Aon vs CNA: How Do They Compare for Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Aon brokers K&R through its Professional Services Practice, while CNA lists the line in its Management Liability offer and its detailed brochure dates to 2012. 3,7,8

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

CNA Small Business Insurance: Products, Agents and Service

CNA directs small-business buyers to independent agents and describes CNA Connect as a businessowners policy for more than 600 small-business classes. Issuer and availability vary by policy and state, so confirm both in a quote. 4,5,6

Read the CNA profile

Read the CNA Kidnap and Ransom Insurance page

What Is Kidnap and Ransom Insurance?

Kidnap and ransom insurance provides financial protection for specified kidnapping and extortion events and gives the business access to a crisis-response firm. Check who is insured, which events are named, and how territory and sanctions terms apply to your actual travel. 9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance

Aon’s professional-services placement and CNA’s listed coverage

Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within a global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting, and consulting firms. CNA currently lists K&R on its Management Liability page, while its detailed brochure is from 2012. A buyer can compare the intended professional-services audience with CNA’s older description of organizations with overseas travelers or operations, but should ask CNA to confirm that its current policy and response arrangements still match that older material. 3 7

Crisis support and source currency

Aon describes advisers who use industry knowledge, data, and tools for risk decisions, but its page does not state K&R response-consultant terms. CNA’s brochure names red24 for security advice and response support. Since the cited detail is older, ask CNA to confirm the currently available provider and service level; ask Aon to put the proposed response arrangement in its placement terms. 3 8

What to Confirm in Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Aon which insurer, response consultant, and crisis costs are covered in its proposed placement. 3 7
  • Ask CNA whether the red24 service and the brochure’s covered events remain current for your quote. 3 8

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

CNA

9.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Customer feedback on CNA is mixed and hard to compare. NerdWallet gave it 4.5 out of 5 for manufacturers, while Trustpilot shows about 1.4 out of 5 from 49 mostly self-selected reviews.[1][5]

Read CNA reviews

Offering Details

Aon vs CNA: Kidnap and Ransom Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAon Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion brokerage and risk-advisory offeringKidnap, Ransom and Extortion
Role in This Line

Aon presents Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.

Confirm in your quote.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.

CNA’s 2012 brochure identifies organizations with overseas travelers or operations among typical buyers and names manufacturers, professional-services firms, hospitals, financial institutions, technology and construction companies. 8Company-reported. Historical target examples are not current underwriting rules or eligibility guarantees.

Coverage Features

Aon lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion within its professional-services property-and-casualty coverage areas. The page does not describe covered events, response services, limits or policy terms. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.

CNA’s current Management Liability page lists Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion; the older CNA brochure describes insured events including kidnapping, extortion, hijack and detention. 7,8Company-reported. The current page confirms catalogue membership; 2012 brochure details are historical marketing and may not match current forms.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.

Confirm in your quote.

Risk Services

Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.

The brochure describes access to crisis-response services from red24, including security advice and response support. 8Company-reported. The 2012 source does not establish the current vendor arrangement or services attached to a present-day quote.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

CNA’s current Management Liability page tells agents to request applications through the Agent Center. 7Company-reported. This is a general management-liability submission direction; the page does not describe a buyer-direct K&R flow.

Full Comparison

More Aon vs CNA Comparisons

Other Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.

CNA

  1. Insurance for Small Businesses. CNA; Insurance for Small Businesses, lines 38-50 and 65-67 (CNA Central and agent route); lines 79-106 (product and stated appetite lists); page footer line 132 (CNA registered service mark). Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. CNA Connect Small Businessowners Policy (BOP) | CNA Insurance. CNA; CNA Connect; coverages, product range, services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. General Disclaimer. CNA; General Disclaimer paragraphs 1 and 5 (HTML lines 24 and 28): CNA describes Continental Casualty Company and its relevant affiliates; references to CNA may include one or more CCC affiliates; each particular policy/product/service is the responsibility only of the specific CNA company that issues or supplies it. Footer line 57 identifies CNA Financial Corporation as trademark registrant. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Management Liability Insurance and Professional Liability. CNA; Current U.S. page: management liability names crime and kidnap/ransom/extortion; lists management product coverages and Epack 3 modular structure, application channel and caveats. Retrieved 2026-09-30. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  5. Kidnap, Ransom and Extortion Coverage From CNA. CNA; Official brochure: named insured persons, event categories, crisis response services, target buyers and worldwide wording; dated KRESS FL 040412 (2012), historical product summary, not evidence all provisions remain current. Retrieved 2026-09-30. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Kidnap and Ransom Insurance Guide

  1. Kidnap and Ransom Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening; Applications; Sample policy forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Kidnap Ransom and Extortion Insurance. Chubb; Opening; Kidnap, Ransom & Extortion Insurance Highlights. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Kidnap and Ransom Coverage. Travelers; I pp.1–2; III pp.3–9; IV p.9; V pp.10–13. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot