Alliance Risk vs
USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance
USI's PrivaSafe program adds named sublimits like $2 million in notification costs on top of the aggregate; Alliance Risk publishes a simpler limit table instead.
What Is Alliance Risk?
Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 5,6,7
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 10
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
Named Sublimits Versus One Aggregate Table
USI's manuscripted PrivaSafe program layers named sublimits on top of the base coverage, while Alliance Risk instead publishes one recommended-limit table by business profile without describing any comparable added sublimits:
USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.
A Middle-Market Focus Versus a Wider Range
USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms with limited in-house security expertise, while Alliance Risk's guidance spans a wider range, from sole proprietors up to larger healthcare and finance companies, without singling out the middle market. 8 3
Documentation Required Versus None Listed
USI says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies, a vulnerability assessment and recent audited financials before it reviews exposure, while Alliance Risk's page instead opens with a quote request or risk-assessment booking without listing comparable documentation requirements. 8 3
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
- Ask USI which specific carrier would underwrite your manuscripted PrivaSafe form, since USI describes it as negotiated with the market rather than tied to one insurer. 8
- Ask Alliance Risk which carrier it plans to place your program with. 3
- Confirm whether USI's added notification and defense-cost sublimits apply on top of your chosen aggregate limit. 8
- Ask whether Alliance Risk's regulatory-fine coverage is included by default or requires a separate endorsement. 3
Offering Details
Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Alliance Risk Cyber Liability Insurance | USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk designs cyber programs backed by breach response planning, forensic support and advisory, as a brokerage that arranges placement rather than underwriting the policy itself. 3,4Company-reported. Cyber product page, opening section, and the general brokerage disclosure on the coverage catalogue page. | USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 8,6Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages. |
| Issuing Insurer | The cyber page does not name the insurer that would issue an Alliance Risk-placed cyber policy. It separately lists carriers active in the broader cyber market, including Chubb, AIG, Coalition, Hiscox and others, as general market education rather than as Alliance's own carrier panel. 3Not publicly disclosed. Cyber product page, Choosing Cyber Insurance Carriers and Brokers section, as read on 2026-09-23. | USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found. |
| Who It’s For | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 8Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement. |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk's cyber offering combines first-party coverage (data recovery, business interruption, breach notification, credit monitoring, forensic investigation, crisis management and cyber extortion or ransomware payments) with third-party coverage (legal defense, settlements and judgments, regulatory fines and penalties, PCI-DSS assessments, and media liability). 3Company-reported. Cyber product page, First-Party vs. Third-Party Cyber Coverage section; actual policy structure depends on the carrier and the policy as issued. Alliance Risk says its cyber programs include coverage for legal expenses and fines imposed by data protection authorities such as the FTC, HIPAA enforcers or GDPR enforcers. 3Company-reported. Cyber product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section. | USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | Alliance Risk's cyber page says most small businesses buy $1 million per-occurrence and $1 million aggregate limits with roughly $2,500 deductibles, and it publishes a recommended-limit table by business profile, ranging from $500,000-$1 million for sole proprietors to $5 million or more for healthcare and finance companies. These are general guidance, not a quoted limit for a specific business. 3Company-reported. Cyber product page, How Much Cyber Insurance Do You Need? section. | USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations. |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk says it provides dedicated incident response planning ahead of a breach, with designated forensic, legal and notification vendors on standby, along with data exposure and network vulnerability analysis. 3Company-reported. Cyber product page, Our Approach to Cyber Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections. Alliance Risk says its cyber programs often come bundled with proactive security services from cybersecurity vendors, such as vulnerability scans, employee security training and phishing simulations. 3Company-reported. Cyber product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section. | USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 8,9Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description. |
| How to Apply | You request a cyber quote or book a risk assessment with an Alliance Risk advisor through the calls to action on the cyber product page; the page does not list specific underwriting information required for a cyber submission. 3Company-reported. Cyber product page quote and consultation calls to action. | To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description. |
Full Comparison
More Alliance Risk vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Alliance Risk
- About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Liability Insurance: Costs, Limits & What You'll Pay. Alliance Risk; Cyber Liability Insurance That Moves at the Speed of Risk; Our Approach to Cyber Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Cyber Insurance Covers; How Much Cyber Insurance Do You Need?; First-Party vs. Third-Party Cyber Coverage; Choosing Cyber Insurance Carriers and Brokers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Alliance Products. Alliance Risk; Footer brokerage disclosure: "Alliance Risk is an insurance brokerage focused on providing clients with commercial insurance across a wide array of industries.". Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.





