CFC vs Resilience: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

CFC markets technology insurance from pre-revenue onward; Resilience publishes a US Tech E&O revenue appetite of $25 million to $10 billion and sells security services separately.

An Overview of CFC and Resilience

A technology business below $25 million revenue is below Resilience’s published Tech E&O appetite; a company from $25 million through $10 billion can ask about that product. Choose CFC below the threshold or while pre-revenue; choose Resilience within its published range if its security services also suit the business. 33 1

What Stands Out About CFC and Resilience?

CFC at a Glance

  • Eligible technology businesses can combine E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability. 2Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
  • Cyber policyholders may get threat monitoring, alerts and 24/7 incident support. 7Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Resilience at a Glance

  • Technology companies can seek E&O coverage for software, hardware and technology services. 33Company-reportedTechnology-specific professional liability; not general professional E&O or a guarantee of offered limits.
  • Resilience helps prioritize financial cyber risks and track exposure across entities. 37,38Company-reportedCurrent named cybersecurity products; outcomes not independently established.

CFC vs Resilience Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCFCResilience
Commercial propertyListed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product.Not listed
CrimeListed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products.Listed 32Resilience markets cyber insurance on a primary or excess basis.
Directors and officersListed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
General liabilityListed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product.Not listed
Intellectual propertyListed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies.Not listed
Product recallListed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses.Not listed
Representations and warrantiesListed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses.Listed 33Resilience markets technology errors and omissions insurance for US businesses with $25 million to $10 billion in revenue.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses.Not listed
Virtual care and telehealthListed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means we have no separate offering page for it; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

CFC and Resilience Coverage, Line by Line

Open what CFC and Resilience each publish for one coverage line.

CFC and Resilience Reliability Scores

Each score uses the criteria for that provider’s role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

CFC and Resilience Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for its sources, what it covers and how the score is calculated.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

Read CFC reviews

Resilience Review Score

9.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

There's almost nothing public to go on. G2 shows 4.5 out of 5 for Resilience, but from a single review.

Read Resilience reviews

Key Differences Between CFC and Resilience

Establish Appetite Before Investing in a Full Comparison

Resilience lists software, AI, hardware, technology services, data centers and telecommunications within its technology appetite. A smaller business should ask about an exception rather than assume acceptance or rejection of all Resilience products. CFC’s wider stage description also remains marketing, not a promise to accept the applicant’s activities. 33 1

For an eligible account, request primary and excess structures explicitly. Resilience advertises US technology E&O limits of $10 million and cyber limits up to $20 million; these are marketed limits, not an offered tower. CFC markets separate excess capabilities as well as its technology package. The comparison should identify attachment points, underlying forms and each participating insurer. 33 32 18 2

Security Budgeting and Incident Response Are Distinct Service Decisions

Resilience markets Edge for prioritizing security spending by estimated financial impact and Arc for visibility across multiple entities. Its disclaimer says buying insurance is not tied to buying security services. A startup should therefore distinguish policy premium from any separate service agreement rather than count the entire product catalogue as included coverage. 37 38 31

CFC’s response proposition emphasizes monitoring, alerts and technical response. Resilience describes an in-house claims team and a dedicated manager with outside specialists. Compare the actual service schedule, activation rules and vendor arrangements; those descriptions do not establish which provider will contain an incident faster or pay a claim more favorably. 7 35

Named US Capacity Still Leaves a California Question

Resilience identifies Ocrea Risk Services as its US distributor and names Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Delaware in its US insurer disclosure. That narrows the public entity picture but does not select the insurer or admitted/surplus-lines route for a California quote. CFC’s record also leaves the specific technology capacity unresolved. Both require a broker-level placement answer. 31 4

What Should You Confirm in CFC and Resilience Quotes?

  • Does the current revenue and activity mix fit the technology E&O appetite, and is any exception documented?
  • What primary/excess limits are actually offered, with which insurer, attachment point and California route?
  • Which security services are included or separately contracted, and how do their responders coordinate with the claims team and the startup’s own vendors?

CFC vs Resilience Services Compared

What each provider says about the services you may need

CriteriaCFCResilience
Customer focus

Startups through multinationals can ask CFC about technology coverage, including before generating revenue; the stated audience does not guarantee a particular business will qualify. 1Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Resilience lists technology E&O for businesses with $25 million–$10 billion revenue in software, AI, hardware, services, data centers and telecom; smaller startups should ask whether an exception is possible. 33Company-reportedPublished US primary and excess technology E&O appetite; not a minimum established for every cyber product.

Coverage lines

Technology companies can compare a package of E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability, including client-contract breach exposures; the quote and wording determine which sections and exclusions apply. 2Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Businesses can compare CFC’s Proactive Response, admitted cyber, Corporate cyber and cyber excess options; an admitted label does not establish California eligibility or identical wording. 9Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

CFC lists D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime and Side A DIC excess; however, its US management-liability brochure declines California-domiciled business, so these catalogue items do not establish California access. 10,11Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

If you need IP defense or enforcement costs, CFC separately markets intellectual-property insurance, including patent exposures; compare that policy’s scope with the narrower IP terms in a technology quote. 14,2Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Fintech, digital-health and life-sciences companies can ask CFC about sector packages that combine relevant financial, technology or product risks; each requires its own underwriting and terms. 23,19,22Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

CFC’s broader US catalogue includes professional E&O, property, general and media liability, medical malpractice, product recall, kidnap and ransom, and umbrella over selected lines; these are not automatically part of a technology policy or available in California. 12,13,21,20,16,15,18Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Companies pursuing an acquisition or secondary-liquidity transaction can ask CFC about representations-and-warranties insurance and buyer, seller or liquidity solutions; these are transaction products, not ordinary operating coverage. 17Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Businesses with specialist exposures can explore CFC’s carbon-credit, CORSIA, sexual-abuse, terrorism and marine offerings; a US catalogue listing does not establish California access. 25,26,27,28Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Businesses can ask Resilience about primary or excess cyber limits up to $20 million, including privacy and eCrime; confirm the eCrime sublimit (advertised up to $500,000) and conditions in the quote. 32Company-reportedMarketing description, not reviewed policy wording. eCrime is a component, not evidence of standalone crime insurance.

Software, hardware and technology-services businesses can consider Resilience Tech E&O, which advertises $10 million limits on US primary and excess placements. 33Company-reportedTechnology-specific professional liability; not general professional E&O or a guarantee of offered limits.

Access to insurers

Before binding a California technology policy, get the insurer and syndicate names in writing: CFC identifies Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta, but its US technology materials do not identify the insurer for a buyer’s quote. 4,2,3Not publicly disclosedTechnology coverage for a California applicant; Syndicate 1988 is not assigned to every CFC policy.

Ask which insurer will issue your California policy: Resilience names Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Delaware but not which one applies to a specific quote. 31Company-reportedCompany-reported US insurer disclosure; no binder or California policy form reviewed.

Servicing and renewals

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reportedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosedCFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Resilience’s Edge service helps prioritize security spending by estimated financial impact, while Arc shows cyber risk across entities; these tools are risk-management services, not insurance. 37,38Company-reportedCurrent named cybersecurity products; outcomes not independently established.

You can buy insurance without buying Resilience security services; confirm which tools are bundled and which require a separate agreement. 31Company-reportedCompany disclaimer; does not establish free services or package pricing.

Ask Resilience for renewal deadlines and service timing because reviewed pages do not specify renewal documents, price commitments or standard turnaround. 34,32,33Not publicly disclosedScoped to current HTML pages; older package materials were not used to promise current renewal terms.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to CFC vs Resilience

  • CFC describes specialist technology underwriting and cyber-response services through an MGA route; AIG lists broader commercial options submitted through brokers and agents.

  • Compare AIG’s commercial insurance offerings with Resilience’s cyber insurance and separate cybersecurity services.

  • Alliance Risk brokers a broad range of commercial coverage; CFC sells technology products and cyber response through brokers; its reviewed management-liability offer excludes California-domiciled businesses.

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Create your account and submit an insurance request online.

Talk to Spot