Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Alliance Risk brokers D&O placements, explains Side A, B, and C protection, and offers a no-charge review of an existing policy. Liberty Mutual lists D&O within ProShield and describes investigation and pre-claim inquiry features for private and nonprofit options. 4,8

What Is Alliance Risk?

Alliance Risk suits tech startups from pre-seed through IPO that want a broker to review their tech E&O policy for free and shop specialist insurers; if you want to buy online in minutes, use a digital insurer. Quotes take 24 hours to ten business days, depending on your risk. 1,2,3

Read the Alliance Risk profile

Read the Alliance Risk D&O Insurance page

What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?

Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 6,7

Read the Liberty Mutual profile

Read the Liberty Mutual D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

D&O Sides and Package Structure

Alliance Risk describes Side A as protection for directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them, Side B as reimbursement to the company for indemnification, and Side C as direct company coverage for certain liabilities. Liberty Mutual lists D&O in ProShield, a package combining multiple management-liability lines, and highlights investigation and pre-claim inquiry features. Compare which sides and investigation expenses appear in each proposed form. 4 8

Funding Stage and Package Limits

Alliance Risk recommends considering D&O at a first priced funding round and says bundled entry-level management-liability packages may share one aggregate across D&O, EPLI, and fiduciary coverage. Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as a package but does not establish its limits or whether lines share an aggregate. A prior claim in another line could affect remaining D&O protection, so request the limit schedule before comparing packages. 5 8

Eligibility and Policy Review

Alliance Risk names venture-backed, public, nonprofit, and small private companies among relevant buyers and offers a no-charge review of existing D&O coverage. Liberty Mutual describes ProShield options for private and nonprofit organizations, without establishing each applicant’s eligibility. Ask Liberty Mutual to confirm your entity type and use Alliance Risk’s review to identify Side A/B/C gaps in your current program. 4 8

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Alliance Risk and Liberty Mutual for the Side A, B, and C limits, investigation coverage, exclusions, and any shared aggregate with EPLI or fiduciary lines. 4 8
  • Ask Liberty Mutual whether ProShield is available to your ownership structure and whether pre-claim inquiry expenses erode the limit. 8
  • Request the issuing carrier and compare the policy’s prior-acts date and transaction-related terms before a financing or leadership change. 4 8

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Alliance Risk

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

Alliance Risk has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. That says nothing bad about the company; it means you'll need to ask for references.[1][4][6]

Read Alliance Risk reviews

Liberty Mutual

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]

Read Liberty Mutual reviews

Offering Details

Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAlliance Risk Directors & Officers (D&O) InsuranceLiberty Mutual ProShield Directors and Officers coverage
Role in This Line

Alliance Risk places D&O insurance as a broker: it reviews a company's existing D&O program and markets the risk to carriers that specialize in management liability. 4Company-reported. D&O product page; Alliance Risk does not underwrite the policy itself.

Liberty Mutual includes D&O coverage in its ProShield management-liability package. 8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed D&O page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it says Alliance Risk markets a company's risk to carriers that specialize in management liability, so the issuing insurer depends on the placement. 4Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

Alliance Risk says D&O is relevant to venture-backed and public companies, high-risk industries such as fintech, healthcare, real estate and financial services, companies going through M&A, IPO or leadership changes, nonprofits, and small private companies without outside investors. 4Company-reported. D&O product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting.

Alliance Risk says a company should turn on D&O coverage at its first priced funding round, because institutional investment brings personal exposure for directors and officers from day one. 5Company-reported. Management liability page's program-staging guidance, describing D&O specifically among the three bundled lines.

The source describes private-company and not-for-profit ProShield options; it does not establish availability for every organization. 8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Coverage Features

Alliance Risk describes D&O policies it places as having three parts: Side A for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them, Side B reimbursing the company for indemnification costs, and Side C covering the company directly for certain liabilities. 4Company-reported. D&O product page; actual policy structure and whether sides are combined or separately limited depend on the carrier and the policy as issued.

Alliance Risk lists standard D&O exclusions it sees, including fraud and intentional misconduct, criminal acts, bodily injury and property damage, and often prior acts before the policy started; it says employment practices and ERISA benefit-plan claims are typically excluded and need separate EPLI or fiduciary liability coverage. 4Company-reported. D&O product page; exclusion wording varies by carrier and the policy as issued.

The page lists selected D&O features such as investigation and pre-claim inquiry coverage and separate options for private and not-for-profit companies; policy wording controls. 8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Limits and Retentions

Alliance Risk publishes indicative Side A limit and premium ranges: mid-size companies ($5M-$50M revenue) typically carry $2M-$5M in Side A limits, and larger private companies $5M-$25M or more. It shows overall D&O premium bands from $2,500-$10,000 for small private companies up to $50,000-$500,000 for large private companies, noting fintech, crypto and venture-backed companies often pay 2-3x more. 4Company-reported. D&O product page; illustrative bands, not a quote for any particular company.

Alliance Risk says entry-level management-liability packages that bundle D&O with EPLI and fiduciary often share a single aggregate limit, so a large EPLI or fiduciary settlement earlier in the policy year can reduce what is left for a later D&O claim; it says a specialist broker structures shared versus separate limits to manage that risk. 5Company-reported. Management liability page's discussion of bundled D&O, EPLI and fiduciary programs.

The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 8Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.

Risk Services

Alliance Risk offers a no-charge review of an existing D&O policy, identifying gaps in the Side A/B/C structure and missing endorsements and comparing the program to market options. 4Company-reported. D&O product page, Get Your D&O Risk Review section.

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package policy that combines multiple management-liability coverages and is designed to reduce the need for separate endorsements. 8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

How to Apply

For a D&O quote, Alliance Risk asks for company revenue, industry and stage, board composition, investor structure, current D&O coverage and carrier, five-year claims history and upcoming events such as M&A or an IPO, and says it typically delivers proposals within a few business days. 4Company-reported. D&O product page, What We Need for Your Quote section; timing is a company estimate, not a guarantee.

Confirm in your quote.

Claims Support

The reviewed D&O page does not describe an Alliance Risk claims-handling or claims-advocacy process; it discusses what a D&O policy covers rather than how Alliance Risk itself supports a claim. 4Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Confirm in your quote.

Full Comparison

More Alliance Risk vs Liberty Mutual Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Alliance Risk

  1. Technology Insurance. Alliance Risk; What is Technology Insurance?; Types of Technology; Types of Coverage; startup placement introduction; quote documents and process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get a Quote. Alliance Risk; Request form; Prefer to Call?; Why Alliance Risk? section. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors & Officers Insurance (D&O). Alliance Risk; D&O Insurance: Protecting Directors and Officers From Personal Liability; The Three Sides of D&O Coverage; What D&O Insurance Does NOT Cover; Who Needs D&O Insurance?; D&O Insurance Cost: What to Expect; How to Buy D&O Insurance; Get Your D&O Risk Review. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together. Alliance Risk; The shared limit problem; How to structure the program as you scale. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Liberty Mutual

  1. Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot