Armilla vs
CNA
For AI risks, Armilla says it begins with an assessment before tailoring an insurance or warranty proposal, but the reviewed evidence does not specify assessment deliverables or how monitoring and retesting connect to insurance. CNA directs small-business buyers to an agent without describing an AI-specific assessment in the reviewed material. Confirm the proposed product, insurer, assessment scope and claim obligations. 2,5,11
Introduction
These are different starting points for an AI-related purchase. Armilla says it assesses AI risk before proposing insurance or a warranty, while CNA's published small-business route starts with an agent. Armilla's described process does not establish that a proposed policy covers every model risk; CNA's general route does not establish that CNA lacks an AI-specific option. Compare actual products and written terms rather than treating these as interchangeable policies. 2 1 11
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | Armilla | CNA |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Not listed | Listed 39Inland Marine appetite category; separately, Ocean Marine lists Hull Builders Risk |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 17 |
| Cargo and transit | Not listed | Listed 18 |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 19 |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 20 |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 38named Management Liability coverage and configurable Epack 3 component |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 21 |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed 22 |
| Employment practices liability | Not listed | Listed 23 |
| Equipment breakdown | Not listed | Listed 24 |
| Fidelity bonds | Not listed | Listed 25 |
| Fiduciary liability | Not listed | Listed 26 |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 27 |
| Generative AI liability | Listed 3Armilla markets standalone AI liability insurance as a managing general agent. | Not listed |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 37coverage within Commercial Auto |
| Kidnap and ransom | Not listed | Listed 38named Management Liability coverage and configurable Epack 3 component |
| Management liability | Not listed | Listed 29 |
| Media liability | Not listed | Listed 36component of Epack 3 package |
| Medical malpractice | Not listed | Listed 30 |
| Product liability | Not listed | Listed 31,33,32 |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 36currently marketed Miscellaneous Professional Liability and Epack 3 professional-liability component |
| Surety bonds | Not listed | Listed 25 |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 21 |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 28 |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 34 |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 35 |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Armilla
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
5.2/ 10Assessed provider: Armilla. Scope: Armilla Insurance Services Inc. as a company-named Lloyd's coverholder and AI insurance intermediary in North America, assessed against two named programmes and no others. For the AI Liability Insurance programme, also marketed as Armilla Insured, capacity is assessed as Armilla discloses it: a binding authority led by Chaucer and written by certain underwriters at Lloyd's, available to US insureds, offered through surplus lines insurers. For Armilla Guaranteed, a contractual performance warranty rather than insurance, no issuer is named and no capacity is assessed. The four reinsurers Armilla names on its broker page are attached to no programme and are not assessed as capacity for either. Financial resilience is scoped to Armilla's ability to sustain its own operations; the risk sits with the Lloyd's underwriters, whose capital is not Armilla's and is out of scope.
CNA
CarrierCarrier & MGA
No Spot Score
Assessment subject unavailable
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Armilla
Review Score
Armilla has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. Armilla sells AI insurance, a small niche, so you'll want to ask for references.[1][4][6]
Read Armilla reviewsCNA
Review Score
1 rated source
Customer feedback on CNA is mixed and hard to compare. NerdWallet gave it 4.5 out of 5 for manufacturers, while Trustpilot shows about 1.4 out of 5 from 49 mostly self-selected reviews.[1][5]
Read CNA reviewsApplication and Underwriting
Armilla directs a buyer to contact its team for an AI risk assessment before it proposes insurance or a warranty, and says coverage requires written confirmation and completed underwriting. CNA directs small-business buyers to an agent; the reviewed CNA evidence does not describe a matching AI assessment or the workflow for a particular specialty submission. Ask the CNA agent whether the proposed policy addresses the model, deployment and contractual exposures you need to insure. 2 11
Assessment Deliverables and Insurance Servicing
Armilla's AI insurance page says buyers begin with an AI risk assessment before the company tailors an insurance or warranty proposal; coverage requires completed underwriting and written confirmation. Beyond that initial assessment step, the reviewed evidence does not establish specific deliverables, monitoring or retesting. Ask whether any such work is included in the proposal, what output you will receive, and whether ongoing monitoring or retesting costs extra. CNA documents agent access to policy documents, loss runs and claims information; a 2022 agent guide adds billing and renewal-document details. Confirm which functions apply to your account. 2 11 13
Incident and Claim Handling
Armilla describes claims during the policy period and incident coordination, but its public pages do not name a claims administrator or provide a complete notice process. CNA's Claims Center provides an online starting point for reporting options and weekday phone support. For either policy, use the issued form's notice terms and ask who coordinates technical incident response, who handles the claim and what consent is required before engaging a vendor. 2 1 15
What to Confirm in Quotes
- What AI system, use case, deployment and contractual liabilities does each proposed policy cover or exclude?
- If Armilla proposes an assessment, what are its deliverables, and are monitoring or retesting included or separately priced?
- Which insurer issues the CNA policy, and does that form address your specific AI exposure?
- Confirm claim notice deadlines, incident-response consent, limits, exclusions, deductibles and state availability before comparing premiums.
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Armilla | CNA |
|---|---|---|
| Application process | Expect an AI risk assessment before Armilla proposes insurance or a warranty; its site directs buyers to contact the team, and coverage requires written confirmation and completed underwriting. 2,1Company-reported. Published process, not a submitted application, quote, binding test or promised turnaround. | CNA directs small-business buyers to work with an agent. CNA also says its U.S. offices work with independent agents and brokers to provide policyholder service and insurance solutions. 11,12Company-reported. CNA’s stated U.S. small-business route and U.S. agency relationships. These sources do not establish that every CNA product requires an agent or that buyers can complete a purchase directly online. |
| Servicing and renewals | Armilla says buyers begin with an AI risk assessment before it customizes an insurance or warranty proposal. Confirm the assessment deliverables, monitoring and retesting terms in the proposal. 2Company-reported. Initial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms. Price monitoring and retesting separately unless the proposal includes them: reviewed pages do not explain insurance renewal or whether ongoing model monitoring is included in premium. 5,2Not publicly disclosed. Limited to public product and assessment pages reviewed September 16, 2026. | CNA says CNA Central gives small-business agents access to policy documents, loss runs, and claims information. CNA’s 2022 agent guide says agents can access policy, billing, and claims information and download new-business, renewal, and endorsement documents. This describes agent access, not automatic renewal or a guaranteed renewal offer. 11,13Company-reported. Small-business agent servicing through CNA Central, based on the current U.S. small-business page and a guide copyrighted 2022. The guide’s detailed portal functions are historical interface descriptions; renewal-document access does not establish that every policy renews or will receive an offer. A CNA Small Business Service Center handout copyrighted 2021 says the center handles participating agency customers’ inquiries about certificates, policy changes, coverage, billing, and additional coverage or endorsement quotes. It states weekday hours of 7 a.m.–7 p.m. Central Time and says the agency/customer relationship remains in place. This describes a particular service-center program, not every CNA account. 14Company-reported. Company-reported service-center functions from a 2021 CNA handout. The handout describes enrollment and account selection for this small-business agency program; it does not establish availability for every CNA policy or account. |
| Claims assistance | Before a claim, ask who receives notice and manages it: Armilla describes claims reported during the policy period and offers incident coordination, but reviewed pages do not name a claims administrator or provide a complete reporting process. 2,1Company-reported. Public claims framework and incident assistance only; no policy notice provisions or performance evidence reviewed. | CNA’s Claims Center provides an online entry point where a visitor enters a few details to learn claim-reporting options and lists phone help Monday through Friday, 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern. The page does not establish complete online filing or claim outcomes. 15Company-reported. CNA U.S. Claims Center page accessed 2026-09-28; policy-specific reporting instructions, completion of a claim online, and claim outcomes are not established by this page. |
Sources
Armilla Official Website
- Armilla: AI Insurance. Armilla; Affirmative Insurance Built for AI Risk; Risk Teams; footer surplus-lines and Lloyd’s disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Insurance – Lloyd’s Coverholder | Armilla AI. Armilla; Armilla Insured; Armilla Guaranteed; FAQ: getting started, warranty classification, claims framework and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla AI Insurance Brief. Armilla; Introduction identifying the MGA; Tailored Protection for AI Pioneers: standalone AI liability and Sample Coverage Areas; Industry Protection; footer on surplus-lines placement and Lloyd’s underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Performance Warranty Brief. Armilla; Opening partner disclosure; AI Performance, Guaranteed; Real-World Protection Examples. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla Assessments: AI Verification & Red-Teaming. Armilla; Active AI Risk Assessment; FAQ: testing process, ongoing support and starting an assessment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla for Brokers: Specialized AI Coverage. Armilla; Coverage Options; Competitive Commissions; Flexible, Tech-Enabled Underwriting; broker appointment FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla Terms of Service. Armilla; Last updated April 5th, 2023; sections 1 Agreement to Terms and 4 Fees and Payment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Detail by Entity Name: ARMILLA INSURANCE SERVICES INC. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Entity name; Filing Information; document F24000002598. Accessed 2026-09-16.
CNA Official Website
- CNA Financial Corporation 2025 Form 10-K. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; CNA Financial Corporation filer; 2025 Form 10-K, Part I, Item 1 “Business,” opening paragraph (company status, CNA group definition, operating-company list); Note A “Basis of Presentation”; Item 1 ownership statement; exact filing text from SEC indexing and the alternate SEC-hosted annual-report PDF, accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- General Disclaimer. CNA; General Disclaimer paragraphs 1 and 5 (HTML lines 24 and 28): CNA describes Continental Casualty Company and its relevant affiliates; references to CNA may include one or more CCC affiliates; each particular policy/product/service is the responsibility only of the specific CNA company that issues or supplies it. Footer line 57 identifies CNA Financial Corporation as trademark registrant. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Insurance for Small Businesses. CNA; Insurance for Small Businesses, lines 38-50 and 65-67 (CNA Central and agent route); lines 79-106 (product and stated appetite lists); page footer line 132 (CNA registered service mark). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- United States. CNA; United States page, introductory paragraph, line 35. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business | CNA Central Agent Guide. CNA; CNA Central Agent Guide, pages 1-2; access credential note and agent portal context, page 1 lines 3-8; Get a Quote, lines 12-22; Service My Accounts, lines 39-66; copyright/trademark footer, page 2 lines 68-71 (Copyright © 2022). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Service Center. CNA; One-page Small Business Service Center handout, lines 0-27 (service functions, weekday hours, continuing agency relationship, enrollment/account selection); lines 40-43 (legal/distribution limitations, trademark, copyright © 2021). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Report an Insurance Claim. CNA; Report a Claim and Need more Help, lines 21-33. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- United States | CNA Insurance. CNA; Official U.S. Locations page title, observed on page open; page body begins at lines 21-35. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- CNA Connect Small Businessowners Policy (BOP) | CNA Insurance. CNA; CNA Connect; coverages, product range, services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Ocean Cargo | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: transit scope, extensions, agent/insured portal and cargo claims specialists. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Auto Insurance for Businesses | CNA Insurance. CNA; Coverages, endorsements, risk control, claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Property Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Product by customer size; placements and capacity. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Cyber Insurance - Cyber Risk Solutions | CNA Insurance. CNA; Cyber, Media, Technology & Professional Liability; product sections. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Private Company Directors & Officers Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: covered claims, Side A/B/C, limits, eligibility and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Employment Practices Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–3: wrongful practices, third-party acts, insured classes, risk services and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Equipment Breakdown Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Coverage, inspection, monoline and package placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- CNA Surety - Surety and Fidelity Bonds | CNA Insurance. CNA; Surety/fidelity product sections, geography, agents/brokers, bONdLINE and claims services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Fiduciary Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: benefit-plan administration, covered costs, eligible organizations and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial General Liability Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Commercial General Liability; customer sizes, coverage, teams. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Inland & Ocean Marine Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Inland Marine and Ocean Marine coverage sections. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Management Liability Insurance and Professional Liability | CNA Insurance. CNA; Management liability overview, coverages, Epack 3. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Tailored Coverages for Aging Services, Allied Healthcare Facilities and More | CNA. CNA; pp. 4–5, 7–8: healthcare classes, PL/GL options, claims and risk-control capabilities. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Life Sciences Insurance | CNA. CNA; Life Sciences: products, target classes, claims and risk control. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Small Business Life Sciences Insurance | CNA. CNA; Coverage and appetite: products liability, limits, optional features and target classes. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Life Sciences Coverage Highlights FAQ | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–3: work-hazard products liability, separate/combined form, recall benefit, reporting, availability and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Umbrella Insurance and Excess Liability Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Forms, enhancements, underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; Benefits, prevention, claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Cyber Insurance - Cyber Risk Solutions | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 48-52 Epack 3 modular policy combines cyber, media, technology and professional liability; lines 64-84 MPL and media; line 128 CNA brand disclosure and ©2026. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance for Businesses | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 28-30 and coverages lines 31-34; commercial auto covers business-use owned, hired and non-owned vehicles; ©2026 at line 61. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Management Liability Insurance and Professional Liability | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 33-44 name crime and kidnap/ransom/extortion; lines 49-54 describe modular Epack 3 and flexible coverage mix; ©2026 at line 80. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Inland & Ocean Marine Insurance | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: lines 29-35 describe Inland Marine and Builders Risk appetite; lines 46-54 separately list Ocean Marine and Hull Builders Risk; ©2026 at line 84. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Small Business Insurance Solutions for Life Sciences | CNA Insurance. CNA; U.S. page, opened 2026-09-29: page issue marker 06.17.2025 at line 75; line 63-65 describes monoline product liability with E&O and automatic Class 1 recall mitigation-expense benefit; line 74 says issuer, availability and policy-terms qualifications; ©2026 line 101. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Life Sciences Coverage FAQs. CNA; PDF opened 2026-09-29: p.1 lines 10-18 Class 1 recall supplementary benefit and sublimit; p.1 lines 31-34 circumstance-reporting exception; p.2 lines 104-109 says illustrative, policy controls, availability varies and copyright ©2023 / 20230314. Historical detailed qualification, not a current form. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Manufacturer Insurance: Best Companies, Costs and Coverages. NerdWallet; Published 2026-03-26; CNA section, lines 348-359: manufacturer-specific editorial assessment says relatively low property/liability complaints and workers-comp complaints slightly higher than expected for company size; no full CNA review. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- CNA Insurance Reviews. Trustpilot; CNA.com profile, lines 40-72 and current review entries including business billing complaint (lines 59-63) and long-term-care reports (lines 66-70); profile says reviews are individual opinions at line 177. Self-selected mixed review population, not a representative commercial-insurance outcome. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.




