Alliance Risk vs
RiskCube Key Person Insurance
RiskCube sizes benefits to investor or lender covenants; Alliance Risk describes optional loan and buy-sell funding.
What Is Alliance Risk?
Alliance Risk describes itself as an independent commercial insurance brokerage serving complex businesses, including technology startups. Its offering includes technology E&O placement and review of existing policies. 1,2
What Is RiskCube Insurance?
RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 4,5,6
What Is Key Person Insurance?
Key person insurance pays the business, not the person’s family, when a founder, partner or employee it relies on dies. Disability, overhead expense and buyout funding are separate products to discuss on their own. 9,10,11,12
Key Differences in Key Person Insurance
Why the Coverage Is Requested
RiskCube says buyers usually need this line because an investor term sheet or a venture-debt covenant requires it, and it is commonly triggered for solo founders. Alliance Risk also notes that lenders or investors often require the coverage, but it lists a wider set of companies: startups dependent on a founder, venture-backed firms, sales-driven shops, professional-services groups, and businesses with a public-facing leader. If your need is a closing condition, RiskCube’s described use case matches that path; if it is internal key-person risk without a covenant, Alliance Risk’s described audience is broader. 7 3
Death Benefit Versus Death or Disability
RiskCube describes a company-owned life policy that pays a lump sum if the insured dies during the term. Disability, critical illness, resignation, and a personal beneficiary are excluded or handled separately on that record. Alliance Risk describes a life or disability policy that pays the business a lump sum if the named person dies or becomes disabled, and it can add loan-repayment protection, buy-sell funding, or recruiting costs. If you need disability proceeds, that is on Alliance Risk’s described form, not on RiskCube’s described death benefit. 7 3
How the Face Amount Is Chosen
RiskCube says common amounts are 5–10 times compensation, the outstanding venture-debt balance, or a fixed term-sheet figure often between $1 million and $5 million, set by the investor or lender rather than a RiskCube cap. Alliance Risk’s reviewed page does not publish those formulas, so you would size the Alliance Risk quote from your own analysis or from whatever the advisor proposes. 7 3
Consent and Who Can Issue the Policy
RiskCube splits intake: a company application plus a separate process for the proposed insured, whose written consent may be required before the policy is submitted or placed. Alliance Risk’s page does not describe that two-step consent path, so you still need to confirm how the named employee is notified. 7 8 3
RiskCube’s licenses page lists California and Delaware property-and-casualty producer licenses and does not show a life-line license for RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC. Alliance Risk’s page also does not name a life insurer. Ask both which licensed entity will place the life policy. 5 3
What to Confirm in Key Person Insurance Quotes
- Ask RiskCube which life insurer will issue the policy and how placement works given the reviewed licenses page. 5 7
- Confirm whether Alliance Risk is quoting life, disability or both, and whether RiskCube’s quote is death-only. 3 7
- Match benefit amounts to the term-sheet or loan covenant; RiskCube says the investor or lender often sets the number. 7
- Confirm written consent from the proposed insured on both placements. 8
Offering Details
Alliance Risk vs RiskCube Key Person Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Key Person Insurance | RiskCube Key Person Life Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube places key person life insurance as a business-owned policy in which the company is both the policy owner and beneficiary; RiskCube acts as broker and does not itself carry the risk. 7Company-reported. Product page description of policy structure. |
| Issuing Insurer | The dedicated key person page does not name any life or disability insurer that Alliance Risk places this coverage with. 3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the full dedicated product page as read on 2026-09-23; no carrier is identified for this line anywhere on the page. | RiskCube's key person page and notice do not name the issuing life insurer. Its licenses page lists only property-and-casualty producer/broker licenses for California and Delaware, and does not show a life-line license for RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC. 7,5Not publicly disclosed. Public pages checked on 2026-09-23; a life-line license or appointment could exist without being listed on this page. |
| Who It’s For | Alliance Risk lists startups or small businesses dependent on a founder, venture-backed companies raising institutional capital, sales-driven organizations with one top performer, law firms, consultancies or professional-services groups, and companies with a charismatic public-facing leader as businesses that typically need this coverage, and says lenders or investors often require it during financing rounds. 3Company-reported. Dedicated Alliance Risk product page for this line, as read on 2026-09-23. | RiskCube says key person coverage is most often driven by investor term-sheet closing conditions, venture-lender loan covenants (naming Hercules, Silicon Valley Bank and Western Technology Investment as examples), and is most commonly triggered for solo founders because there is no co-founder fallback. 7Company-reported. Product-page description of typical buyers; a specific investor or lender requirement still governs the required amount. |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk describes key person insurance as a life or disability policy a business buys on an essential employee, such as a founder, CEO or top salesperson, that pays the business a lump sum if that person dies or becomes disabled. 3Company-reported. Product page "What Is Key Person Insurance?" section; the issued policy and declarations control actual terms. Alliance Risk says this coverage typically pays a lump sum to the business on the death or disability of an essential employee, and can optionally add loan-repayment protection, buy-sell funding, or recruiting and onboarding costs for a replacement. 3Company-reported. Product page "What Does Key Person Insurance Cover?" section; the issued policy and declarations control actual terms. Alliance Risk's page states this coverage does not cover losses from other causes such as reputational harm, does not provide business continuity planning or transition support, and does not extend beyond the specifically named key employee. 3Company-reported. Product page "What Doesn't Key Person Insurance Cover?" section; the issued policy controls actual exclusions. | RiskCube lists the death of the insured person during the policy term as the covered event, paying the company a lump-sum benefit; disability, critical illness, voluntary departure or resignation, and a personal (non-company) beneficiary are excluded or handled separately, per the page's "What is not covered" section. 7Company-reported. Product-page summary of standard term life structure; the issued policy and any riders control. |
| Limits and Retentions | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube says common key person benefit structures are 5-10x the key person's annual compensation, the outstanding venture-debt balance, or a fixed term-sheet amount commonly between $1 million and $5 million, with the exact amount set by the investor or lender rather than a RiskCube maximum. 7Company-reported. Illustrative structures from the FAQ; actual amount depends on underwriting and the specific investor or lender requirement. |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk publishes risk-management guidance for this line: identify key roles and quantify their business impact, pair the policy with a documented succession plan, cross-train team members to reduce dependency, and review the policy structure annually as the company evolves. 3Company-reported. Product page "Risk Management Tips" section; this is published guidance, not a described policyholder service program. | RiskCube says it can replace a key person policy when the insured individual changes, such as a change in CEO, to help maintain compliance with a venture-debt covenant. 7Company-reported. Single example cited on the product page; not a documented standard servicing process. |
| How to Apply | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Applying involves two separate steps: a company-level digital intake describing the business and the proposed insured's role, and a separate proposed-insured process requiring the individual's own consent and, before medical or underwriting information is collected, carrier-specific authorization and application forms. 7,8Company-reported. Combines the product page's process description with the notice's proposed-insured participation section. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube's notice says a company or authorized party may require the proposed insured's separate written consent before any key person policy is submitted, issued, delivered or placed in force, and that the general notice does not itself substitute for that required consent. 8Company-reported. Placement/binding condition rather than a post-claim handling process; the notice does not describe claims filing or payout timelines. |
Full Comparison
More Alliance Risk vs RiskCube Comparisons
Other Key Person Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Alliance Risk
- About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Key Person Insurance. Alliance Risk; What Is Key Person Insurance?; Who Needs Key Person Insurance?; What Does Key Person Insurance Cover?; What Doesn't Key Person Insurance Cover?; Risk Management Tips. Accessed 2026-09-23.
RiskCube
- Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses: California (resident, No. 6017028) and Delaware (No. 3004000392); no life-line license listed. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Sections 1–5; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Key Person Life Insurance for Startups. RiskCube; Key Person Life Insurance product introduction; Who needs it; What is key person life insurance; What's covered / What is not covered; benefit-amount and cost FAQ; replacement-of-insured example. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Key Person Life Insurance Notice. RiskCube; Sections 1-6, effective June 23, 2026: what key person life insurance is; company representative authority; proposed insured participation; employer-owned life insurance consent; information sharing; no tax/legal advice. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Key Person Insurance Guide
- Small Business Insurance. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Key Person Life Insurance Q&A; Tips & Tools > Key Person Life Insurance; Tips & Tools > Disability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Life Insurance Buyer’s Guide. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Compare policy types p.5; premiums/beneficiary/application p.6; policy review pp.7–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Key person protection. Principal; Key person insurance > Key person replacement disability insurance; Key person life insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Specimen Application for Life Insurance. John Hancock Life Insurance Company of New York; filed with SEC; Insured p.1; owner/beneficiary and coverage details p.2; existing/pending pp.3–4; Business Insurance Q36 p.5; declarations p.6. Accessed 2026-09-16.





