Aon vs At-Bay: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

Aon describes cyber claims preparation and advocacy with third-party incident-response providers. At-Bay lists interruption, invoice manipulation, social engineering and cyber extortion protections, with optional security tiers that change fraud and ransomware terms. 3,6

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon Cyber Insurance page

What Is At-Bay Insurance?

At-Bay targets technology firms with up to $5 billion in revenue and offers cyber limits up to $10 million, plus technology E&O; buyers seeking a standard online business package should compare other carriers. Managed detection and response costs extra. 4,5

Read the At-Bay profile

Read the At-Bay Cyber Insurance page

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

Published coverage and security tiers

Aon describes brokerage review of varying cyber policy terms rather than standard coverage. At-Bay lists direct and contingent business interruption, system failure, social engineering, invoice manipulation, cryptojacking and cyber extortion. Its InsurSec tiers add distinct terms: Advanced reduces ransomware retention and removes a waiting period, while Complete adds a $0 financial-fraud retention and $1 million fraud sublimit. Buyers should compare tier cost and limits with their exposures. 3 6

Claims help and quote access

Aon describes claims preparation and advocacy and relationships with response vendors whose contracts are separate. At-Bay describes an in-house claims team, breach-coach phone line and incident roadmap for ransomware or system interruption. At-Bay also offers broker-platform automated quotes within revenue and limit thresholds, while larger submissions can go to underwriting. Confirm the account-specific route and who will coordinate response. 3 9

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • Ask At-Bay which InsurSec tier and MDR subscription are quoted, and verify fraud sublimits, ransomware retention and waiting-period terms. 3 6
  • Ask Aon about vendor contracts and compensation; ask At-Bay to confirm insurer, claims contact, revenue eligibility and quote limits. 3 6

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

At-Bay

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.[3][6][9]

Read At-Bay reviews

Offering Details

Aon vs At-Bay: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAon Cyber brokerage and risk-advisory offeringAt-Bay Cyber Insurance
Role in This Line

Aon describes cyber insurance brokerage and risk-advisory services. It is not identified as the risk-bearing insurer, and the global page does not name the carrier for a particular placement. 3Company-reported. Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance.

At-Bay places cyber insurance through its disclosed producer, At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, which is licensed as an insurance producer in all 50 states. At-Bay says eligible new excess-and-surplus (E&S) cyber business has been written on its own carrier paper, At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company, since August 2023. 7,8Company-reported. Producer role from the current license page; carrier role from a 2023 transition announcement, not confirmed for every current cyber quote.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available.

The current cyber product page does not name an issuing insurer. At-Bay's 2023 announcement says new E&S cyber business is quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, but that is a historical statement, not a per-quote disclosure. 6,8Company-reported. Cyber product page checked today names no insurer; the carrier-transition release is dated August 2023 and does not cover every current state or account.

Who It’s For

Aon describes cyber services for organizations managing cyber risk. Its global practice page does not publish a complete industry, revenue, security-control or state-by-state eligibility schedule. 3Company-reported. Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state.

Confirm in your quote.

Coverage Features

Aon describes cyber insurance as one part of cyber risk financing and says it reviews policy offerings because terms and conditions vary. For professional-services firms, it discusses coordinating cyber and professional-liability coverage. This is brokerage guidance and does not establish the terms of any cyber policy. 3Company-reported. Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control.

At-Bay lists direct and contingent business interruption and system failure coverage, social engineering and invoice manipulation coverage for all classes of business, full limits for cryptojacking and bricking, broad cyber extortion coverage including cryptocurrency payment, and reputational-harm coverage for PR costs from adverse publicity. 6Company-reported. Product-page coverage highlights; the issued policy and endorsements control actual terms.

At-Bay sells cyber insurance with optional InsurSec security tiers: Core includes vulnerability monitoring and a fraud-defense sub-limit; Advanced adds a reduced ransomware retention and a zero-hour ransomware waiting period; Complete adds a $0 financial-fraud retention and a $1 million financial-fraud sub-limit. Each higher tier requires a separately purchased managed detection and response (MDR) subscription. 6Company-reported. Product-page InsurSec package descriptions and footnotes; availability depends on the business's risk profile and qualifying conditions.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed.

At-Bay says it writes primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion and limits up to $10 million. Through its Broker Platform, brokers can get automated quotes only for businesses up to $100 million in revenue and $3 million in limits. 6Company-reported. Published appetite ceilings, not guaranteed offers; underwriting and the appetite guide control individual accounts.

Risk Services

Aon describes cyber claims advocacy and preparation and relationships with third-party incident-response providers. The retained official source notes that provider contracts are separate, no performance guarantee is made, and referral remuneration may occur; confirm the providers, scope and compensation applicable to a client. 3Company-reported. Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated.

Every At-Bay cyber policy includes access to At-Bay Stance, a security platform with vulnerability monitoring, vCISO advisory and tabletop exercises, and security awareness training. Managed detection and response (MDR) for endpoints or email costs extra, $16 or $25 per user per month respectively, and is sold separately by At-Bay Security, LLC. 6Company-reported. Product-page InsurSec and footnote descriptions; MDR pricing is described as estimated and subject to change.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

You apply for At-Bay cyber coverage by emailing a submission to underwriting@at-bay.com or by requesting an automated quote through At-Bay's Broker Platform. 6Company-reported. Product-page submission instructions; the Broker Platform route is limited to accounts within its lower appetite ceilings.

Claims Support

Confirm in your quote.

At-Bay describes an in-house claims team and a named breach-coach phone line for active ransomware or system-interruption incidents, alongside a published cyber incident roadmap that assembles response partners after a claim is reported. 9Company-reported. Claims-handling page process description; does not establish claim outcomes or payment speed.

Full Comparison

More Aon vs At-Bay Comparisons

Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Cyber Risk. Aon; Global cyber risk financing/insurance overview and brokerage practice; claims preparation and advocacy, incident response providers and referral remuneration disclosures, lines 194–230 as retained in Aon’s official source record; Professional Services Practice cyber cross-reference, lines 151–156. Accessed 2026-09-30.

At-Bay

  1. Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Policy Highlights. At-Bay; Cyber Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite; InsurSec Packages (Core, Advanced, Complete); footnotes 1–7. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Licenses. At-Bay; At-Bay Insurance Services LLC producer introduction and 50-state P&C/surplus-lines license table. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper. At-Bay; August 9, 2023 release: "At-Bay ... has begun issuing Cyber and Tech E&O policies under its Delaware-based Excess and Surplus (E&S) carrier, At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company"; "All E&S Cyber and Tech E&O new business in eligible states and territories is now being quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, as of August 7, 2023". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Claims Handling. At-Bay; At-Bay Cyber Incident Roadmap; Call an At-Bay Breach Coach; The At-Bay Claims Team. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot