CFC vs
TechInsurance D&O Insurance
CFC’s D&O is a US management-liability module; TechInsurance can attach D&O to GL or a BOP, calls the form claims-made, and cites a $133 median monthly cost.
What Is CFC Insurance?
CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4
What Is TechInsurance?
TechInsurance is a small-business insurance agency and brokerage with a technology focus, offering online quote comparison and agent assistance through the Insureon organization. 8,9
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Management-Liability Package Versus GL or BOP Endorsement
CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling D&O alone. TechInsurance arranges D&O that can be purchased as a standalone policy or as an endorsement to a general liability policy or business owner’s policy. TechInsurance’s reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer. 5 10
Who Each Names as a Buyer
TechInsurance targets companies with an active board, naming employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups and nonprofits. CFC’s brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among declined package risks. TechInsurance says the policy is claims-made and excludes criminal acts such as fraud or embezzlement, and lists suits over employment practices, fund mismanagement, bylaw failures, regulatory non-compliance or IP infringement. 10 6
Median Premium Versus Unpublished Package Limit
TechInsurance says policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with premium depending on limits, deductible, jurisdiction, industry, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. CFC lists an additional insured-persons limit without a dollar amount, separately sells Side A DIC, and provides a US dedicated-adjuster claims path; the reviewed brochure does not publish a D&O premium or limit. 10 6 5 7
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask TechInsurance whether D&O would be standalone or an endorsement to GL or a BOP, and who issues it. 10
- Ask CFC whether California domicile or US-public status blocks the package. 6
- Treat TechInsurance’s $133 median as an illustration; compare actual premium and defense treatment. 10
- Ask CFC for the additional insured-persons amount and Side A DIC. 6 5
Offering Details
CFC vs TechInsurance D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | CFC Directors & Officers Liability | TechInsurance Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 5,6Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it. | TechInsurance arranges directors and officers (D&O) insurance, a type of management liability insurance, and says it can be purchased as a standalone policy or as an endorsement to a general liability policy or business owner's policy. 10Company-reported. D&O product page. |
| Issuing Insurer | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 4,6Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for a D&O policy. 10Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business. | TechInsurance targets D&O at companies with an active board, naming employers with employees or stockholders, venture-backed startups (where investor term sheets often require the coverage), and nonprofits (where most states require a board of directors) as examples. 10Company-reported. D&O product page, Who needs D&O insurance coverage? section. |
| Coverage Features | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms. CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages. CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 5Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here. | TechInsurance says D&O covers legal costs when directors, board members or officers are sued over employment practices, fund mismanagement, failure to follow corporate bylaws, regulatory non-compliance, or IP infringement or libel tied to their decisions, and structures coverage into Side A (personal protection), Side B (company reimbursement) and Side C (entity coverage, mainly for public-company securities claims). 10Company-reported. D&O product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form. TechInsurance says D&O is a claims-made policy, meaning coverage applies only if the policy is active when a claim is made, and that criminal acts by directors or officers, such as fraud or embezzlement, are excluded. 10Company-reported. D&O product page, How does directors and officers insurance work? and exclusions sections. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 6Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | TechInsurance says D&O policyholders pay a median of $133 per month, with the exact premium depending on policy limits, deductible, legal jurisdiction, industry risk, headcount, revenue, claims history and IPO potential. 10Company-reported. D&O product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table. |
| Claims Support | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 7Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More CFC vs TechInsurance Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
CFC
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.
TechInsurance
- About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors and Officers Insurance (D&O) Quotes Online. TechInsurance; What does directors and officers insurance cover? (employment practices, mismanaged funds, corporate bylaws, regulatory compliance, IP infringement); What does side A, B, and C mean in D&O insurance?; How much does directors and officers insurance cost?; How do you get a certificate of insurance? (standalone or endorsement). Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





