Amelia Risk vs RiskCube D&O Insurance

Amelia Risk budgets weeks for D&O underwriting; RiskCube uses a roughly 10-minute digital intake and an AI-exclusion check.

What Is Amelia Risk?

Amelia Risk is a women-owned San Francisco insurance brokerage that says it designs commercial programs for startups, consumer packaged goods, technology companies, and consumer-product brands by approaching multiple insurers rather than selling a self-serve policy. 1,2,3

Read the Amelia Risk profile

What Is RiskCube Insurance?

RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 10,11,12

Read the RiskCube profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 14

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Intake Clock

Amelia Risk and RiskCube both broker D&O. Amelia Risk’s co-founder says underwriting can take a few days to a few weeks once complete information is provided and recommends budgeting two to three weeks. 5 RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes. 13 Those clocks measure different steps: Amelia Risk’s comment is underwriting time; RiskCube’s is intake plus quote comparison.

AI Washing Screen

RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address “AI washing” allegations and oversight claims. 13 Amelia Risk lists D&O for technology companies among other segments, without describing an AI-exclusion screen on the reviewed pages. 7 RiskCube also targets startups raising institutional funding or adding board members, and regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space. 13 Amelia Risk times purchase to outside funding and Series A term sheets. 4

Insurer Disclosure

RiskCube’s disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that products including D&O are underwritten by unnamed third-party carriers. 12 Amelia Risk’s reviewed pages also do not name a D&O insurer. 4 Neither page publishes specific limits. 13 4

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • If you are an AI company, ask RiskCube what the pre-bind exclusion check found. 13
  • Ask Amelia Risk for a bind date against its two-to-three-week budget. 5
  • Get the issuing insurer from both. 12 4
  • Confirm limits; neither public page posts them. 13

Offering Details

Amelia Risk vs RiskCube D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAmelia Risk Directors & Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance BrokerageRiskCube Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

Amelia Risk arranges D&O liability coverage for clients, describing and structuring the policy around protecting individual directors and officers, the board, and the company entity, rather than underwriting it directly. 4Company-reported. D&O product page as of 23 September 2026. Does not establish who issues a particular client's policy.

RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 13Company-reported. D&O product page footer and general framing of the coverage as "tailored D&O coverage" it provides access to, not a self-underwritten product.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed pages do not name an insurer for D&O placements; Amelia's marketing describes access to underwriters, wholesale brokers and carrier partners generally, without attributing any of them to D&O specifically. 4Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page and podcast transcript, checked 23 September 2026.

RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including D&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the D&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 12,13Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Amelia Risk lists D&O among the policies it places for startups, technology companies, CPG brands, and consumer-product companies. 6,7,8,9Company-reported. Specialty pages' "policies to consider" lists, marketed segments rather than an underwriting appetite statement.

Amelia Risk says most companies consider D&O once they've taken outside funding, that Series A term sheets usually require it, and that it's becoming more common to see D&O bought at the seed stage as seed rounds grow larger. 4,5Company-reported. D&O product page timing guidance, restated in more detail by co-founder Danielle Holyoake in the company's podcast episode.

RiskCube targets D&O at startups raising institutional funding rounds or adding board members, and at regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors and boards increasingly require D&O as a closing condition. 13Company-reported. D&O product page "Who needs D&O insurance" section.

Coverage Features

Amelia describes the D&O policy as covering the individual directors and officers, the board, and the entity, with claims typically alleging mismanagement and most often coming from shareholders, though they can also come from regulators, competitors, or employees. 4Company-reported. D&O product page description; the actual policy wording, definitions, and exclusions depend on the issuing insurer and the client's declarations.

In the company's podcast, co-founder Danielle Holyoake says the D&O policies she has reviewed and sold generally define "directors and officers" broadly enough to include employees and even interns, rather than naming specific individuals on the policy. 5Company-reported. Her description of policies she has personally reviewed and sold, not a specimen form or a statement about every D&O policy Amelia places.

RiskCube describes a typical private-company D&O program as combining Side A coverage (individual directors and officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B coverage (reimbursing the company after it indemnifies leadership) and Side C coverage (protecting the company itself). 13Company-reported. D&O product page coverage explanation.

RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier and policy wording. 13Company-reported. D&O product page "Common Exclusions" section.

Limits and Retentions

Not described in the reviewed sources.

RiskCube says needed D&O limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 13Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page "How much D&O insurance do startups need" FAQ.

Risk Services

The reviewed D&O materials don't describe governance training, board-advisory services, or other risk-control services specific to D&O policyholders beyond the coverage description and general claims-advocacy language. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page and podcast transcript as read on 23 September 2026; does not establish that no such services exist, only that these pages don't describe them.

RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 13Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ.

How to Apply

Amelia's co-founder says D&O underwriting can take as little as a few days to a few weeks once complete information is provided, and recommends budgeting two to three weeks; she also cautions founders not to wait until a funding round or other transaction is imminent, because decisions made before a claims-made D&O policy starts aren't covered by it. 5Company-reported. Illustrative timing comment in a company-hosted podcast interview, not a binding service-level agreement.

RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically returning D&O quotes within one to two business days and proof of coverage in about 24 hours after a policy is selected. 13Company-reported. D&O product page process steps and "How fast can we get D and O insurance quotes" FAQ.

Claims Support

Not described in the reviewed sources.

The reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 13Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Full Comparison

More Amelia Risk vs RiskCube Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Amelia Risk

  1. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Who is Amelia?; specialty tiles for startups, CPG, technology, and consumer products; schema.org Organization name and logo; footer locations San Francisco and East Bay; Client Login Portal, Pay Now, and Privacy links; official logo asset. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Our Specialties. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Narrow industry-vertical focus; underwriters, brokers, and carrier partners; four-step process; claims advocacy sentence; specialty sections for startups, CPG, technology, and consumer products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. About Us. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Opening brokerage description; How we're different (no multiple PDFs to print, sign, and scan); We do the right thing (underwriters, wholesale brokers, and strategic partners). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers Liability. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; What's covered by a Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) Policy?; When should a company buy a Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) Policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Podcast Episode – Beyond The Certificate With Startup CPG. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Danielle Holyoake (CRO and co-founder) on D&O: why it comes up during fundraising, who it protects, when claims typically arise, underwriting timing of days to a few weeks with complete information, budgeting two to three weeks, and the caution against waiting until a transaction is imminent. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Insurance For Startups. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Insurance policies for startups to consider: Directors & Officers Liability (D&O). Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Insurance For Technology Companies. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Insurance policies for tech companies to consider: Directors & Officers Liability (D&O). Accessed 2026-09-23.
  8. Insurance For CPG Companies. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Insurance policies for CPG companies to consider: Directors & Officers Liability (D&O). Accessed 2026-09-23.
  9. Consumer Product Insurance. Amelia Risk Insurance Brokers; Insurance policies for Consumer Product companies to consider: Directors & Officers Liability (D&O). Accessed 2026-09-23.

RiskCube

  1. Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs D&O; Side A/B/C coverage explanation; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot