the broker-platform threshold applies to your submission; ask THREE to confirm that cyber is included in the package offered to your business. 3 7

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • For At-Bay, ask which InsurSec tiers your risk profile and qualifying conditions make available, then confirm the selected tier’s ransomware retention, zero-hour waiting period if applicable, fraud sublimit, and separate MDR subscription price. 3
  • For THREE, confirm whether cyber appears in the quote, its separate limit and deductible, and which first-party costs the form covers. 9

At-Bay and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

At-Bay Review Score

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.[3][6][9]

Read At-Bay reviews

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Score

7.3/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]

Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviews

At-Bay vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Cyber Insurance Compared

At-Bay vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAt-Bay Cyber InsuranceTHREE Business Owners Policy
Role in This Line

At-Bay places cyber insurance through its disclosed producer, At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, which is licensed as an insurance producer in all 50 states. At-Bay says eligible new excess-and-surplus (E&S) cyber business has been written on its own carrier paper, At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company, since August 2023. 4,5Company-reported. Producer role from the current license page; carrier role from a 2023 transition announcement, not confirmed for every current cyber quote.

THREE presents Cyber as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 9Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.

Issuing Insurer

The current cyber product page does not name an issuing insurer. At-Bay's 2023 announcement says new E&S cyber business is quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, but that is a historical statement, not a per-quote disclosure. 3,5Company-reported. Cyber product page checked today names no insurer; the carrier-transition release is dated August 2023 and does not cover every current state or account.

The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 8Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.

Who It’s For

Confirm in your quote.

The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Cyber; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 9,7Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.

Coverage Features

At-Bay lists direct and contingent business interruption and system failure coverage, social engineering and invoice manipulation coverage for all classes of business, full limits for cryptojacking and bricking, broad cyber extortion coverage including cryptocurrency payment, and reputational-harm coverage for PR costs from adverse publicity. 3Company-reported. Product-page coverage highlights; the issued policy and endorsements control actual terms.

At-Bay sells cyber insurance with optional InsurSec security tiers: Core includes vulnerability monitoring and a fraud-defense sub-limit; Advanced adds a reduced ransomware retention and a zero-hour ransomware waiting period; Complete adds a $0 financial-fraud retention and a $1 million financial-fraud sub-limit. Each higher tier requires a separately purchased managed detection and response (MDR) subscription. 3Company-reported. Product-page InsurSec package descriptions and footnotes; availability depends on the business's risk profile and qualifying conditions.

THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Cyber Liability among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 9,8Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Cyber. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

At-Bay says it writes primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion and limits up to $10 million. Through its Broker Platform, brokers can get automated quotes only for businesses up to $100 million in revenue and $3 million in limits. 3Company-reported. Published appetite ceilings, not guaranteed offers; underwriting and the appetite guide control individual accounts.

The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Cyber; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 9,8Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.

Risk Services

Every At-Bay cyber policy includes access to At-Bay Stance, a security platform with vulnerability monitoring, vCISO advisory and tabletop exercises, and security awareness training. Managed detection and response (MDR) for endpoints or email costs extra, $16 or $25 per user per month respectively, and is sold separately by At-Bay Security, LLC. 3Company-reported. Product-page InsurSec and footnote descriptions; MDR pricing is described as estimated and subject to change.

Confirm in your quote.

How to Apply

You apply for At-Bay cyber coverage by emailing a submission to underwriting@at-bay.com or by requesting an automated quote through At-Bay's Broker Platform. 3Company-reported. Product-page submission instructions; the Broker Platform route is limited to accounts within its lower appetite ceilings.

THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 7Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Cyber will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.

Claims Support

At-Bay describes an in-house claims team and a named breach-coach phone line for active ransomware or system-interruption incidents, alongside a published cyber incident roadmap that assembles response partners after a claim is reported. 6Company-reported. Claims-handling page process description; does not establish claim outcomes or payment speed.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for At-Bay vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Cyber

Cyber Insurance Pages for At-Bay and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

Other Coverage Lines Compared for At-Bay vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

Other Cyber Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for At-Bay vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Cyber Insurance

Sources About At-Bay

  1. Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Policy Highlights. At-Bay; Cyber Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite; InsurSec Packages (Core, Advanced, Complete); footnotes 1–7. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Licenses. At-Bay; At-Bay Insurance Services LLC producer introduction and 50-state P&C/surplus-lines license table. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper. At-Bay; August 9, 2023 release: "At-Bay ... has begun issuing Cyber and Tech E&O policies under its Delaware-based Excess and Surplus (E&S) carrier, At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company"; "All E&S Cyber and Tech E&O new business in eligible states and territories is now being quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, as of August 7, 2023". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Claims Handling. At-Bay; At-Bay Cyber Incident Roadmap; Call an At-Bay Breach Coach; The At-Bay Claims Team. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources About THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  1. Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  2. The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  3. Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Sources for the Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot